Home / Computing / Monitor / Samsung SyncMaster PX2370 / Image Quality, Value and Verdict

Samsung SyncMaster PX2370 - Image Quality, Value and Verdict

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

6

Ultimately though, what every monitor should be about is image quality, and here the 23in PX2370, with its Full HD (1,920 x 1,080) resolution, scores decently. There was some minor backlight inconsistency but no bleed, the latter of which is often the more distracting - especially in the black bands of widescreen films. Viewing angles were slightly above average, with less contrast-shift than found on most TN-panel monitors, so viewing with family or friends shouldn't be a problem.

Greyscale differentiation was also good for this type of screen, and we managed to calibrate it so that even the darkest shades were visible - albeit at the cost of white purity and differentiation. This is a sensible compromise for the average user, as it gives you extra detail in films and games which tend to be predominantly dark. Speaking of detail, sharpness was also excellent, though it's rare to find otherwise these days.

We found banding varied quite a bit depending on settings. At its best it was barely noticeable, while at its worst it was obvious across the board. Mind you, as this is mainly visible across large colour gradients it's not something you'll commonly notice in most real-world scenarios, and we wouldn't recommend a TN-based display for image enthusiasts anyway.

This is all fairly encouraging, but there's little doubt the PX2370 is expensive for what you get. Once again, Samsung is its own worst enemy, as £50 less than the £265 demanded by the PX2370 will buy you Samsung's SyncMaster F2380M, the Full HD, HDMI-equipped 23in cousin of the award-winning F2080. Based on essentially the same chassis as its smaller 20in cousin, the F2380M should offer better build quality, full adjustability and far superior image quality, thanks to its use of a cPVA rather than TN panel.

If energy efficiency is more important to you than image quality, the fully-adjustable SyncMaster BX2240 should have you covered for less than £200, while the SyncMaster P2370HD (a monitor and TV hybrid) has it solidly beat in the feature count. All this considered, the premium for its slimness is simply too high.

Verdict

Aside from being one of the slimmest monitors we've ever seen thanks to its LED-backlighting, the Samsung SyncMaster PX2370 sports an attractive design, some nice extras and halfway decent image quality. However, if slenderness isn't your main priority, it's far too expensive to be desirable to any but the most well-heeled buyers.

Overall Score

6

Scores In Detail

  • Design 8
  • Features 7
  • Image Quality 7
  • Value 5

Sullivan McIntyre

August 3, 2010, 2:21 pm

Can you please bug Samsung to release a nice, cheaper 27" with 2560x1440 resolution, already?! I'm mystified why they won't move beyond the stale 23/24" 'Full HD' size we've had for years now.





When Samsung and the big volume producers get involved, it'll finally start a bit of price competition with Dell and Apple.

Denis iii

August 3, 2010, 3:53 pm

will you be reviewing the XL2270HD soon? I'd like to read a full review so can compare to LD220HD before purchasing one or the other

smodd

August 3, 2010, 10:29 pm

While you can advise the F2380 instead because of the contrast image quality mind you that also offers black crush, the contrast is superb upto 3000 to 1 for a monitor but is more business orientated, this screen has 2ms response time and according to other review sites almost match a 120hz monitor in response time, the F2380 has 5ms and is very slow for movies and games for my taste, i have the previous version of this screen the XL2370 wich also has 2ms and as fast as the PX2370 screen, better colour reproduction (below Delta 1 after calibration) but no Magic Angle features, but also can be compensate by selecting Gamma values to make darker or brighter the screen if you sit from below, you can advise better contrast screens(like CPVA)or better angle screens (like IPS) but the response time always kill them, maybe WOLED from LG can be the answer but not right now, until then i prefer the XL2370 TN faster screen, good colour reproduction after calibration, with the same design of the P2370 screen (the base is more attractive and has blue crystals in the neck¡¡¡) and also a lot more brightness than the PX2370 reaching 450 cd/m2 rather than 250cd/m2, you can take advantage of this brightness in movies too and looks superb and is cheaper...





G.I.Joe 720p – No Flash with the camera, just a representation of the brightness that can be achieved with the monitor, the lost of contrast is abismal because there´s no flash .





http://img407.imageshack.us/im...

TechVegan

August 5, 2010, 7:08 pm

@Sullivan McIntyre:


Yes, we too would love to see some more competition in the 2560x1440 IPS 27in sector.


