June 22, 2008, 11:24 am

It's extremely difficult to take seriously any review of a product when statements as false as, "a soft-touch plastic rear" are made, when in fact, the back portion of the Sansa Fuze is constructed entirely of steel with a rubberized coating?

I also take issue with your assessment that the Creative Zen, one of the single weakest and sonically bland DAP existent, in any way sounds superior to the Sansa Fuze, whose sound signature is virtually identical to the 'brilliant' (your words) Sansa Clip, which shares the same sound chip.

Mind you, it's all just opinion, but far too often I find your reviews anything but Trust-Worthy.


June 22, 2008, 11:45 pm

Harder, you used the phrase 'far too often'. What other recent inaccurate information have you read amongst the reviews here? I'm asking because it's a pretty damning criticism on a review site. Are you implying that they're misinformed or deliberately misleading? And perhaps the editor may want to respond to this as quickly as possible. I should add that it's a promising sign that they published your comment, but hopefully it's unedited.


June 23, 2008, 1:42 am

Can you copy files to the Sansa Fuze just with Windows Explorer copy or with Total Commander, without any third party app or synchronization? Like those cheap no-name mp3 players.


June 23, 2008, 5:49 am


It's not anything personal, It just appears that Mr Bray's reviews often make rather glaringly false statements in many of his reviews.

Another example is when reviewing the Creative Zen, he stated that, "Its screen, at 2.5in, is not only larger than the nano's 2in effort, but also nearly as big as the larger, hard disk-based iPod Classic, which has a 2.8in screen", which anyone worth their electronic reviewing mettle knows that the iPod Classic has a 2.5 inch screen.

I could site other instances, but that's not the point... The point is, I expect a site called TRUSTED REVIEWS to be TRUSTworthy and accurate in their reviews.

Jay 1

June 23, 2008, 2:27 pm

Hi DaHarder and thanks for your comments. We take pride in being accurate in our reviews but inevitably, as with every publication - online or in print - mistakes do creep in, especially when content is written on such a regular basis. That said, we do appreciate the feedback and are quite happy to address any mistakes out readers spot - it's one of the reasons why we have a comments system in place. I'll check out the mistakes you've highlighted and correct them.

parminder bhatti

June 23, 2008, 9:38 pm

I have noticed for some time now that some of trusted reviews are just poor and I have to say that this with its innacuracies is one of them. Another was one where you referred to dvd drives. I am considering not using your site in the future because I think frankly, with certain produts, you guys just do not know what you are talking about.

You comment on things that do not even fall into rumour category, you are quick to take the creadit when you are right and we never hear of the numerous times its just hot air.

From a guy who does not want to stop using the site, get the site real, make it reliable, give us facts, not half truths that might occur.


December 13, 2008, 9:16 pm

Video quality aside, the Fuze is actually quite well known for almost paralleling the Nano's or even the whole range of Classics' SQ - and listen - with Line-Out Dock wires on your iPods. Use Google if you don't know what Interconnects/Line-Out Docks are.

For starters, Line-Out Docks are used to bypass what audiophiles call "the horrible internal circuitries of the iPod". Although having an iMod solves that problem (available on Classic 4G, 5G and 5.5G only). And if a Fuze can parallel that kind of SQ standard, that's saying something.

I've heard through the Fuze and I've a few friends who own it, they liked the Fuze's sound and SQ over the iPods'. Though the memory size is, of course, ultimately the Sansa line of products' downfall.

Though of course, as subjective a matter as music is, I'll leave it to you peeps to compare (or re-compare) the Fuze and the iPods. Though IMO to say that the Zen overpowers the Fuze is really *serious* misinformation. The Zen has completely no ground compared to those two products - not to mention lack of compatibility for plenty of music file formats, most notably lossless.


September 1, 2009, 2:47 pm

If you have a version 1 model of the Fuze, you can now install Rockbox on it. Details here:


This player/firmware combination is simply incredible.


