Samsung SyncMaster BX2240 pictures

1 of 7 pictures

Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
Samsung SyncMaster BX2240

7 Pictures - Samsung SyncMaster BX2240

  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Samsung SyncMaster BX2240
  • Bx2240 21.5 LED Monitor

Ian Yates

June 8, 2010, 8:44 pm

You're kidding me?


I've been after a decent widescreen LED TFT for ages. TRs lacklustre reviews meant I hadn't done it - until yesterday! And now you've reviewed this!





Ho hum. I went for a LG W2486L in the end (30% off); so fingers crossed it isn't too disappointing.

Pbryanw

June 9, 2010, 1:38 am

@Ian Yates - Hehe, know the feeling - there's always something better out there with tech - I think buyer's regret is the norm when buying gadgets.





On monitors - I'm still waiting for a 22 or 24" LED backlit monitor based on PVA or IPS technology, have any been released yet?

Ian Yates

June 9, 2010, 6:35 pm

@Pbryanw I looked for PVA/IPS but couldn't find anything.


As this review says, though, a good TN LED can still be worth it.

TechVegan

June 9, 2010, 8:18 pm

@Pbryanw & Ian Yates:


This is available, but at the moment only in an iMac as far as I'm aware. There have been rumors that Apple is planning a dedicated 27in LED-backlit IPS Cinema display, pretty much a 27in iMac without the Mac :)


Of course there are always LED-backlit televisions based on PVA and IPS, of which a 32in Full HD model could well function as a monitor depending on intended use.





A good TN LED is only worth it if you can't afford better, TBH. Personally I'd always go for CCFL-backlit PVA/IPS over LED-backlit TN - but then as a digital artist I'm an image quality snob.

Pbryanw

June 9, 2010, 8:37 pm

@Ian - I think the only LED monitor I've heard of with an IPS panel, is the Apple LED Cinema Display, but that's £649! And I suppose TN panels will only continue to improve and can be worth it, as you say. You'll have to report back on the LG - I hope it turns out to be a very good monitor.





(Off-topic - I always knew one day an ad would come along that would make me glad I'd turned off ad-blocking, and the MSI Wind front-page one is that advert :) )

Mattj

June 9, 2010, 10:28 pm

Even with Adblock plus it's still there. I'd always go for a VA or an IPS monitor, there is no way I could go back to a TN model.

TechVegan

June 10, 2010, 1:35 pm

@Mattj:


Amen, brother :)

TechVegan

June 10, 2010, 2:12 pm

@Ian Yates:


Too late to return the W2486L?


And if you want a good-quality LCD, have you considered the Samsung F2380 mentioned towards the end of the review?

Pbryanw

June 10, 2010, 8:11 pm

@Ardjuna - I suppose there's the 7 day cooling off period if the monitor's already come? But, is a good quality PVA/IPS monitor really that much better then a TN one? I've always heard this to be true (reading reviews on TR) but have never seen one in the flesh to compare. My next monitor though will be PVA/IPS based hopefully.

Ian Yates

June 11, 2010, 4:32 pm

@everyone - Don't make me sad :(





I did look at the F2380, but I really wanted 1080p support.


I'm happy with the W2486L - not ecstatic, but I think it's good for the price I paid.





Coming from a CCFL TN monitor using D-SUB (c. 2004), it's a brilliantly crisp and fast image. That could be partly the DVI connection, of course, but I think the colour reproduction (at the right angle) is better.


Biggest disappointment is the vertical viewing angle (horizontal is fine) - massive distortion within a few degrees of straight on.


But it's stylish and games look great on it, so I'm happy.





Maybe I'll fork out for a PVA/IPS next year as a second and see if I need to seel this one ;)

Robert W. Desrosiers

June 13, 2010, 7:22 pm

What is there to like? No HDMI, no 1080p no USB hub....I think my new Dell SP2309W is head and shoulders above this Samsung and the Dell has a fully adjustable stand, great contrast to put it simply, it's awesome for the price I paid $249 US


rwd

TechVegan

June 15, 2010, 8:46 pm

@Pbryanw:


Sorry for the late reply. Yes, some companies even have a 10-day cooling-off period. And yes, it's a huge difference, especially if you're into imaging. I recently convinced a gamer friend to replace his TN with a PVA, and he was amazed by how much better his new screen was.





@Ian Yates:


The F2380 DOES support 1080p! It sports a Full HD resolution and supports HDCP over DVI - essentially it's like an HDMI port that won't take audio.





@Robert W. Desrosiers:


1) With a cheap (£3-5) adapter you can plug an HDMI cable into this monitor's DVI connector.


2) IT DOES 1080p (Full HD = 1080p) - why/where are you getting the idea that it can't?


3) No USB hub is spot-on though :)

comments powered by Disqus