Home / Computing / Monitor / Samsung SyncMaster BX2240 / Connectivity, Build Quality & OSD

Samsung SyncMaster BX2240 - Connectivity, Build Quality & OSD

Ardjuna Seghers

By Ardjuna Seghers



Our Score:


Connectivity on the SyncMaster BX2240 is quite basic, with DVI and VGA being the only options. However, this is certainly adequate for a business-oriented screen, and you can always plug in an HDMI cable via a cheap adapter. It's really easy to hook up the cables thanks to the monitor's connectors facing outwards, though there's no cable management at all.

Build quality is generally good, though this monitor doesn't feel anywhere near as solid as the Samsung SyncMaster F2080. There's a little more creak than we would ideally like on the chassis, but to be honest it's no cause for concern and the BX2240 shouldn't suffer any build-related issues whether at home or at work.

At the bottom of the bezel, discreet grey icons mark the buttons hidden underneath it. A very subtle dark-blue LED demarcates the power button. All the buttons are also marked by physical protrusions and offer positive if somewhat stiff feedback, making them fairly easy to press. They're not the best we've come across, but do the job.

Samsung's OSD is visually attractive despite only using black and white with blue for highlights. Shortcuts are fairly intelligent and intuitive, with dedicated secondary button functions for aspect ratio, brightness and source switching. Of course VGA's auto-calibration gets its own button altogether, but on a business monitor that's not a bad thing.

Along with the basics common to all monitors, in the BX2240's OSD you'll find adjustments for sharpness, colour tone with individual RGB controls, gamma, MagicBright (a number of brightness presets including dynamic contrast options) and MagicColor (colour presets including Aqua, Sepia, Green and Greyscale).

Also among the options is MagicAngle, which lets you choose from a variety of presets to optimize brightness and contrast for viewing from various predefined angles. It works reasonably well, but obviously wouldn't be necessary in the first place if the BX2240 used a superior panel technology. Like the Samsung LD220HD that also had this feature, it feels like an artificial solution to a fundamental problem.

Ian Yates

June 8, 2010, 8:44 pm

You're kidding me?

I've been after a decent widescreen LED TFT for ages. TRs lacklustre reviews meant I hadn't done it - until yesterday! And now you've reviewed this!

Ho hum. I went for a LG W2486L in the end (30% off); so fingers crossed it isn't too disappointing.


June 9, 2010, 1:38 am

@Ian Yates - Hehe, know the feeling - there's always something better out there with tech - I think buyer's regret is the norm when buying gadgets.

On monitors - I'm still waiting for a 22 or 24" LED backlit monitor based on PVA or IPS technology, have any been released yet?

Ian Yates

June 9, 2010, 6:35 pm

@Pbryanw I looked for PVA/IPS but couldn't find anything.

As this review says, though, a good TN LED can still be worth it.


June 9, 2010, 8:18 pm

@Pbryanw & Ian Yates:

This is available, but at the moment only in an iMac as far as I'm aware. There have been rumors that Apple is planning a dedicated 27in LED-backlit IPS Cinema display, pretty much a 27in iMac without the Mac :)

Of course there are always LED-backlit televisions based on PVA and IPS, of which a 32in Full HD model could well function as a monitor depending on intended use.

A good TN LED is only worth it if you can't afford better, TBH. Personally I'd always go for CCFL-backlit PVA/IPS over LED-backlit TN - but then as a digital artist I'm an image quality snob.


June 9, 2010, 8:37 pm

@Ian - I think the only LED monitor I've heard of with an IPS panel, is the Apple LED Cinema Display, but that's £649! And I suppose TN panels will only continue to improve and can be worth it, as you say. You'll have to report back on the LG - I hope it turns out to be a very good monitor.

(Off-topic - I always knew one day an ad would come along that would make me glad I'd turned off ad-blocking, and the MSI Wind front-page one is that advert :) )


June 9, 2010, 10:28 pm

Even with Adblock plus it's still there. I'd always go for a VA or an IPS monitor, there is no way I could go back to a TN model.


June 10, 2010, 1:35 pm


Amen, brother :)


June 10, 2010, 2:12 pm

@Ian Yates:

Too late to return the W2486L?

And if you want a good-quality LCD, have you considered the Samsung F2380 mentioned towards the end of the review?


June 10, 2010, 8:11 pm

@Ardjuna - I suppose there's the 7 day cooling off period if the monitor's already come? But, is a good quality PVA/IPS monitor really that much better then a TN one? I've always heard this to be true (reading reviews on TR) but have never seen one in the flesh to compare. My next monitor though will be PVA/IPS based hopefully.

Ian Yates

June 11, 2010, 4:32 pm

@everyone - Don't make me sad :(

I did look at the F2380, but I really wanted 1080p support.

I'm happy with the W2486L - not ecstatic, but I think it's good for the price I paid.

Coming from a CCFL TN monitor using D-SUB (c. 2004), it's a brilliantly crisp and fast image. That could be partly the DVI connection, of course, but I think the colour reproduction (at the right angle) is better.

Biggest disappointment is the vertical viewing angle (horizontal is fine) - massive distortion within a few degrees of straight on.

But it's stylish and games look great on it, so I'm happy.

Maybe I'll fork out for a PVA/IPS next year as a second and see if I need to seel this one ;)

Robert W. Desrosiers

June 13, 2010, 7:22 pm

What is there to like? No HDMI, no 1080p no USB hub....I think my new Dell SP2309W is head and shoulders above this Samsung and the Dell has a fully adjustable stand, great contrast to put it simply, it's awesome for the price I paid $249 US



June 15, 2010, 8:46 pm


Sorry for the late reply. Yes, some companies even have a 10-day cooling-off period. And yes, it's a huge difference, especially if you're into imaging. I recently convinced a gamer friend to replace his TN with a PVA, and he was amazed by how much better his new screen was.

@Ian Yates:

The F2380 DOES support 1080p! It sports a Full HD resolution and supports HDCP over DVI - essentially it's like an HDMI port that won't take audio.

@Robert W. Desrosiers:

1) With a cheap (£3-5) adapter you can plug an HDMI cable into this monitor's DVI connector.

2) IT DOES 1080p (Full HD = 1080p) - why/where are you getting the idea that it can't?

3) No USB hub is spot-on though :)

comments powered by Disqus