Home / Computing / Laptop / Samsung R590 / Performance, Battery Life and Verdict

Samsung R590 - Performance, Battery Life and Verdict

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell

Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score:

9

As discussed earlier in the review, the R590 is actually faster than another Samsung laptop, the Q530, despite the two costing more or less the same. Indeed, the R590 even outperforms the Asus N53Jn, which can be had for around £1,000. Admittedly it has more features than the Samsung, but it shows you're getting good performance for the money.

In practice, the R590 is the kind of machine that can genuinely replace a desktop. It won't break sweat with day-to-day computing tasks, and is fast enough to tackle more demanding tasks like photo editing and video encoding. It's an all-round workhorse.

This applies equally to games, where the R590 also performs well. It registered good results in both our tests, though the more demanding Stalker: Call of Pripyat demonstrates you'll need to stick to medium detail settings for the latest games. Less demanding titles, on the other hand, won't pose any meaningful challenges.

Battery life isn't very long, registering around three hours of productivity, but a fair way short of two of DVD playback. Reduce the brightness and you'll get a little more than this, but the reflective screen demands a slightly higher brightness than other laptops.

Mediocre battery life is easily forgiven, however, as in every other respect the R590 is a very good laptop and a great deal to boot. Some may find the colourful finish, and its all-round glossiness, off putting, but if not then it's definitely worth a look.

Verdict

A powerful, flexible and good-looking laptop, the R590 can service all your computing needs without breaking the bank.

james1000

September 30, 2010, 4:06 pm

Whilst the express slot allows usb 3 expansion, so did a laptop built 5 years ago. Had this unit had usb 3 as standard it would have been a surefire purchase for me.

JK

September 30, 2010, 7:52 pm

@Andy - How do you at TR decide what overall score to give to a reviewed product? Is it an average of the scores in the other categories, or does every reviewer have their own system?





I'm asking because I realized that the average score in the first five categories for the Samsung R590 is 8.0, yet you gave it an overall score of 9/10.


I was actually wondering about this yesterday when Ardjuna posted the review on the Asus O!Play HD2. It got a 9/10 on everything except design, where it only got a 6/10. It brought the average down to 8.25, and the O!Play HD2 received an overall score of 8/10.





I actually feel like the Asus should have gotten a 9/10 overall, since the only category where it didn't get a 9/10 was in Design, which is arguably the most subjective of all categories. Especially as long as the design doesn't actually make it harder to use the device in the way it was intended. And I can't see it causing any problems there.


The Samsung R590 on the other hand, fell a little short on Battery Life, bringing the average down to 8.0. To me, this would seem to be a much better reason to keep the overall score at 8/10, since battery life will be the same for everyone regardless of their personal tastes.





So let me know what you and Ardjuna think, and hopefully I'll gain a better understanding for how you determine the overall scores in the reviews on TR.





Cheers!

lte1000

September 30, 2010, 10:19 pm

I don't think battery life is so important in a desktop replacement laptop like this. Your not likely to take it far from a socket anyway.

ChrisC

October 1, 2010, 12:25 am

Agree with ite1000 - you only need 20 minutes or so battery so you can carry on playing Battlefield 2 on the toilet ;-)

TL1210

October 1, 2010, 3:52 pm

@James100





Currently you will only find USB 3.0 on niche and/or high end laptops.





Samsung produce for the mass market and at the moment, it will cost more to include USB 3.0 (licence) and as the majority of people who will buy this laptop wont have a requirement for USB3 yet, it's not really a must have feature.





USB3 products are also more expensive to buy compared to USB2 so the number of people choosing USB3 will be small. I'm sure we will see more of USB3 next year.

Jay4d0

October 2, 2010, 1:02 am

the only reason this laptop doesn't have USB 3 is simply because intel doesnt have any reference designs for the motherboard that include USB 3, without them the manufacturer has to physically add in the USB 3 controler on the motherboard or as an add on, both add to the price.





therefore I'm inclined to blame intel for the lack of USB 3 in the consumer PC market than any manufacturer

Carnochan

October 26, 2010, 5:26 pm

Although PC World are the priciest supplier, their version has an INFERIOR graphics card, a 310. Buyer beware!

comments powered by Disqus