Samsung Series 7 UE40B7020 40in LED LCD TV - Samsung UE40B7020

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Samsung Series 7 UE40B7020 40in LED LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

With HD I was also relieved to note that the image's sharpness isn't badly affected by motion blur. It's just a pity that the amount of motion blur increases quite a bit when you switch to standard definition pictures.

This is the best reason I came across during my time with the UE40B7020 for stepping up to Samsung's 8000 series. For the flagship 8000 range carries 200Hz processing versus the UE40B7020's 100Hz, and the difference the 200Hz system makes with standard definition in terms of reduced motion blur and resolution is marked.

While we're on the subject of the UE40B7020's 100Hz system, I should point out that you need to take care with its setup if you want to enjoy its benefits without suffering glitchy side effects. Just as well, then, that Samsung has made the system unusually flexible, providing a series of 100Hz 'presets' - including our preferred 'Clear' mode - as well as allowing you to adjust the heaviness of the processing's judder and blur components along a sliding scale to suit your own specific tastes.

As with the 8000 series, my main gripe with the UE40B7020 is the effort needed to get its pictures looking their best. Noise reduction, the 100Hz system, the dynamic contrast system, the black level booster, the edge enhancement tool, the HDMI input level… these are just a few of the features you need to spend time tweaking if you want to get anything like the optimum performance from this TV. The good news, of course, is that the 'optimum performance' level you can finally get to is well and truly worth it…

The UE40B7020's sound isn't nearly as satisfying as its pictures, alas. The set carries two 10W down-firing speakers, but these just don't have the dynamic range or bass capabilities to sound convincing with anything more demanding than The Jeremy Kyle Show.

Verdict

I predicted a couple of years ago that one day LED would rule the TV world, and the UE40B7020 does nothing whatsoever to shake that conviction.

However, as usual with a Samsung TV, it's aggravating that you have to put a little legwork in to get the best out of the UE40B7020. And I really think it's time Samsung put as much effort into improving its TVs' audio as it clearly does revamping their aesthetics every year.

That said, the UE40B7020 really does look sensational, and providing you're willing to tinker with its numerous picture options, it can produce superb pictures for what is a decent price.

PS3½

May 26, 2009, 5:10 pm

Thanks for the review, John. Interesting to hear that 200hz does make a difference.

TheOpsMgr

May 26, 2009, 5:54 pm

So is the only difference between Series 8 and Series 7 the 200Hz? The Samsung UK website doesn't even LIST the series 8... and doesn't allow cross-model comparisons either. Useless. BTW where are you guys with adding a "recommended settings" section to the end of each review so it's easier for everyone to overcome the "none too impressive" out-of-the-box picture settings?

PS3½

May 26, 2009, 7:03 pm

The 8000 series also has a higher contrast ratio, 5,000,000:1 as opposed to 2,000,000:1 for the 7000 series. Samsung UK's website does not seem to be updated very often. You should be able to compare specs of the US website- I think their versions of the 7000 and 8000s have the same specs as ours. Alternatively you could check the German site.

Genaa

May 26, 2009, 8:46 pm

Any views on how the 32in version of the series 7, UE32B7000 stacks up to other 32in screens such as the Philips Cineos 9613D? I saw one of these in Curry's today and was certainly satisfied that the viewing angles would not be a problem, something I am less sure of with the Philips. Also, there appear to be 2 models of the 32in, a B6000 and B7000, is the only difference between these the provision of the DLNA on the B7000? Would welcome folks' thoughts!

RichGtB

May 27, 2009, 9:08 pm

All these choices regarding a 40" TV around the £1000 mark, decisions decisions. Did have my eye on a Sony KDL-40W5500 or KDL-40WE5. Now dont know what to do :-/ Any recommendations up to around the £1200 would be greatly appreciated.

Gorlak

May 27, 2009, 10:02 pm

@Genaa


That's the exact same question I'm interested in! There doesn't seem to be much difference (from Samsung UK's website) between the B6 series and the B7 series...A direct comparison between the LED Samsungs and the Philips 9631D would be very interesting - LCD vs LED...!

Me

May 29, 2009, 2:20 am

@Gorlak - this Samsung TV is LCD don't be fooled by the name "LED". LED is only the type of backlight used rather than a Cold Cathode Fluorescent tube (CCFL). They never used to call their old LCD's CCFL now did they!!

jenseike

May 29, 2009, 10:28 am

when you talk about that deap blacks have you taken in to account that the tv set autodimmes when it gets those deap blacks making white look dull and greyish? I think that is to important to leave out of an review like this. and you cant turn that of without going to the service menu wich makes it false black statement in mine eys

asanka

June 14, 2009, 10:24 pm

Does anyone know anywhere selling the 8 series led. i think i saw one at sefriges today, but they were pretty hard to find. Also, when are the series 9 leds coming out. I am seriuosly thinking about getting the 46" series 8 after seeing the series 7 today. Picture is great and great looking tv too. Think the 240hz of the 8 series is worth the extra. Heard there is a series 9 imminent so i'm wondering if i should hold my horses!

Fred 4

June 18, 2009, 2:53 am

Just checked one out in my local Tesco, well impressed, also saw one in Currys the other day beside a sony 5500. made the sony look washed out and dull. It was playing a blu ray demo disc. Up till now have not been convinced detail not everything, with motion problems, judder and lack of resoultion when panning. Look forward to the next generation of LED, better and when the price comes down might even buy one. LED is riding the wave right now for me. After christmass? just got to convince the wife.

chiandme

July 18, 2009, 8:11 pm

I've just sold my 32" Samsung with a view to upgrade. The new range of LED TV's from Samsung look great, I'm considering the UE40B8000 which you can get online at Dixons for just under £1400... wondering if it worth waiting though and seeing how the technology pans out. Bound to be a series 9 out soon. Or do I consider a cheaper 40" LCD?

Tom 9

August 17, 2009, 5:19 am

I was looking at the Dixons website and there selling the series 7 40" for £1,049.99, as apposed to othere retailers like comet, currys etc who are selling it for round about £1,299..?


Why is this?

croesychick

September 30, 2009, 7:59 pm

There are some cracking buys on the John Lewis website, you also get a free 5yr guarantee with all Electrical purchases - I know where I'll be buying from!

P Dudley

May 29, 2010, 8:32 pm

I bought this TV 2 weeks ago in France, when I now live. Out of the box it was brill. Loved everything about it. Unbeatable picture quality with HD films. 2 weeks on, it switched itself off while I was watching it. I unplugged the power, and plugged it back in. No response. TV just clicks and is dead. I searched the internet for 'samsung led tv clicking' and hey !! hundreds of the same reports of this problem have been reported worldwide. Most times the TV lasted 12 months, but with me 2 weeks. I have taken it back to the shop today, and exchanged it for the new 40" SHARP led tv. I will never buy a samsung again.

DumbeBlonde

July 30, 2013, 1:05 pm

Well, perhaps it was just a bad production run. As is often the case, one hears more of the negative than the positive. I purchased this TV when it first appeared and it's never missed a beat. Last year I purchased the Samsung blueray player and am now about to buy their Soundbar theatre system. I'd recommend Samsung to anyone.

Akinola

August 19, 2013, 7:11 pm

It is showing a demo,which am finding it very difficult to remove.can you please help me out.Samsung Led Series 7

comments powered by Disqus