Home » Computing » Monitor » Samsung SyncMaster BX2240

Samsung SyncMaster BX2240 review

Ardjuna Seghers

By
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

8/10

Review Price £153.22

We've been a little disappointed with the LED-backlit monitors we've reviewed to date. All of them, including theBenQ V2220, Iiyama ProLite E2472HD and BenQ G222HDL (which won an award on account of its excellent value), have essentially been budget TN displays with limited connectivity, rudimentary ergonomic adjustability and mediocre image quality. Today we're taking a look at a monitor that might change all that: the LED-backlit Samsung SyncMaster BX2240.

Yet another Full HD, 21.5in, TN-based monitor, the business-oriented BX2240 sets itself apart with a fully-adjustable chassis that emphasizes form over function, and what at first glance appears to be some of the best image quality we've seen from this type of panel in a while. We're cautiously optimistic.

Our BX2240 came very securely packaged with power, VGA and DVI cables, in addition to a quick-start guide and driver CD. The monitor itself comes in two parts: the screen with attached leg, and the base. Putting them together is as simple as can be, and after tightening a thumb-screw they fit securely. Finally you need to remove a metal pin to release the spring-action, height-adjustable stand.

In terms of design we really like the BX2240. Being aimed at business users, it thankfully eschews the fingerprint and dust-loving glossy finish found on too many other LCD monitors for a uniform lightly-textured matt black that holds up far better to wear and tear, and requires less maintenance too.

While not as anorexic as most LED-backlit monitors we've come across, the BX2240 is still a relatively slim 3cm at its edges, and features a lovely thin 1.7cm bezel (extending to 2cm at its base). Combined with its pivot abilities, this makes the BX2240's chassis good for multi-monitor setups, though viewing angles will obviously play an important role here.

Adjustability is quite simply the best we've seen on a TN panel-based monitor since the excellent BenQ G2200WT. The solid, rounded leg allows for a generous amount of height adjustment, lifting the monitor's base from 3.5cm to a comfortable 13.5cm off your desk. This immediately puts Samsung's contender into a class of its own, as with most budget equivalents you need a stack of magazines to alter your monitor's height. In addition there's a large degree of tilt both backwards and forwards, nearly 90 degrees of swivel in both directions and, last but not least, pivot. Impressive stuff.

Next page

Ian Yates

June 8, 2010, 8:44 pm

You're kidding me?


I've been after a decent widescreen LED TFT for ages. TRs lacklustre reviews meant I hadn't done it - until yesterday! And now you've reviewed this!





Ho hum. I went for a LG W2486L in the end (30% off); so fingers crossed it isn't too disappointing.

Pbryanw

June 9, 2010, 1:38 am

@Ian Yates - Hehe, know the feeling - there's always something better out there with tech - I think buyer's regret is the norm when buying gadgets.





On monitors - I'm still waiting for a 22 or 24" LED backlit monitor based on PVA or IPS technology, have any been released yet?

Ian Yates

June 9, 2010, 6:35 pm

@Pbryanw I looked for PVA/IPS but couldn't find anything.


As this review says, though, a good TN LED can still be worth it.

TechVegan

June 9, 2010, 8:18 pm

@Pbryanw & Ian Yates:


This is available, but at the moment only in an iMac as far as I'm aware. There have been rumors that Apple is planning a dedicated 27in LED-backlit IPS Cinema display, pretty much a 27in iMac without the Mac :)


Of course there are always LED-backlit televisions based on PVA and IPS, of which a 32in Full HD model could well function as a monitor depending on intended use.





A good TN LED is only worth it if you can't afford better, TBH. Personally I'd always go for CCFL-backlit PVA/IPS over LED-backlit TN - but then as a digital artist I'm an image quality snob.

Pbryanw

June 9, 2010, 8:37 pm

@Ian - I think the only LED monitor I've heard of with an IPS panel, is the Apple LED Cinema Display, but that's £649! And I suppose TN panels will only continue to improve and can be worth it, as you say. You'll have to report back on the LG - I hope it turns out to be a very good monitor.





(Off-topic - I always knew one day an ad would come along that would make me glad I'd turned off ad-blocking, and the MSI Wind front-page one is that advert :) )

Mattj

June 9, 2010, 10:28 pm

Even with Adblock plus it's still there. I'd always go for a VA or an IPS monitor, there is no way I could go back to a TN model.

TechVegan

June 10, 2010, 1:35 pm

@Mattj:


Amen, brother :)

TechVegan

June 10, 2010, 2:12 pm

@Ian Yates:


Too late to return the W2486L?


And if you want a good-quality LCD, have you considered the Samsung F2380 mentioned towards the end of the review?

Pbryanw

June 10, 2010, 8:11 pm

@Ardjuna - I suppose there's the 7 day cooling off period if the monitor's already come? But, is a good quality PVA/IPS monitor really that much better then a TN one? I've always heard this to be true (reading reviews on TR) but have never seen one in the flesh to compare. My next monitor though will be PVA/IPS based hopefully.

Ian Yates

June 11, 2010, 4:32 pm

@everyone - Don't make me sad :(





I did look at the F2380, but I really wanted 1080p support.


I'm happy with the W2486L - not ecstatic, but I think it's good for the price I paid.





Coming from a CCFL TN monitor using D-SUB (c. 2004), it's a brilliantly crisp and fast image. That could be partly the DVI connection, of course, but I think the colour reproduction (at the right angle) is better.


Biggest disappointment is the vertical viewing angle (horizontal is fine) - massive distortion within a few degrees of straight on.


But it's stylish and games look great on it, so I'm happy.





Maybe I'll fork out for a PVA/IPS next year as a second and see if I need to seel this one ;)

Robert W. Desrosiers

June 13, 2010, 7:22 pm

What is there to like? No HDMI, no 1080p no USB hub....I think my new Dell SP2309W is head and shoulders above this Samsung and the Dell has a fully adjustable stand, great contrast to put it simply, it's awesome for the price I paid $249 US


rwd

TechVegan

June 15, 2010, 8:46 pm

@Pbryanw:


Sorry for the late reply. Yes, some companies even have a 10-day cooling-off period. And yes, it's a huge difference, especially if you're into imaging. I recently convinced a gamer friend to replace his TN with a PVA, and he was amazed by how much better his new screen was.





@Ian Yates:


The F2380 DOES support 1080p! It sports a Full HD resolution and supports HDCP over DVI - essentially it's like an HDMI port that won't take audio.





@Robert W. Desrosiers:


1) With a cheap (£3-5) adapter you can plug an HDMI cable into this monitor's DVI connector.


2) IT DOES 1080p (Full HD = 1080p) - why/where are you getting the idea that it can't?


3) No USB hub is spot-on though :)

comments powered by Disqus