Home » Computing » Monitor » Samsung SyncMaster PX2370 » Design, Controls, OSD and Energy Efficiency

Samsung SyncMaster PX2370 - Design, Controls, OSD and Energy Efficiency

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

As we've come to expect from Samsung, the PX2370's aesthetics are arresting – and we mean that in a good way. There's no 'touch of color' here, but most will likely prefer the monochrome scheme of this model: we certainly do. Its even-sized black bezel is fetchingly set off by a deep transparent surround, an effect repeated in the stand and semi-transparent smoked black base.

Though there's quite a bit of glossy black plastic, it's more resistant to fingerprints than any such finish we've come across recently, and you can avoid touching it altogether thanks to the thick transparent edge. Overall, this monitor is very slim (26.5mm at its thickest point), and its design is cohesive and eye-catching. Indeed, we prefer its angular body to Samsung's previous, generally curvier efforts.

At the bottom of the bezel resides the power switch, highlighted by a faint white curved LED strip and a chrome outer edge. Though it looks like a physical button, the switch is actually activated by touch, and is very sensitive.

The PX2370's controls, on the other hand, are actually physical buttons, hidden away behind the right-hand side of the bezel with identifying icons on the monitor's extremely slim side. These buttons would have worked a lot better if the VGA-sync button (which incidentally lacks any secondary function) had been moved away from the OSD controls. Unfortunately this is not the case, and since all five buttons are the same shape and size, it's easy to get confused. However, starting at the top they lie naturally under your four main fingers and offer positive feedback, though the monitor does tend to wobble a little when pressing them.

Shortcuts include brightness control, MagicBright presets (Custom, Standard, Game, Cinema and Dynamic Contrast) and input selection. Unfortunately we found input switching - whether manual or automatic - to be frustratingly slow, but that's only an issue if you're part of the minority that switch inputs regularly.

Anyone familiar with the OSD on a recent Samsung display won't find any surprises here. Despite only using three colours it's attractive, with informative icons and a logical layout. All the usual options are on hand, though there are a few Samsung-exclusive 'Magic' additions which are only found on its high-end TN-based monitors (we realise that's an oxymoron).

The monitor's power brick is as slim as the screen.

The most controversial of these is probably Magic Angle, a set of specially adjusted 'view angle' presets which alter picture characteristics to compensate for TN technology's inherently poor viewing angle performance. While it's nice to have if you usually sit in the same orientation to your display, it wouldn't be necessary to begin with if a superior panel technology was used.

Magic Lux and Magic Eco, on the other hand, would make genuine enhancements for any monitor. The former controls the PX2370's ambient light sensor that automatically adjusts backlight brightness depending on the amount of ambient light, while the latter lowers backlight brightness to permanent maximums, making an already frugal monitor (thanks to its LED backlighting) even more energy efficient. In fact, after calibration the PX2370 stayed below 19W, and activating the lowest Magic Eco setting of three brought this down to an impressive 12W average.

Previous page
Next page

Sullivan McIntyre

August 3, 2010, 2:21 pm

Can you please bug Samsung to release a nice, cheaper 27" with 2560x1440 resolution, already?! I'm mystified why they won't move beyond the stale 23/24" 'Full HD' size we've had for years now.

When Samsung and the big volume producers get involved, it'll finally start a bit of price competition with Dell and Apple.

Denis iii

August 3, 2010, 3:53 pm

will you be reviewing the XL2270HD soon? I'd like to read a full review so can compare to LD220HD before purchasing one or the other


August 3, 2010, 10:29 pm

While you can advise the F2380 instead because of the contrast image quality mind you that also offers black crush, the contrast is superb upto 3000 to 1 for a monitor but is more business orientated, this screen has 2ms response time and according to other review sites almost match a 120hz monitor in response time, the F2380 has 5ms and is very slow for movies and games for my taste, i have the previous version of this screen the XL2370 wich also has 2ms and as fast as the PX2370 screen, better colour reproduction (below Delta 1 after calibration) but no Magic Angle features, but also can be compensate by selecting Gamma values to make darker or brighter the screen if you sit from below, you can advise better contrast screens(like CPVA)or better angle screens (like IPS) but the response time always kill them, maybe WOLED from LG can be the answer but not right now, until then i prefer the XL2370 TN faster screen, good colour reproduction after calibration, with the same design of the P2370 screen (the base is more attractive and has blue crystals in the neck¡¡¡) and also a lot more brightness than the PX2370 reaching 450 cd/m2 rather than 250cd/m2, you can take advantage of this brightness in movies too and looks superb and is cheaper...

