Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone pictures

1 of 5 pictures

Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone
Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone

5 Pictures - Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone

  • Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone
  • Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone
  • Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone
  • Sennheiser MM 50 iP Headset For iPhone
  • MM 50 Earset - Stereo (Earbud - Binaural - Open - Mini-phone)


August 18, 2008, 1:27 pm

I don't have an iPhone but I do have an iPod Touch. Would the bass heavy sound that these earphones exert be alleviated a little by setting the music EQ to 'Bass Reducer'?

Andy Vandervell

August 18, 2008, 1:34 pm

Quite possibly, yes - but to what extent I couldn't say. In any case, if you're using the touch you may as well look at the CX 300s since they're the same thing sans microphone.


August 18, 2008, 3:49 pm

I was using the CX300's on my iPod Touch and picked up the MM50s last week for my iPhone. They do sound different which was a shock as I would say I prefer the CX300's as these are a bit bassy. Overall though its a massive step up from the bundled Apple ones so I'm happy for now. Paid 㿔 online instead of 㿨 from Apple direct so not toooo bad.


August 18, 2008, 6:16 pm

Agreed with the general theme here. I find the MM 50 iP's very bassy, too much so for my liking (then again I'm an Etymotics fan) but for a good, well priced alternative to the HF2's these are a steal.

Besides ANYTHING that gets owners away from those shocking white buds should be given a humanitarian award in my eyes...


August 18, 2008, 8:47 pm

Wish I had seen the HF2's before now as well as I may well have gotten them instead. Been listening to the MM50's all day now and have to say I have got used to them a bit, but still, very very bass heavy. Strange as all the reviews I read before never said this. Wish I had waitied for the TR Review though.

Andy 4

August 20, 2008, 3:02 pm

Hey Andy - great review, but when are you guys going to review the Beats by Dre? desperate for a decent UK review.


December 23, 2008, 11:52 pm

I actually think these headphones are not bassy enough and I'm not a massive Dance / Hip-Hop listener. I had a pair of CX300's which died and I then 'upgraded' when I purchased an iPhone and I find the bass on the MM50IP to be lacking. I even sent back the first pair thinking there was a fault but the replacment is the same. Do you think I have two faulty pairs. I'm certainly not looking for too much bass but when comparing them to the CX300s they're definitely not the same.


December 4, 2010, 4:09 pm

Hi, I'm a sound engineer, I always use HD25-1's for my work and as result when comes to personal use I look for something a lot more lightweight and subtle. I purchased the MM50 for listening to music on my iPhone. On the whole their pretty good! I do however agree that they are quite keen on 250Hz and lower but I find as most portable music has a rather thin 256 bit rate it's not that bad. Unfortunately, I do have a concern. I'm on my 3rd set in less than a year. The iphone ring on the RCA micro jack (3rd ring) has failed on the last two sets I've had after only 4 months of use. You would think that would only stop the iPhone controls but annoyingly they still work and it the sound that suffers. It goes into a restricted 1 channel mode and is unbearable to listen too! I have been using Sennheiser products for almost 2 decades, they've always been bulletproof! So I'm totally miffed by this consistent problem I have experienced so much so I'm taking it up with my area Sennheiser Trade rep to see if there is a known issue. Anyone else experienced similar?

comments powered by Disqus