Home » TVs & Audio » Portable Audio » Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset

Sennheiser MM200 Bluetooth Stereo Headset review

By
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

8/10

Review Price free/subscription

One thing that has always puzzled me about Bluetooth headphones is that manufacturers insist on hanging all that technology directly off your ears. Those headsets that are simply for making phone calls while driving - not walking around, that just makes you look like an idiot - I'm happy to have hanging from my ear. The Aliph Jawbone being a particularly fine example. However, when I'm walking, or worse still jogging, around I don't like or want the weight this adds. As a pair of Klipsch Image earphones prove, great audio quality can be produced in a tiny package so why are Bluetooth connected earphones so different?

Even the otherwise excellent Etymotic Research ety8 Bluetooth earphones fell into that trap. I was therefore, understandably interested in taking a look at Sennheiser's MM200 Bluetooth 'phones as they eschew the hang-from-ears mentality in favour of hanging the main bulk of the unit from a lanyard, and then running a set of cabled earphones off that. In theory it sounds like the exact wireless device I've been looking for.

There are obvious advantages. Foremost, I think there's a lot to be said for not looking like a fool with lumps of plastic hanging from the sides of my head! That brings with it the ability to use the MM200's while moving about, unlike the ety8s which have a tendency to shake loose, at least from my ears.

The MM200s have 'normal' earphone buds running off the lanyard and the left of these has an in-line microphone, too. Obviously this allows the device to function as a hands free headset but I would have preferred to see a 3.5mm jack allowing any earphones to be connected and benefit from the wireless Bluetooth connectivity. It's not like putting the microphone in the lanyard would be difficult anyway.

Saying that, the only place I would ever use a hands free kit is in a car and I hope none of us would ever consider driving with earphones in so I hardly see a problem with omitting the microphone entirely, anyway. I guess, it does mean that you don't need to take your phone out of your pocket to answer it when you're out and about, listening to music.

The Bluetooth receiver has a clip enabling attachment to a shirt pocket or lapel, which can be removed when not wanted. This is hardly necessary as the unit is so light that when using its lanyard I ended up forgetting I was wearing the thing and spent a good 10 minutes searching my desk before realising that, funnily enough, the music I was hearing wasn't appearing from thin air.

Next page

Wackywavinginflateablearmflail

December 7, 2008, 5:05 am

Time for a haircut Hugo? :)

Jay Werfalli

December 7, 2008, 5:37 am

He's already had one. (And it's purple now...)

ChaosDefinesOrder

December 7, 2008, 4:27 pm

Sony have had a bluetooth headphones thingy out for a while now, I've had mine for nearly a year! Almost exactly the same appearance as these sennheisers as well! DR-BT20NX is the model number.

rav

December 7, 2008, 9:05 pm

|use the Sony HBH-DS200. It just the dongle bit (with an integrated mic) and you plug in any headphones you want. I know Jabra does a nice one too that also has media playback buttons.

Robert Elliot

December 8, 2008, 6:55 pm

By the time you've got the loop round the neck and the dongle, have you really saved that much wire and space as opposed to just using normal headphones?

Atchoo

December 8, 2008, 10:09 pm

I have been using Sony's HBH-DS970 for over two years now, which has everything that the reviewed model has and more and looks great. What I like is the the LED display on the dongle of Sony's, albeit very small, will also display who is calling durijg incoming calls. It also clash that a sms or mms has been received, and the sound quality is pretty much good. Only thing not upto scratch is the construction of the laynard, dont get me wrong, its pretty much robust, but the outer lining can easily break away. But, its worth the money, for I have used it virtually everyday for the last two years and it is still going fine. the battery life is good too!

rav

December 8, 2008, 11:38 pm

@Robert Elliot


Its nice not being tethered to the phone and being able to just leave it in your pocket or bag. Also if you've got a mini usb port instead of 3.5mm its a godsend.

Robert Elliot

December 9, 2008, 12:33 am

I guess that wouldn't be nice enough for me to make up for the hassle of yet another thing to charge. The benefit of wireless to me is a lack of wires to get tangled up and a smaller thing in my pocket - more interested in this:


http://www.plantronics.com/nor...

dimercaprol

December 24, 2009, 7:25 pm

I agree with Robert Elliot. If the earpieces have to be wired to something else, I might as well just wire them to my phone instead of a "middle man". I don't leave my phone lying around anyway. I sometimes drive and definitely don't want the hassle of wires while I am driving. The whole concept of having a lanyard seems to be using bluetooth for the sake of it rather than for the benefit of having a truly wireless headset. However, I appreciate that some people do want them and hence they are manufacturing and selling these devices!

Oliver

January 30, 2013, 4:22 pm

The benefit of these headphones is if your a person like me that uses your phone for both calls AND music. These headphones far surpass most other earbuds in quality, and the nice part about the lanyard is that most of device can be hidden in a dress shirt or under a winter coat. Lastly, the bluetooth dongle holds a VERY long charge time, and that makes it extra useful. I have owned this device for two years, and sadly, I just broke it (stepped on it by accident). So I am looking to exactly replace it, because I can't stand behind the ear headphones (If you have sensitive skin issues, you'll know what I mean), and the behind the neck models don't stop from falling off if you suddenly have to run. The lanyard is secure, light, out of the way, looks good, and works phenominally. I have tried most of the other BT type headphones and none come close to this device.

Now if your only looking for phone calls and don't care about music, then just get a single ear BT device and be done with it.

Cheers.

comments powered by Disqus