Here's hoping!





@Denis_iii:


We'll see what we can do...





@smodd:


If you'd care to read again, I recommend the F2380M. The 'M' stands for multimedia, hence why it has HDMI compared to the business version that doesn't. The F23-series is PVA rather than TN, so response times can't necessarily be directly compared.


Contrast is also far better on cPVA than on TN, meaning the latter's 'extra' brightness is utterly pointless. Also, I and anyone else who cares more about practicality than shallow looks will prefer FULL adjustability to the rubbish ergonomics of this monitor's stand, no matter how pretty it is.





Finally, for those who don't care about these factors, there's always the http://www.trustedreviews.com/... which I mentioned as an alternative. In the end of course, get what appeals to you, we can only (hopefully) help to inform your decision.

smodd

August 8, 2010, 3:13 am

Even the M model for multimedia has black crush man, response times always matters if you dont want to see weirdness in your playback movies, brightness means a lot i cant go back to a standard 250cd/m2 screen now and is even more espectacular in games like Battlefield Badcompany 2 the reflection of the sun in the san,d among others effects, is unbeliavable, seems like your are in the desert, equally with movies like GI Joe, also all the explosions are super impressive, the other screens for me are dull and slow.


Heres a comparison table between the two screens, the worst response time in the XL2370 is as good as the best response result of the F2380M, and in colour reproduction both are pretty much the same below delta 1 in average ...


http://www.digitalversus.com/d...





So same level of colour presision but better response times, i choose that over a better stand, if you are very tall just put a few books below the screen, at least for me thats way better than black crush(lost of detail) + slow screen... will be interesting to know how much contrast the F2380M can achieve without the lost of black detail, maybe no so wow after that.

Mike Scott

August 8, 2010, 8:41 pm

Well I came here hoping to find a balanced, impartial and sound review that I can feature on my website. Unfortunately your review is shrouded in clouds of doom, gloom, hatred, unsubstantiated opinion and unsupported ideas. You talk about 'poor contrast' yet don't give any figures to back up what you are saying. It is all good and well talking about the contrast of the F2380M, or at least, the figures quoted - but if you were writing at a truly useful level you would point out that the 3000:1 quoted contrast is only obtainable by setting brightness to 35% (a.k.a 'text mode'). This is no good for films and games - add to this the horrendous and I mean horrendous glaring trails of red and purple and lack of differentiation of blacks and any cPVA panel currently available is not in the least bit attractive for gamers or movie lovers. The high brightness of the PX2370, on the other hand, helps bring out an extra level of immersiveness to games and movies. It is not as if the PX2370 visibly bleaches everything - you can't simply say that "black levels aren't as good as some other panel using a completely different technology therefore brightness doesn't matter" - especially without supporting figures. Likewise - you talk about colour accuracy without giving specific examples or any real idea of how you tested this. The truth is that the PX2370, like the XL2370, is a very strong TN panel. It shares the inherent flaws of the TN technology it uses but provides a stunningly bright, efficient, responsive and attractive screen.

TechVegan

August 9, 2010, 4:06 pm

@Mike Scott:


Ermmm, okay then. "Unfortunately your review is shrouded in clouds of doom, gloom, hatred, unsubstantiated opinion and unsupported ideas." Excuse me, did you actually read the review?! (Also, do you write TV soap scripts?) Quoted from page 3: "Ultimately though, what every monitor should be about is image quality, and here the 23in PX2370, with its Full HD (1,920 x 1,080) resolution, scores decently." I'm POSITIVE about the image quality - in fact, I'm generally positive about this whole monitor, except that it is too expensive ("This is all fairly encouraging, but there's little doubt the PX2370 is expensive for what you get.").





"It is all good and well talking about the contrast of the F2380M, or at least, the figures quoted - but if you were writing at a truly useful level you would point out that the 3000:1 quoted contrast is only obtainable by setting brightness to 35% (a.k.a 'text mode')." This is NOT a review of the F2380M, and we didn't encounter any of the "horrendous glaring trails of red and purple and lack of differentiation of blacks" or black crush you mention on its smaller cPVA cousin (http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... But maybe I just couldn't see them through the clouds of doom, gloom and hatred.

schweinhundert

September 5, 2010, 12:51 pm

I'm buying 2 of them today! Is it possible to get it in a nice tomato red?

comments powered by Disqus