Sharp Aquos LC-40LE700E 40in LED Backlit LCD TV specs

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

specs
Quick Glance
Size 40,
Display Type LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Contrast Ratio 2,000,000:1
Refresh Rate 60
Features
Size 40,
Display Type LED
Max. Resolution 1920 x 1080
Digital Tuner ATSC
Contrast Ratio 2,000,000:1
Refresh Rate 60

xenos

January 27, 2010, 6:12 am

Nice review John, thanks.

Greg17b

January 27, 2010, 11:26 am

Good review.





There's clearly a big style disadvantage over the current side lit LED models, but nearly £1,000 difference for the equivalent Samsung?





If Sharp can overcome the motion blur issues for a £100 or so, I can do without a 3 cm deep panel in favour of saving £900. Hell, I can buy 2 of them and still have change.

AJ

January 27, 2010, 2:08 pm

I have to admit that with LCD vs Plasma the very reason I've stayed with Plasma for the past 6 years is not backlighting / black levels, but motion-blur. I just can't handle this at all, it gives me headaches and during big panning / action sequences just makes me want to turn the set off completely.





I'm still not convinced that LCD has totally solved this issue and I'll never buy one until it fully has. Perhaps with all the 100 / 200 / 600 / 1200 / 12000000 MHz we are getting there though. Give it a couple of years.

Metalex

January 27, 2010, 3:34 pm

I'll ask again. Input lag figures? No?





They're supposedly quite good on this particular TV, but it would be nice if you could include these figures in your TV reviews for everyone to see.

Ed

January 27, 2010, 3:51 pm

@Metalex: No, this is not something we shall be looking at in our TV reviews.

PS3½

January 27, 2010, 4:19 pm

In my opiniomn motion blur has been largely eliminated on the latest 100/200hz Samsung, Philips and Sony LCDs, but is still noticeable on the Sharp ones. I've had a Samsung 46B8000 (200hz) since mid last year and have never experienced motion blur at all.

Metalex

January 27, 2010, 8:54 pm

Ed, that's dissapointing, as it is quite a big consideration for gamers who are aware of the issue. For those that aren't aware, input lag figures would educate them and potentially stop them making a mistake when purchasing a TV.

jamie anderson

January 28, 2010, 11:36 pm

Reviews of this range on other sites have indicated that individual elements of the LED backlight array cannot be dimmed independently of the others - i.e. that they all get brighter & darker together.





Who is right?

comments powered by Disqus