January 1, 2010, 2:01 am

Ok here goes.Im 45 years old and have listened to music,gone to gigs all my life and even once had my own record shop .LOL.For the past five years ive owned a Cowon IAudio x5l with Rockbox installed.For those who dont now anything about Cowon check them out.Cowon are famous for proving superior sounding mp3 players .Last week I broke mine (gutted).

I browsed the net for a replacement and stumbled across Sansa and boy am I glad I did.This audio quality in this little player is stella.I was going to buy a Cowon s9 which has been recieving rave reviews but as im not really into touch screens (they always seem to get scratched or are fiddly)but the reviews all across the net about Sansa and how good they are got me interested.So I purchased a Sansa Fuze 8gb .

Its small and compact and light but also feels solid .You have voice recording,radio(reception is superb),photos again very good image reproduction,Video (which I have only tried briefly).The screen is small and not for me.It is very clear with a choice of wallpapers to choose from.

But the audio quality is where it blows me away it is just amazing.It hammers my Iaudio into the ground and more .I use Shure ear buds which with the Iaudio always felt, know matter what I did with the EQ as though something wasnt just quite right.

With the Sansa Fuze they sound stella.Ditch the crappy pre settings on the EQ ,set the custom EQ to your preference and bingo.I listen to rock ,punk Indie,folk and experimental music and all of it sounds just sublime.The battery life is about 22 hours for me but that is using Flac and Ogg formats.

Another massive bonus is the Micro SD slot which means you can purchase a 32 gb card and you have a 40gb player on your hands.i just purchased an 8gb card for £12 from CEX.So at the moment I have a 16gb player for less than £80 .

Buy this player, it supports all types of music formats including lossless.

You will Not be disappointed at all.Ipod beater?

Just a bit....5 stars from me ..Happy new year..

P.S i cannot believe the reviewer for Trusted reviews gave the audio on the Sansa Fuze an average score .Totally bewildered .


January 1, 2010, 10:16 am

@Bostedclog - I'm in complete agreement with you. As it turned out many of us disagreed with the conclusions of this review, but the final say always goes to the professional who reviews it. The Fuse was a 9/10 player IMHO at the time of this review.


January 7, 2010, 8:08 pm

Well said guys! I've just bought one of these, and along with my set of S. MDR-EX300 earphones I think the sound quality from this little device is absolutely outstanding, and I'm extremely fussy when it comes to sound! Little odd the reviewer doesn't think so but everyone's entitled to an opinion I suppose. I'm wondering if he may have based his opinion on the supplied earphones? I changed them for my own, but then again doesn't everyone?

The Fuze is a nice size, feels solid and a nice weight, not too light and plasticky like some. Found it fairly easy to navigate the menus, I like the FM radio and the capability of recording from it into an mp3 file. Card slot is a great bonus, I don't have a clue why a lot of other manufacturers don't include them, it's a no-brainer if you ask me, most multimedia mobile phones have them, so why not multimedia players!

Screen isn't bad, it has a reasonable resolution, and video on this device isn't rubbish, in fact it's not too bad at all considering it's only 15fps, but then again I wouldn't really expect amazing quality video on a little player like this anyway. That said, I've watched a few programmes on it now and the quality seems fine to me, perfectly watchable, if your eyes are up to watching video on a 1.9" screen that is!

Anyway, I bought my Fuze more on the strength of the comments here than the review's comments, so I can only hope this helps readers decide like I did.


April 5, 2010, 8:19 pm

Thanks for the positive comments about the Fuze. You've helped me make up my mind to buy one. As an avid hater of iTunes I'm moving on from my overpriced and over rated iPod Nano now it's full and I can't expand it. Many thanks for taking the time to out your comments in writing.

Mark Penrice

August 18, 2013, 12:00 pm

Hmm, I'm mulling over whether to get one of these secondhand, and my current main headphones (skullcandy earbuds, one of the few types that fit comfortably in my ears) are a bit on the bass-heavy side. Maybe the default over-bright EQ of the Fuze can help even that up?

comments powered by Disqus