Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Samsung i8910 HD / Samsung i8910HD

Samsung i8910 HD - Samsung i8910HD

By Sandra Vogel

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

User Score:

From the home screen, you can fingerpan left and right to get to the main menu screen and photo contacts, and there is a row of four buttons running along the bottom of the main screen for dial pad, contacts, messaging and the main menu. With that lot at hand, only three small front buttons are needed for Call, End and again bringing up the main menu.

Samsung has not stinted on the specifications with this handset. It runs on version 5 of Symbian S60, though there is absolutely no way that it looks like a Nokia handset thanks to Samsung's skinning. The use of Symbian helps with the vast array of applications that are here. You can add more to them if you want to, and if the 8GB of storage on the Orange version of this handset is not enough, then you could look around for the 16GB version. There is a microSD card slot for adding further storage located on the left side of the casing where it is protected by a hinged cover.

This is an HSDPA device supporting a full 7.2Mbps download speed and quad-band GSM. There is a front button for two-way video calls. GPS and Wi-Fi are built in, and there is Bluetooth too, of course.

The camera takes very respectable images. I've said before that 8-megapixels on a phone is not like 8-megapixels on a dedicated camera, but if you are lured by the numbers you shouldn't be disappointed with the results. The coloured dish, photographed indoors under household lights, is sharp and clear, and the yellow flowers were shot using the macro facility.

The flash is LED rather than Xenon, which is a shame, but there are plenty of shooting controls and among them are face, smile and blink detection. Jarringly these aren't all in the same place in the settings menu, so you may need to fiddle around a bit to find precisely what you are looking for. It is fortunate, then, that the controls are very easy to navigate with large finger-friendly icons with left and right side-mounted icon menus ready for tapping when you want to change settings. And of course there is a side-mounted shutter button. There's no lens cover, and even though the lens is slightly recessed it is likely to get scratched.

Furthermore, if you are a video fan you will also like i8910 HD's ability to capture (and decode) footage at a maximum HD Ready resolution of 1,280 x 720 pixels, at 24fps. Video format support covers DivX, XviD, H.263, H.264, WMV, MPEG4, RV.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

stranded

June 19, 2009, 7:22 am

Any comment about the quality of conversation sound? There were problems with it as i read some time ago.

WyWyWyWy

June 19, 2009, 4:05 pm

Any recommendation for a sat nav app for this phone?


I use Sygic on the N95 but it probably isn't compatible with this resolution.

Bagpuss515

June 19, 2009, 5:14 pm

I'd imagine AmazeGPS would work - does on my LG Renoir - http://www.amazegps.com/welcom...

TL1210

June 19, 2009, 7:02 pm

I got this phone fairly recently with Orange. Im very impressed with the video and quality of the screen. I took it to America with me and my videos of the Grand Canyon look amazing!





Videos ripped from YouTube look pretty good too.. getting them onto the phone could not be easier.. drag and drop from pc to Samsung PC studio software...it can read most formats out there.





I got google maps downloaded to it which works fine, it is quite amusing watching yourself move across the map when in a car although it would be better to have GPS software with full uk map installed and not have to connect to the internet to get the images.. on traditional sat nav systems in your car.





@ Bagpuss - cheers for the link, I'll check that out later :)

simba

June 22, 2009, 3:12 pm

@stranded : call quality is perfectly fine - iv read reviews also where its mentioned that its as if you talking to someone in a tunnel, but that i dont think so at all.

Sleeper

June 23, 2009, 3:25 am

It's a very nice phone but it's absolutely huge. One for the ladies handbags methinks.

James McMorine

June 23, 2009, 7:46 pm

Will there be a video review of this coming soon? As you guys always do very good reviews and i would like to see the phone in action before i decide whether to to get this or the LG Viewty Smart.

Gordon394

June 23, 2009, 7:53 pm

@James - I'm unsure as to the video review timing but I've used both ant the i8910 is in a different league. It's flagship, the Viewty Smart is upper midrange at best and feels cheap.

GoldenGuy

June 25, 2009, 6:48 pm

What's that David? Couldn't agree more - it IS a belter.

MrGodfrey

July 4, 2009, 11:22 pm

Thanks for the review Sandra. One question though - is the OS any good? In your Nokia N97 review you say that Symbian is lagging well behind the competition, but don't comment on that here. I have no intention of getting an iPhone - locked down, poor camera, limited to an awful O2 contract - but have to admit it is actually nice to use. How does the i8910's OS compare in terms of speed and ease of use? Thanks.

Bagpuss515

July 9, 2009, 2:22 am

After switching from an N95 to an LG Renoir, I can honestly say that I miss the available applications for my phone of choice. Suddenly an iphone with all of its faults but thousands of applications available in one place seems really inviting.

Laura

August 26, 2009, 12:39 am

which phone would be better this one or samsung tocco ultra edition?

bigL

September 5, 2009, 7:25 pm

aaight.. well i dont know much, but in simple talk what is the best phone? .. just general multi media purposes etc ???

Dan Healy

October 13, 2009, 5:06 am

Hi. I'm looking at the Omnia HD vs the Omnia 2.





I can't really decide between the 2 and have no idea how one (HD) can be 16m colours and the other (Om2) 65k - that really does baffle me and makes me think it doesn't really matter, they are both AMOLED etc. Is the screen resolution (HD 640x320, Om2 800x480) an issue? You can zoom in/out on web pages etc anyway.





The colours spec astounds me, obv that ratio of 16m to 65k is not an actual ratio to performance!! Is the HD much better to watch videos? Sometimes technical specs are misleading.





As an avid txter. I'm worried about the lack of multi touch on the HD - can it be added somehow via firmware?

Logall

January 21, 2011, 9:09 pm

A year too late but here's my take on I8910 HD for any prospective buyer. The word is "Don't". You will be disappointed.


Got a brand new phone from ebay. After reading reviews in cnet, techradar and TR, I bought this phone assured it was the best camera phone. Not really!!!


Here's what I like.


1. Good Keyboard and very user friendly user-interface.


2. Nice display size.


3. Get Opera browser..Good internet browsing.


4. Fast and responsive screen. Typing is much better and accurate.





Hate


1. Camera results. Images are blurry and shaky. anti shake doesn't work well. When it does click right, it does a fine job. But not better than HTC HD2 (my colleague got one and we compared the results). I've tried different firmwares.....None stable...there's always some issue.





2. The screen icon interface is ugly. eeeeks. The icons are big and really horrible. Seems like it's designed for toddlers. Check out Iphone or any HTC phone and you'll know the difference. My nokia N95 has better screen layout on symbian. Rich and nice.





it's a pity I didn't come across a report written while searching for camera issues on google. (search yourself).


http://anphase.files.wordpress...








Not all is disappointing, however if you're an Android/Apple/LiMO user, don't expect much from this version of symbian or the so called i8910 H-ighly D-isappointing

comments powered by Disqus