Home » Computing » Monitor » Samsung SyncMaster F2380

Samsung SyncMaster F2380 review

Ardjuna Seghers



  • Recommended by TR
Samsung SyncMaster F2380


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

You might remember, way back in the misty depths of 2010, we reviewed Samsung's SyncMaster F2080 and came away rather impressed. In fact, the F2080 was a runner up for Best PC Monitor in our Awards 2010. Aside from its slightly slow response time, the only thing we didn't like about it was its sub-Full HD resolution, a lack fixed by its bigger F2380 sibling. Well, that's the screen we're finally reviewing today.

With full adjustability, a high-quality, 1080p, 23in cPVA panel, multiple digital inputs and, best of all, costing just a smidgen over £200, will this be another winner? When it came out there were no alternatives to inferior TN at under £300, but now there are a few options, such as the recent BenQ VW2420H, which offers an A-MVA panel combined with LED backlighting for well under £200. So let's see how this Samsung holds up in today's market.

Since the F2380's chassis is essentially the same as that of the F2080, it's no surprise that it's just as easy to set up. Merely clip in the base, tighten a thumb-screw, and you're good to go. Build quality of the stand is top notch, with the base being rugged matte plastic and the arm made of metal. The screen's bezel is constructed from the same plastic as the base, but unfortunately its back is quite flimsy, displaying significant creak and flex. However, though disappointing it's not really an issue, as all the bits that matter are adequately tough.

As far as looks go, the F2380 is unapologetically angular and matte black throughout, giving an industrial impression we're rather taken with. It's not only visually pleasing but much better at concealing dust and fingerprints, and prevents distracting reflections too.

Ergonomics are also excellent. Height adjustment is 5.5 to 18.5cm off your desk, there are generous amounts of tilt and swivel, and pivot is also on the menu. Adjustments are very smooth and, aside from pivot, can all be performed using just one hand.

Connectivity is also good. Since this monitor is part of Samsung's 'Professional' series, it's not surprising that there's no HDMI, but you do get dual DVI inputs to cover all your digital needs. There's also an analogue VGA port for hooking up older machines and netbooks. Samsung provides both DVI and VGA cables, and connecting them is easy as pie with the display pivoted. It's also worth noting a physical power switch at the monitor's back, which is always a welcome touch.

Next page


January 12, 2011, 3:55 pm

My advice to anyone looking to purchase a reasonably-priced IPS or PVA display would be to not hang around if they can find this in stock. Monitors such as this one, the Benq VW/EW2420 and the Viewsonic VP2365wb seem to debut, rocket in price then disappear from the shelves in a matter of weeks.


January 12, 2011, 5:41 pm


That's usually sound advice, though luckily here in the UK the F2380 has been widely and easily available since its release last year. It has been available for less than £200 though, so it might well go up even more...


January 12, 2011, 5:45 pm

Odd that you're only reviewing this monitor now. I've had one on my desk at work for well over a year.

I assume this monitor has been subjected to Samsung's infamous and irritating habit of changing panels without revising the model numbers, as my experience of this monitor is different to your findings.

I find the horizontal viewing angles to be pretty good, especially at this pricepoint. There is a slight colour shift past 60-ish degrees, but I certainly don't see the problem of some colours shifting with only slight movement off-center, nor do I see any contrast shift when sitting centrally.

However, it sounds as if your review sample was better in terms of black/dark area/shadow detail. On my monitor there is fairly bad black crush, which means dark areas of the picture lack detail. Early reviews of this monitor highlighted this issue, and no alteration of the display settings can cure the problem. I would immediately rule out my monitor for photo editing, as the black crush would make it impossible to judge contrast and black level alterations.

I really wish Samsung would stop with this panel lottery business. I wouldn't spend any of my own money on a Samsung monitor or TV, unless I was 100% sure what panel I was going to get.


January 12, 2011, 6:56 pm

I re-buy this http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

over the samsung F2380...


January 12, 2011, 8:01 pm


We had been hoping to get this monitor in only shortly after reviewing the { http://www.trustedreviews.com/... }, but due to all kinds of sample delays we didn't get a chance and had pretty much given up on it. As we recently saw it still widely available, however, we decided it was worth checking out despite being an older product.

Regardless of the panel, I reckon you'll still get a better overall experience than from any TN-based display, with the exceptions mentioned in the review.


Indeed, that is the best alternative I mention in the value comparison. But some will prefer the adjustability and matte finish of the Samsung.


January 12, 2011, 10:55 pm

I bought this last year on the strength of your review of its smaller sibling for just a shade over £180. I've not been disappointed and, like Metalax, I don't see contrast shifts, and only the slightest of colour shifts past 60 degrees. I also don't have a black crush problem as bad as the reviews suggested - it's hardly noticeable unless I'm working with a dark greyscale image. I wouldn't recommend it for professional work, but I agree with Ardjuna that it's fine for hobby photographers (such as yours truly).


January 13, 2011, 10:22 am

Best image quality at this price. Best looking monitor at this price (for me). But, one big minus, not suitable for hardcore fps or racing, flying etc. gamers, not 2ms.

For professionals? No way. Just a bit more decent than the crap swarm.


January 13, 2011, 2:28 pm


Lucky that you got when it was still cheaper!

Glad you're happy with it.


Indeed - at that price, it's simply one of the best options available, and I would even say it's a lot more decent than the "crap swarm" :)


January 13, 2011, 5:01 pm


It has nice image quality

But not the Best image quality at this price, the BenQ VW2420H has the Best image quality at this price and the best viewing angles.


comments powered by Disqus