Samsung Q210 12.1in Centrino 2 Notebook - Samsung Q210

Andy Vandervell

By Andy Vandervell



Our Score:


Having dealt with all the cosmetic changes, it's now time to talk technology. There are currently two Q210 models on sale whose only core difference is the processor. We're looking at the more expensive option, the NP-Q210-AS02UK, which retails from between £675 and £715 inc. VAT depending on where you look. A cheaper model, the NP-Q210-FSS0UK, uses an older 2.0GHz T5750 Core 2 Duo and has list prices ranging from £575 to £615.

Our sample, however, features a new Intel Core 2 Duo P8400 CPU that runs at 2.26GHz with a 1,066MHz front side bus, up from 800MHz on previous generation machines, and with 3MB L2 Cache. It's also part of a new range of medium voltage processors that feature a 25W TDP (Thermal Design Power) instead of the typical 35W. This is a potentially great development for smaller notebooks like the Q210, since it allows for superior battery life and thermal output without taking a significant hit on performance - for a full list of the new processors see: Intel Centrino 2 Mobile Platform Detailed.

Indeed, we found the Q210 did run quite cool. At idle the system registered a running temperature of 43 degrees Celsius, rising to a maximum of 60C during a prolonged stress test. These are quite acceptable levels and the Q210 remains comfortably cool on your lap, even when performing relatively taxing tasks.

You won't be disappointed by the overall feature set, either. System memory totals an ample 3GBs and there's a large 320GB 5400rpm SATA hard drive, more than enough for sizable music and video collections. There's also the usual 8x DVD+/-RW optical drive, though LightScribe label burning is a nice added bonus. For graphics there's an nVidia 9200M GS with 256MB of dedicated memory that's just about good enough for casual gaming, but nothing more.

Network connectivity is strong. You get Gigabit Ethernet and there's a still a standard modem for those that need it, but the highlight is the Wireless-N capable Intel Wi-Fi module. Though it has taken a while to come to fruition you can now expect to see all new Centrino 2 branded laptops to be Wireless-N compliant. Rounding things off is Bluetooth 2.0+ EDR for easy connectivity between other mobile devices.


August 1, 2008, 3:44 pm

I dont think ive seen a laptop with a touch of red before.. Im liking it, looks really smart.


September 5, 2008, 2:08 am

I don't like it! The red, it looks like the laptop is bruised!


October 4, 2008, 12:10 pm

I can't wait for the price of this machine to drop, and yes the shiny red is cool but messy !


December 1, 2008, 7:21 am

Trying to decide which one to get out of this and the Q310.

Sven Okonomi

December 28, 2008, 5:37 am

I can apreciate this notebook, just like I apreciate a classic car. ;) Its got a sweet deep red curvy look and a black bonnet all shined, just like a car. This puppy just needs alot of love to keep looking pristine. But if you do keep it clean youll have yourself one of the more elegant ultramobiles out there. I dont think samsung is aiming for the boring office crowd with this one, or it would have been black and featureless. Its appealing to gamers and geeks, a shiny hitech gadget to show off with. ;) One of these under your arm is a geek badge of honor.

Im quite shocked by the batterylife these overgrown netbooks can still grunt out with a nVidia chip thats constantly on duty. I origionally planned on getting an Asus 1000H, purely because of all of the more powerfull ultramobiles being so misserably impaired by the short lived or otherwise massive batteries, but this one shows me it can be different.

Im gearing towards buying this one right now, as this seems to be the ultimate portable gamestation for under that ugly 1000 euro marker. Its the only truely gamegeared portable I can find without going to the lumpy heavy 15" range.

One question though, is the recharger as magnificantly small as the netbooks that seem to use the same size batteries? Or is this one already sporting the usuall wired brick?


January 26, 2009, 1:03 am

Less than 6 months down the line and it seems impossible to get this laptop with the spec reviewed! What's going on? Plenty of Q210s around, but all with a much inferior processor (T6400 which, incidentally, I can find absolutely NO reference to on Intel's web page). What's worse is that the inferior models are priced the same or even higher than this one. When I questioned one large online retailer about why the out-of-stock model with the 2.26ghz P8400 processor (as reviewed) was priced exactly the same as the inferior T6400 model on their website, the response was that pricing wasn’t really much to do with spec but more to do with what’s in stock and what the demand is like. Great.

Anyone know why this laptop seems to have disappeared so quickly?

Gary H

March 11, 2009, 12:56 pm

I bought a Q40 when they first came out and it has been fantastic so as I am now changing it I am definitely going for the Q210 in my opinion you have to go a long way to beat Samsung's lightweight notebooks and for the price.

Gary H

March 11, 2009, 5:24 pm

DavidW Amazon have the T6400


April 1, 2009, 8:17 pm

DavidW, I'm having the same problem! My guess is that Samsung have changed their mind and holding the P series processors over for their next Q model, whils putting them in their lower-specced-in-every-other-way P210 laptop, aimed at business.

comments powered by Disqus