• Recommended by TR
Samsung Series 7 UE40B7020 40in LED LCD TV


Our Score


User Score


  • Super-slim panel
  • Superb black levels
  • Intense, accurate colours
  • Weak sound


  • Motion blur with SD content

Review Price free/subscription

Key Features: 40-inch 1080p panel; 4 HDMI v1.3 ports; Samsung Internet@TV platform ; 100MHz processing; DLNA

Manufacturer: Samsung

Having been suitably impressed by the first TV from Samsung's premium new LED range, the classy UE46B8000, we turn our attentions today to Samsung's cheaper Series 7 LED range, as represented by the 40in UE40B7020 (or UE40B7020WW to give you its full name).

Aesthetically, the UE40B7020 is almost as pretty as its more expensive sibling. Again it's the screen's remarkable slimness that first catches the eye; thanks to its use of edge-mounted LED backlighting, it's under 30mm deep at its deepest point - a particularly startling achievement when you consider that Samsung has somehow managed to fit digital and analogue tuners into such a tiny space. Suddenly all those arguments we've heard from manufacturers who say you have to use external tuner boxes with super slim TVs seem rather less convincing.

The transparent neck attachment to the desktop stand is very pretty too, and the platinum black bezel's almost glass-like finish is given extra elegance by the way the glass top-sheet extends out beyond the black section's edge, to give the TV a transparent outer trim.

Personally I felt that the metallic desktop stand and more prism-like edging on the 8000 series give it a slight aesthetic edge, but the UE40B7020 is still a joy to behold.

When it comes to connections, the UE40B7020 matches its costlier sibling all the way. Which is rather good news, since it means you get an excellent roster that includes four HDMIs, a D-Sub PC port, two USB ports - both able to play video as well as MP3 and JPEG files - and a LAN port.

The screen's slenderness makes it impossible for the TV to fit a SCART socket onto its rear. But if you've still got sources that demand SCART connections, don't worry; Samsung includes a SCART adaptor with the TV for free.

As with the 8000 series, the UE40B7020's LAN port serves two purposes. First, you can use it to access files on a DLNA-certified PC. Second, you can use it to access Samsung's ring-fenced corner of the Internet, containing services like YouTube, Flickr, and various news, weather and financial reports.

I've just summed Samsung's 'Internet@TV' service up rather more briefly than it deserves, frankly, to save space and unnecessary repetition from other recent Samsung reviews. But please be under no illusion that while no match for full Internet access, Samsung's online proposition - driven by the brand's exclusive (until September) hook up with Yahoo Widgets - is streets ahead of anything currently offered by any rival brand we've seen.

If you're thinking at this point that having to hardwire the TV to your router seems a bit old-fashioned, then fear not; for an extra £20 or so you can procure yourself a USB-based dongle that enables you to connect the TV to your router wirelessly.

Next page


May 26, 2009, 5:10 pm

Thanks for the review, John. Interesting to hear that 200hz does make a difference.


May 26, 2009, 5:54 pm

So is the only difference between Series 8 and Series 7 the 200Hz? The Samsung UK website doesn't even LIST the series 8... and doesn't allow cross-model comparisons either. Useless. BTW where are you guys with adding a "recommended settings" section to the end of each review so it's easier for everyone to overcome the "none too impressive" out-of-the-box picture settings?


May 26, 2009, 7:03 pm

The 8000 series also has a higher contrast ratio, 5,000,000:1 as opposed to 2,000,000:1 for the 7000 series. Samsung UK's website does not seem to be updated very often. You should be able to compare specs of the US website- I think their versions of the 7000 and 8000s have the same specs as ours. Alternatively you could check the German site.


May 26, 2009, 8:46 pm

Any views on how the 32in version of the series 7, UE32B7000 stacks up to other 32in screens such as the Philips Cineos 9613D? I saw one of these in Curry's today and was certainly satisfied that the viewing angles would not be a problem, something I am less sure of with the Philips. Also, there appear to be 2 models of the 32in, a B6000 and B7000, is the only difference between these the provision of the DLNA on the B7000? Would welcome folks' thoughts!


