Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

Following last week's Tocco Lite and the 8-megapixel camera toting i8910 from a month ago, I now have Samsung's Jet S8000 in my hands.

Those two previously reviewed handsets represent the top of Samsung's current line-up and its budget model. The Jet lies somewhere between the two and while it has a lot of good stuff going for it including a hand-friendly size and a super, bright, AMOLED screen, one of the things Samsung has decided to really shout about is the processor.

We're quite used to seeing PDA style smartphones touting processor speeds, but smartphones that have stepped up from ordinary 'mobile phone land' don't usually bother to push that particular facet of their make-up. However, Samsung reckons the 800MHz 'application processor' at the heart of the Jet is worthy of its own place in the phone's specs list.

The point is that the processor should deliver jerk-free, seamless application running. Indeed, I found it quick to launch apps and generally responsive under the fingers, so thumbs up to that processor. Video fans may especially like the fact that video playback/recording is supported at 30fps and that MPEG4, H263, H.264, WMV, DivX and XviD files are supported. The nippy processor ensured jerk-free viewing too.

There is a lot more good stuff here, though. Nothing pushes boundaries beyond what I've seen before, but the overall package is quite compelling.

Physically this is a small and neat handset. Its black and silver livery is given that little something extra by a red piping to the backplate that varies in intensity depending on how the light catches it. It weighs a very acceptable 110g and measures just 108.9mm x 53.5mm x 11.9mm. In my book this makes it a great size for the hand and pocket, though, obviously, there isn't room for one of those enormous screens that characterise many full touch-screened mobiles.

But the screen is big enough at 3.1in and its AMOLED technology ensures it is sharp and bright. Moreover, the 480 x 800 pixels on offer are packed tightly ensuring crispness is brought to proceedings.

Touch support is good too, with the screen responsive enough to my taps and sweeps to keep me happy despite being resistive rather than capacitive. Text entry, incidentally, uses a full QWERTY keyboard when the screen is in landscape mode - and the phone's motions sensor ensures automatic flipping between landscape and portrait modes.

In portrait mode, a numberpad with predictive text is the best option on offer. There are a couple of different handwriting recognition modes in this screen orientation, too, and you use these by dragging a fingernail on screen to form words, but frankly you need to work too slowly for this method to be of any real use.

Next page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


July 24, 2009, 4:43 pm

I'm guessing Gordon still doesn't like it though :D.


July 24, 2009, 5:13 pm

@drdark I have to admit - from an alternative perspective this is the worst handset I've used since the original Samsung Omnia (excluding the Toshiba TG01). I understand Sandra's points however so I can see why it would appeal to others - something I hadn't appreciated before - but personally I really dislike the Jet.

Matt G Baish

July 24, 2009, 5:23 pm

@Gordon - to give us a better idea of why you dislike this phone can you give us a top 5 things you think are rubbish about it? I had not considered this phone before Sandra's review but she makes it sound just like what I need for the next couple of years. (I had been considering the HTC Hero but @ £400 quid for something that `could do better` I think I`ll save a bit of money & wait until HTC do a better one).


July 24, 2009, 5:54 pm

Any reasons why Gordon? As I'm looking for views as I'm seriously looking at this to replace my current phone and Cowon S9. And for a very acceptable price it seems to offer all the features I will need on a regular basis and many more I won't, on top of the good media playback abilities (I'm sure it won't be as good as the S9, but I'm tired of missing calls due to listening from my S9 :P )


July 24, 2009, 5:56 pm

haha, I'm with Gordon on this handset, whilst I like it's size it's UI is horrible.

Just goes to show how subjective a reviews site's opinion can be relative to who's reviewing it. Could you list more info on each phone's OS and price off contract? 'Free on contract' means nothing at all.


July 24, 2009, 6:11 pm

@ lifethroughalens

You can get the Jet free on contract for about £20 a month, though I've found a couple of deals to get it for about £22 p/m with 500mb of 3G data which I think is a pretty good deal.


July 24, 2009, 6:12 pm

I'd be interested in more information about the browser as it was boasted as fully flash supported etc. but the review simply states "pretty good". Is there a veiled comment to "Opera is still better" in there somewhere?;)

All in all, it seems there was frustratingly little time to fully test the handset.

P.S. My brother bought an Omnia earlier this year as it seemed a pretty popular phone, but is now suffering from strange memory errors while having as little as 2 apps open (opera and msn), so in hindsight, I probably should have passed on your warnings!


July 24, 2009, 6:20 pm


Sandra and I have been having a chat about this. In essence our feelings towards the proprietary OS were very different. I simply (is 'hate' too strong a word?) HATED it and I found while applications load quickly they feel under-developed and I didn't get along with the one finger/two step zoom and scrolling system - Sandra did. For me the handset feels cheap in hand and the camera had problems indoors.

In short Sandra and I feel there may have been different ROM versions in our two handsets. So quick rule of thumb: open the stock photos when you try a Jet and try swiping through them. If it stutters and weases like an asthmatic sloth then be sure to check for an upgrade.

That said, this shows just how subjective even professional opinions can be. I'd advise a try before you buy given this is clearly a love/hate mobile phone. Sandra and I do firmly agree on another recent headline handset however: the Toshiba TG01 is horrible!


July 24, 2009, 6:23 pm

@drdark - the browser is Webkit based so that's the same core as Safari, Chrome, mobile Safari on the iPhone and Android handsets. It renders reasonably well but again I found it really stuttered when scrolling around pages. Again I'd suggest trying the phone first because you're likely to side heavily with either Sandra or me.

Let us know how you get on.


July 24, 2009, 6:34 pm

Tell you what, I'll get one in for a video review so that'll be a third opinion for you all and a chance to see the thing in action and decide for yourselves.


