Home / Cameras / Camera / Sony Alpha A330

Sony Alpha A330 review

By

Reviewed:

1 of 29

Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • Sony Alpha A330
  • alpha DSLR-A330 10.2 Megapixel Digital SLR Camera Body with Lens kit - 18 mm-55 mm (2.7" LCD - 3.1x Optical Zoom - 3872 x 2592 Image - HDMI)

Summary

Our Score:

7

User Score:

As a relative newcomer to the digital SLR market, having launched its first model only three years ago, Sony has made a surprisingly large impact, with the latest report that I've seen placing them third in worldwide DSLR sales after Nikon and market leaders Canon, outselling established brands such as Pentax, Olympus and Fujifilm. The key to this success has been a well-structured range of good quality cameras at relatively affordable prices, ranging from the entry-level 10.2MP A200, available for under £300 including lens, the mid-range 14.2MP A350 at just under £400, the excellent (but due for an update) A700 at around £675, all the way up to the 24.6MP full-frame A900, currently selling for around £1,900 body only.

Sony has recently launched the first three examples of its third generation of DLSR cameras, including the new entry-level 10.2MP A230, the mid-range 14.2MP A380, and today's review camera the A330, which is sold in the UK exclusively through Jessops.

The new models all share very similar all-new body designs, finally shedding the last traces of the Minolta Dynax design elements that Sony inherited along with Konica-Minolta's DSLR technology back in 2006. The A330 shares the same body and features as the more powerful A380, including a 2.7-inch fold-out monitor screen with live view.

The new body shape looks a lot more contemporary than previous models, with sharper edges and broader curves, but it won't be to everyone's taste. The big comfortable handgrip of the A200 and A350 has been replaced with a smaller thinner half-height grip, with the shutter button and adjustment wheel placed on the camera body rather than on the top front of the grip. Personally I found this to be a rather awkward arrangement, with the adjustment wheel particularly hard to reach when holding the camera for shooting.

Although the A330 is a relatively small camera the body is a lot thicker than other similar models, and despite the textured rubber coating over the lower half of the body, and the sculpted thumbgrip on the back, I found the camera to be awkwardly balanced and slightly uncomfortable to hold.

Scottland

August 18, 2009, 2:50 pm

Was the previous Sony kit lens not 18-70mm rather than 18-55? :)





Thinking of picking up an A200 at the moment before they dry up, at ~£280 they certainly seem a better buy than the 230/330 @ ~£400!

Ed

August 18, 2009, 3:01 pm

It is indeed. I'll correct that.





I grabbed an A200 a couple of months ago because they were £270 with kit lens and free delivery from John Lewis. Nearly all other competing products were £100 more expensive. You just can't argue with that, even if Sony lenses are a bit more expensive and there is a greater choice of lenses in Canon and Nikon's lines.





Admitedly the kit lens isn't great - I had no idea quite how poor it was until seeing cliff's comparison shots, though - but its fine to start you off.

grouse

August 18, 2009, 3:17 pm

This seems like a step back in the ergonomics department. it just feels awkward to hold. One of the main reasons i got my a200 was because it was a big comfortable camera compared to the likes of nikon and canon.


Ed- remember you still have the back catalogue of konica minolta glass and unlike canon and nikon all the lenses will be stabilised.

Chrispynutt

August 18, 2009, 3:25 pm

Looks like the sacrificed range for quality on the new kit lenses. If you want to rummage through old Dynax/Maxxum/Alpha lenses for your your A200 Ed check out dyxum.com's lens section. You can find reviews of just about everything that have ever been attached to the front of an AF Minolta, Konika-Minolta or Sony.





FYI as for shrugging of its Minolta Heritage, the new Sonys look like retro remakes of the Minolta Dynax/Maxxum 5. Just google it and you will see the same grip and two tone paint job.

MrGodfrey

August 18, 2009, 11:18 pm

Chrispynutt is correct - the grip is taken straight from the (film) Dynax 5.

Cliff Smith

August 19, 2009, 5:34 am

I've got the A330 and the A100 - essentially an updated Dynax 5D - sitting in front of me now, and I have to say there is almost no similarity between the two other than both being generally camera-shaped. The only controls that are in the same place are the lens release and the AF/MF switch, and they have to be where they are because the Sony cameras use the Dynax lens mount.

Chrispynutt

August 19, 2009, 3:20 pm

Erm Cliff we aren't talking about the Konika-Minolta Dynax 5D, but the Minolta Dynax 5 which is a film camera. Here is the Minolta Maxxum 5 product page http://ca.konicaminolta.com/pr...

aaron88

August 19, 2009, 5:24 pm

I still think the A300 is the best of the cheap sonys. Its got all the same inners as the A350 except its only 10mp instead of 14mp and because of that it has a quicker frame rate and less noise than the a350 and its cheaper!

Netjock

August 19, 2009, 9:15 pm

I also brought an A300 kit when it was cheap and a sigma 70 - 300 cheap (half the over priced RRP which made it about 33% off street price).





When I got from this review is. Get the lens but not the camera.

Vacationer

August 22, 2009, 2:50 am

if u wanna cheap and good stuff then u need to by any canon or nikon body and tamron 18-200 (or 250) lens (£600). if u have no £600 then buy new Ricoh CX1 or CX2 (upcoming) but don't waste money on that Sony thing.

Netjock

August 23, 2009, 12:32 pm

Vacationer, that is just trash talk. It is Canon/Nikon brand bias (especially when you use "any"). The A330 may not be the best value at it's released price but if it drops to the price of the A300 (£350) for the kit it is in value territory for a dSLR starter. I brought my A350 kit + tamron 70-300 for £460 which is great value.

farki80

August 25, 2009, 1:42 pm

@Vacationer, yet another Canon/Nikon fanboy who does not know anything he/she is talking about. If you have not used it don't knock it. Chances are your Nikon has a sensor developed and manufactured by Sony as well.





To compare a dSLR to the Ricoh is just stupid.

DaveG

September 30, 2009, 2:59 am

Funny that the A300, the best of the previous bunch of Alpha's fails to get a mention during this review, especially when the A330 is it's direct replacement. Personally I can't stand the new range of Alpha's; nothing new, paltry grip & no REAL improvement other than noise control (especially on A330), if you still can, get either an A300 or A350, they'll be cheaper, have a decent grip and won't be any worse, oh and battery life will be better too. The A500 & A550 are however worth a good look.





Ref vacationers comment; does the tammy 18-200 in Canon/Nikon mount come with I.S ?. I have an A300 and Sony 18-250 (a far superior lens) for under £600... Funnily enough Alpha's STILL have the best live view system on the market.

comments powered by Disqus