G.I.Joe 720p – No Flash with the camera, just a representation of the brightness that can be achieved with the monitor, the lost of contrast is abismal because there´s no flash .



August 5, 2010, 7:08 pm

@Sullivan McIntyre:

Yes, we too would love to see some more competition in the 2560x1440 IPS 27in sector.

Here's hoping!


We'll see what we can do...


If you'd care to read again, I recommend the F2380M. The 'M' stands for multimedia, hence why it has HDMI compared to the business version that doesn't. The F23-series is PVA rather than TN, so response times can't necessarily be directly compared.

Contrast is also far better on cPVA than on TN, meaning the latter's 'extra' brightness is utterly pointless. Also, I and anyone else who cares more about practicality than shallow looks will prefer FULL adjustability to the rubbish ergonomics of this monitor's stand, no matter how pretty it is.

Finally, for those who don't care about these factors, there's always the http://www.trustedreviews.com/... which I mentioned as an alternative. In the end of course, get what appeals to you, we can only (hopefully) help to inform your decision.


August 8, 2010, 3:13 am

Even the M model for multimedia has black crush man, response times always matters if you dont want to see weirdness in your playback movies, brightness means a lot i cant go back to a standard 250cd/m2 screen now and is even more espectacular in games like Battlefield Badcompany 2 the reflection of the sun in the san,d among others effects, is unbeliavable, seems like your are in the desert, equally with movies like GI Joe, also all the explosions are super impressive, the other screens for me are dull and slow.

Heres a comparison table between the two screens, the worst response time in the XL2370 is as good as the best response result of the F2380M, and in colour reproduction both are pretty much the same below delta 1 in average ...


So same level of colour presision but better response times, i choose that over a better stand, if you are very tall just put a few books below the screen, at least for me thats way better than black crush(lost of detail) + slow screen... will be interesting to know how much contrast the F2380M can achieve without the lost of black detail, maybe no so wow after that.

Mike Scott

August 8, 2010, 8:41 pm

Well I came here hoping to find a balanced, impartial and sound review that I can feature on my website. Unfortunately your review is shrouded in clouds of doom, gloom, hatred, unsubstantiated opinion and unsupported ideas. You talk about 'poor contrast' yet don't give any figures to back up what you are saying. It is all good and well talking about the contrast of the F2380M, or at least, the figures quoted - but if you were writing at a truly useful level you would point out that the 3000:1 quoted contrast is only obtainable by setting brightness to 35% (a.k.a 'text mode'). This is no good for films and games - add to this the horrendous and I mean horrendous glaring trails of red and purple and lack of differentiation of blacks and any cPVA panel currently available is not in the least bit attractive for gamers or movie lovers. The high brightness of the PX2370, on the other hand, helps bring out an extra level of immersiveness to games and movies. It is not as if the PX2370 visibly bleaches everything - you can't simply say that "black levels aren't as good as some other panel using a completely different technology therefore brightness doesn't matter" - especially without supporting figures. Likewise - you talk about colour accuracy without giving specific examples or any real idea of how you tested this. The truth is that the PX2370, like the XL2370, is a very strong TN panel. It shares the inherent flaws of the TN technology it uses but provides a stunningly bright, efficient, responsive and attractive screen.


August 9, 2010, 4:06 pm

@Mike Scott:

Ermmm, okay then. "Unfortunately your review is shrouded in clouds of doom, gloom, hatred, unsubstantiated opinion and unsupported ideas." Excuse me, did you actually read the review?! (Also, do you write TV soap scripts?) Quoted from page 3: "Ultimately though, what every monitor should be about is image quality, and here the 23in PX2370, with its Full HD (1,920 x 1,080) resolution, scores decently." I'm POSITIVE about the image quality - in fact, I'm generally positive about this whole monitor, except that it is too expensive ("This is all fairly encouraging, but there's little doubt the PX2370 is expensive for what you get.").

"It is all good and well talking about the contrast of the F2380M, or at least, the figures quoted - but if you were writing at a truly useful level you would point out that the 3000:1 quoted contrast is only obtainable by setting brightness to 35% (a.k.a 'text mode')." This is NOT a review of the F2380M, and we didn't encounter any of the "horrendous glaring trails of red and purple and lack of differentiation of blacks" or black crush you mention on its smaller cPVA cousin (http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... But maybe I just couldn't see them through the clouds of doom, gloom and hatred.


September 5, 2010, 12:51 pm

I'm buying 2 of them today! Is it possible to get it in a nice tomato red?

comments powered by Disqus