July 24, 2009, 6:44 pm

@ Ed, what do you mean "third opinion?" Don't you have to represent Sandras' opinion in the video review? You don't want to confuse readers now do you?


July 24, 2009, 6:47 pm

@Ohmz: Well, there's a bit of give and take. For the most part we do try and ensure our opinions tally up but if there's something I feel strongly about then I'll mention it.


July 24, 2009, 7:06 pm

No offence intended, but Sandra's reviews always seem very 'feminine'. While the boys go into detail, compare figures and sizes Sandra just says "this is ok", "this isn't" - which can either be great or frustrating depending. I think overall though the reviews need to be more detailed and cover more aspects of the phone. Not to mobilereview length, but at least give a decent paragraph for each of the main things people care about these days - call quality, contacts, camera, media abilities, internet (mail, web, FB/twitter integration, etc). Simply saying "this works ok" for any of these sections doesn't give us enough to go on and barely lifts it above a review you'd get in the Sunday papers.

This phone is a prime example of a device that can be great for someone used to dumb phones but sorely lacking for someone using a smartphone or the elegance of an iPhone. So Sandra thinks it's great whereas Gordon finds it sorely lacking. Reviews need consistency.


July 24, 2009, 7:16 pm

@HK - well said.


July 24, 2009, 7:27 pm

Samsung's mobile os is not my fav. Not to mention it lags most of the time - may have improved greatly on jet - the UI, especially to add a new contact etc, is not friendly to me at all. The Cube may look great to some others but to me it's just a waste of resources & energy.

The overall spec of the phone is great, certainly outruns iphone 3gs in many aspects. Though two years just seems too long to stick to it. Apple 4g is on its way...


July 24, 2009, 9:08 pm

P.S. : Putting it under the battery cover, doesn't make it easily accessible. Just really annoying.


July 24, 2009, 10:14 pm

I'm curious about the references to Samsung's proprietary OS... is it not a version of Symbian, as used in the i8910? (It certainly looks similar).


July 24, 2009, 11:22 pm

@ MrGodfrey

As far as I'm aware, the one used in the Jet is a proprietary OS made for Samsungs mid/low range phones. And apart from their Android phones I'm pretty sure their only phone that uses Symbian is the i8910, which they skinned to look like their proprietary OS but have the smartphone capabilities of Symbian.


July 25, 2009, 12:53 am

Well I've had this phone for neally a month now, so just for those that are possibly considering this phone as a a rule, you won't be disappointed. In my opinion the review is pretty much bang on. As said it does just about all things well, at a swift pace. The response on the finger is good which is important to make it feel as an extention of your hand, which for me it now is. Though it does take a couple of weeks to get there.

It's true, it does have a menu too far. It has about 4 or 5 different ways to view the same image, bizarely though one of the ways I do view is by using the multi media cube. A couple of last lead out SE K850i in my kitchen returned 2-3 on the signal strength where as most the time the Jet has none and again, coming from an SE I do miss a dedicated light!


July 25, 2009, 3:55 am

Hey Kezman, say no signal compared to 2-3 is pretty bad ; with same carrier ?


July 27, 2009, 1:41 pm

Yes, same network provider. Though to be fair my initial fears regarding signal strength haven't really materialised. In areas where, for example, my SE phone has returned a strong if not full signal, then this jet will return almost the same with good reception. For me, it's areas that notoriously struggle for signal anyway. The SE would still have voice and txt capability most of the time, where as the Jet seems to be a '100 yard walk' if you know what I mean.

Buried within the camera settings in focus mode, there is a 'Macro' option, TR. Is it possible due to the constraints of review deadlines etc, this got missed? or did you mean something else by 'dedicated'?

Chris Kotulla

October 24, 2009, 12:13 pm

I just recently purchased a Jet and I am over the moon! Must admit though that this is the first of this kind of high tech I purchased and am pleasently surprised by what it offers. I was a bit concerned by Gordon said but find Kezman's comment much more factual and am glad that I decided to get my Jet.


January 10, 2010, 7:30 pm

Hi, I bought this phone last Novemeber. I wanted to make sure I tested it well before writing my review. I think the phone is good for the price you pay. It has Wifi and GPS which is something you don't normally get on phones this cheap.

I've listed some good and bad points about the Samsung Jet to help you decide whether it's the phone for you:

--Good Points--

* Easy to switch on/off bluetooth and wifi (via widgets)

* Camera autofocuses and takes nice photos, also has a flash

* It's a nice size, not as big as other smart phones like iPhone

* Has a standard earphone jack to fit most earphones

* The back of the phone looks awesome with the red stripes

* The phone can run multiple apps at the same time

* There are useful widgets such as facebook, youtube etc

* It is easy to upload a new photo to facebook, picasa, etc

* When typing a text message, you can turn the phone landscape to get a full keyboard.

* Plenty more good points, but will take ages to list them all

--Bad Points--

* When using the camera, if you try and lock the phone without first exiting the camera app, the phone freezes, and the only thing that unfreezes it is to remove the battery or get someone to phone you. If you don't do either of these things, you can wait a minute or two before it unfreezes

* The vibration is very weak. I normally keep my phone in my pocket, and put it on vibrate with no sound. But i find that i don't feel the vibrate, so have to use sound now.


March 19, 2010, 5:23 am

@Kezman "coming from an SE I do miss a dedicated light!"

You have light on the Jet, even if it's a tricky hidden combination, it's usefull sometimes:

- launch the keyboard

- type *#0*#

- then choose "MegaCam" and voilà!

- hang off to turn it off

Hope it helps ;) Cheers.


July 6, 2010, 9:58 pm

I have just got a S8000 and I have to charge it up twice a day it runs down quickly when on standby,as enyone got any ideas what the problem is.

comments powered by Disqus