May 27, 2009, 9:08 pm

All these choices regarding a 40" TV around the £1000 mark, decisions decisions. Did have my eye on a Sony KDL-40W5500 or KDL-40WE5. Now dont know what to do :-/ Any recommendations up to around the £1200 would be greatly appreciated.


May 27, 2009, 10:02 pm


That's the exact same question I'm interested in! There doesn't seem to be much difference (from Samsung UK's website) between the B6 series and the B7 series...A direct comparison between the LED Samsungs and the Philips 9631D would be very interesting - LCD vs LED...!


May 29, 2009, 2:20 am

@Gorlak - this Samsung TV is LCD don't be fooled by the name "LED". LED is only the type of backlight used rather than a Cold Cathode Fluorescent tube (CCFL). They never used to call their old LCD's CCFL now did they!!


May 29, 2009, 10:28 am

when you talk about that deap blacks have you taken in to account that the tv set autodimmes when it gets those deap blacks making white look dull and greyish? I think that is to important to leave out of an review like this. and you cant turn that of without going to the service menu wich makes it false black statement in mine eys


June 14, 2009, 10:24 pm

Does anyone know anywhere selling the 8 series led. i think i saw one at sefriges today, but they were pretty hard to find. Also, when are the series 9 leds coming out. I am seriuosly thinking about getting the 46" series 8 after seeing the series 7 today. Picture is great and great looking tv too. Think the 240hz of the 8 series is worth the extra. Heard there is a series 9 imminent so i'm wondering if i should hold my horses!

Fred 4

June 18, 2009, 2:53 am

Just checked one out in my local Tesco, well impressed, also saw one in Currys the other day beside a sony 5500. made the sony look washed out and dull. It was playing a blu ray demo disc. Up till now have not been convinced detail not everything, with motion problems, judder and lack of resoultion when panning. Look forward to the next generation of LED, better and when the price comes down might even buy one. LED is riding the wave right now for me. After christmass? just got to convince the wife.


July 18, 2009, 8:11 pm

I've just sold my 32" Samsung with a view to upgrade. The new range of LED TV's from Samsung look great, I'm considering the UE40B8000 which you can get online at Dixons for just under £1400... wondering if it worth waiting though and seeing how the technology pans out. Bound to be a series 9 out soon. Or do I consider a cheaper 40" LCD?

Tom 9

August 17, 2009, 5:19 am

I was looking at the Dixons website and there selling the series 7 40" for £1,049.99, as apposed to othere retailers like comet, currys etc who are selling it for round about £1,299..?

Why is this?


September 30, 2009, 7:59 pm

There are some cracking buys on the John Lewis website, you also get a free 5yr guarantee with all Electrical purchases - I know where I'll be buying from!

P Dudley

May 29, 2010, 8:32 pm

I bought this TV 2 weeks ago in France, when I now live. Out of the box it was brill. Loved everything about it. Unbeatable picture quality with HD films. 2 weeks on, it switched itself off while I was watching it. I unplugged the power, and plugged it back in. No response. TV just clicks and is dead. I searched the internet for 'samsung led tv clicking' and hey !! hundreds of the same reports of this problem have been reported worldwide. Most times the TV lasted 12 months, but with me 2 weeks. I have taken it back to the shop today, and exchanged it for the new 40" SHARP led tv. I will never buy a samsung again.


July 30, 2013, 1:05 pm

Well, perhaps it was just a bad production run. As is often the case, one hears more of the negative than the positive. I purchased this TV when it first appeared and it's never missed a beat. Last year I purchased the Samsung blueray player and am now about to buy their Soundbar theatre system. I'd recommend Samsung to anyone.


August 19, 2013, 7:11 pm

It is showing a demo,which am finding it very difficult to remove.can you please help me out.Samsung Led Series 7

comments powered by Disqus