Samsung R590 video review

Andy Vandervell



Read the full Samsung R590 review

A powerful, flexible and good-looking laptop, the R590 can service all your computing needs without breaking the bank.

More Laptop Videos


September 30, 2010, 4:06 pm

Whilst the express slot allows usb 3 expansion, so did a laptop built 5 years ago. Had this unit had usb 3 as standard it would have been a surefire purchase for me.


September 30, 2010, 7:52 pm

@Andy - How do you at TR decide what overall score to give to a reviewed product? Is it an average of the scores in the other categories, or does every reviewer have their own system?

I'm asking because I realized that the average score in the first five categories for the Samsung R590 is 8.0, yet you gave it an overall score of 9/10.

I was actually wondering about this yesterday when Ardjuna posted the review on the Asus O!Play HD2. It got a 9/10 on everything except design, where it only got a 6/10. It brought the average down to 8.25, and the O!Play HD2 received an overall score of 8/10.

I actually feel like the Asus should have gotten a 9/10 overall, since the only category where it didn't get a 9/10 was in Design, which is arguably the most subjective of all categories. Especially as long as the design doesn't actually make it harder to use the device in the way it was intended. And I can't see it causing any problems there.

The Samsung R590 on the other hand, fell a little short on Battery Life, bringing the average down to 8.0. To me, this would seem to be a much better reason to keep the overall score at 8/10, since battery life will be the same for everyone regardless of their personal tastes.

So let me know what you and Ardjuna think, and hopefully I'll gain a better understanding for how you determine the overall scores in the reviews on TR.



September 30, 2010, 10:19 pm

I don't think battery life is so important in a desktop replacement laptop like this. Your not likely to take it far from a socket anyway.


October 1, 2010, 12:25 am

Agree with ite1000 - you only need 20 minutes or so battery so you can carry on playing Battlefield 2 on the toilet ;-)


October 1, 2010, 3:52 pm


Currently you will only find USB 3.0 on niche and/or high end laptops.

Samsung produce for the mass market and at the moment, it will cost more to include USB 3.0 (licence) and as the majority of people who will buy this laptop wont have a requirement for USB3 yet, it's not really a must have feature.

USB3 products are also more expensive to buy compared to USB2 so the number of people choosing USB3 will be small. I'm sure we will see more of USB3 next year.


October 2, 2010, 1:02 am

the only reason this laptop doesn't have USB 3 is simply because intel doesnt have any reference designs for the motherboard that include USB 3, without them the manufacturer has to physically add in the USB 3 controler on the motherboard or as an add on, both add to the price.

therefore I'm inclined to blame intel for the lack of USB 3 in the consumer PC market than any manufacturer


October 26, 2010, 5:26 pm

Although PC World are the priciest supplier, their version has an INFERIOR graphics card, a 310. Buyer beware!

comments powered by Disqus