1 of 8 pictures

Samsung SyncMaster F2380
Samsung SyncMaster F2380

8 Pictures - Samsung SyncMaster F2380

  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • Samsung SyncMaster F2380
  • SyncMaster F2380 58.4 cm 23" LCD Monitor 1920 x 1080 - 16:9 - 8 ms - 0.256 mm - 3000:1 - Black


January 12, 2011, 3:55 pm

My advice to anyone looking to purchase a reasonably-priced IPS or PVA display would be to not hang around if they can find this in stock. Monitors such as this one, the Benq VW/EW2420 and the Viewsonic VP2365wb seem to debut, rocket in price then disappear from the shelves in a matter of weeks.


January 12, 2011, 5:41 pm


That's usually sound advice, though luckily here in the UK the F2380 has been widely and easily available since its release last year. It has been available for less than £200 though, so it might well go up even more...


January 12, 2011, 5:45 pm

Odd that you're only reviewing this monitor now. I've had one on my desk at work for well over a year.

I assume this monitor has been subjected to Samsung's infamous and irritating habit of changing panels without revising the model numbers, as my experience of this monitor is different to your findings.

I find the horizontal viewing angles to be pretty good, especially at this pricepoint. There is a slight colour shift past 60-ish degrees, but I certainly don't see the problem of some colours shifting with only slight movement off-center, nor do I see any contrast shift when sitting centrally.

However, it sounds as if your review sample was better in terms of black/dark area/shadow detail. On my monitor there is fairly bad black crush, which means dark areas of the picture lack detail. Early reviews of this monitor highlighted this issue, and no alteration of the display settings can cure the problem. I would immediately rule out my monitor for photo editing, as the black crush would make it impossible to judge contrast and black level alterations.

I really wish Samsung would stop with this panel lottery business. I wouldn't spend any of my own money on a Samsung monitor or TV, unless I was 100% sure what panel I was going to get.


January 12, 2011, 6:56 pm

I re-buy this http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

over the samsung F2380...


January 12, 2011, 8:01 pm


We had been hoping to get this monitor in only shortly after reviewing the { http://www.trustedreviews.com/... }, but due to all kinds of sample delays we didn't get a chance and had pretty much given up on it. As we recently saw it still widely available, however, we decided it was worth checking out despite being an older product.

Regardless of the panel, I reckon you'll still get a better overall experience than from any TN-based display, with the exceptions mentioned in the review.


Indeed, that is the best alternative I mention in the value comparison. But some will prefer the adjustability and matte finish of the Samsung.


January 12, 2011, 10:55 pm

I bought this last year on the strength of your review of its smaller sibling for just a shade over £180. I've not been disappointed and, like Metalax, I don't see contrast shifts, and only the slightest of colour shifts past 60 degrees. I also don't have a black crush problem as bad as the reviews suggested - it's hardly noticeable unless I'm working with a dark greyscale image. I wouldn't recommend it for professional work, but I agree with Ardjuna that it's fine for hobby photographers (such as yours truly).


January 13, 2011, 10:22 am

Best image quality at this price. Best looking monitor at this price (for me). But, one big minus, not suitable for hardcore fps or racing, flying etc. gamers, not 2ms.

For professionals? No way. Just a bit more decent than the crap swarm.


January 13, 2011, 2:28 pm


Lucky that you got when it was still cheaper!

Glad you're happy with it.


Indeed - at that price, it's simply one of the best options available, and I would even say it's a lot more decent than the "crap swarm" :)


January 13, 2011, 5:01 pm


It has nice image quality

But not the Best image quality at this price, the BenQ VW2420H has the Best image quality at this price and the best viewing angles.


comments powered by Disqus