Home » TVs & Audio » Portable Audio » Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset » Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset

Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset - Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset

By Hugo Jobling


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Connecting the MM200s to a Bluetooth enabled player couldn't be simpler. I used an HTC Touch HD that I happened to have sitting around, but an MP3 player like the Samsung YP-P2 would do just as well. Press and hold the play/pause button until the status LED flashed red and blue alternately, search for the MM200 on the device, type in the ever-secure 0000 passcode and, on a phone, decide if you want to use the device as a hands free adapter, stereo headset or both.

Thanks to the A2DP Bluetooth profile, audio quality isn't compromised heavily by the connection (capable of 731Kbps max for the interested), unless you have an iPhone or iPod touch which both bizarrely don't support A2DP - so bear that in mind if you own such a device. In-call audio is as good as could be hoped for, wandering around the TR office grounds (there are some advantages to working in the middle of nowhere) I was able to talk to and hear Riyad perfectly so there's no complaints on that front.

Moving to a bit of music, I was pleasantly surprised by the MM200's audio quality. At £75 I hadn't expected much, given Sennheiser is charging for the Bluetooth module and a pair of earphones, so I was pleased those preconceptions were wrong. Firing up a 320Kbps MP3 of Placebo's Running Up That Hill (a cover of the Kate Bush original), I was pleasantly surprised by the clarity and bass produced. The ety8s definitely produced a fuller, warmer sound, but at twice the price I would expect no less.

A quick listen to the wonderful The Darkness track Girlfriend proved an enjoyable experience, with even the highest of Justin Hawkins' high pitched shrieks (which are a good thing, I assure you) fully reproduced, as were the cracking guitar solos.

The only major criticism with the MM200s is the slightly narrow soundstage produced. Whether that's a fault with the earphones themselves, or the Bluetooth connection I couldn't say and it's not that noticeable anyway.

Plugging in a pair of similarly-priced SE102 earphones, I can definitely say that Sennheiser has sacrificed the quality of the earphones used on the MM200s in order to compensate for the added cost of Bluetooth. If you need, or want, the wireless connectivity, though, that sacrifice is one you'll just have to make.


If you're after a set of Bluetooth earphones then the Sennheiser MM200s are definitely worth considering. A great form factor, commendable audio performance and, of course, the convenience that wireless connectivity offers all wrapped up with a decent price.

Scores In Detail

Sound Quality

Our Score

Previous page


December 7, 2008, 5:05 am

Time for a haircut Hugo? :)

Jay Werfalli

December 7, 2008, 5:37 am

He's already had one. (And it's purple now...)


December 7, 2008, 4:27 pm

Sony have had a bluetooth headphones thingy out for a while now, I've had mine for nearly a year! Almost exactly the same appearance as these sennheisers as well! DR-BT20NX is the model number.


December 7, 2008, 9:05 pm

|use the Sony HBH-DS200. It just the dongle bit (with an integrated mic) and you plug in any headphones you want. I know Jabra does a nice one too that also has media playback buttons.

Robert Elliot

December 8, 2008, 6:55 pm

By the time you've got the loop round the neck and the dongle, have you really saved that much wire and space as opposed to just using normal headphones?


December 8, 2008, 10:09 pm

I have been using Sony's HBH-DS970 for over two years now, which has everything that the reviewed model has and more and looks great. What I like is the the LED display on the dongle of Sony's, albeit very small, will also display who is calling durijg incoming calls. It also clash that a sms or mms has been received, and the sound quality is pretty much good. Only thing not upto scratch is the construction of the laynard, dont get me wrong, its pretty much robust, but the outer lining can easily break away. But, its worth the money, for I have used it virtually everyday for the last two years and it is still going fine. the battery life is good too!


December 8, 2008, 11:38 pm

@Robert Elliot

Its nice not being tethered to the phone and being able to just leave it in your pocket or bag. Also if you've got a mini usb port instead of 3.5mm its a godsend.

Robert Elliot

December 9, 2008, 12:33 am

I guess that wouldn't be nice enough for me to make up for the hassle of yet another thing to charge. The benefit of wireless to me is a lack of wires to get tangled up and a smaller thing in my pocket - more interested in this:



December 24, 2009, 7:25 pm

I agree with Robert Elliot. If the earpieces have to be wired to something else, I might as well just wire them to my phone instead of a "middle man". I don't leave my phone lying around anyway. I sometimes drive and definitely don't want the hassle of wires while I am driving. The whole concept of having a lanyard seems to be using bluetooth for the sake of it rather than for the benefit of having a truly wireless headset. However, I appreciate that some people do want them and hence they are manufacturing and selling these devices!


January 30, 2013, 4:22 pm

The benefit of these headphones is if your a person like me that uses your phone for both calls AND music. These headphones far surpass most other earbuds in quality, and the nice part about the lanyard is that most of device can be hidden in a dress shirt or under a winter coat. Lastly, the bluetooth dongle holds a VERY long charge time, and that makes it extra useful. I have owned this device for two years, and sadly, I just broke it (stepped on it by accident). So I am looking to exactly replace it, because I can't stand behind the ear headphones (If you have sensitive skin issues, you'll know what I mean), and the behind the neck models don't stop from falling off if you suddenly have to run. The lanyard is secure, light, out of the way, looks good, and works phenominally. I have tried most of the other BT type headphones and none come close to this device.

Now if your only looking for phone calls and don't care about music, then just get a single ear BT device and be done with it.


comments powered by Disqus