Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System pictures

1 of 7 pictures

Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System

7 Pictures - Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System

  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System
  • Samsung HT-C6200 2.1-Channel Blu-ray System

Andy 17

May 7, 2010, 11:33 am

Good review, thanks. Very interested in these new Samsung units, any ideas if this is wireless n or g, makes a difference for the DLNA streaming?

asanka

May 7, 2010, 1:31 pm

Been looking for a system to go with my samsung series 8 for ages now. I was tempted to take a look down the separates route. But with this decent enough package I may just settle. Plus separates is a bit pricey and not really worth it if you want 2.1


Opinions?!

Bob

May 8, 2010, 11:21 am

I've got BD-C5500 which is a stand alone Blu-ray player version of this one – all features are the same, but it only has wired internet connection (wireless via additional dongle) and no on-board memory (BD-C6500 has both). It's just over £100, so a decent separates 5.1 system may come down under £500. The player itself is superb (fantastic value too). Even faster loading times than reported here e.g. Apocalypto loads in ~10 seconds (it's not all that rosy: Avatar takes 2-3 min!). I tested the DLNA streaming with HD video 720p MKV, and no problem (BD player on wired, but laptop with source files was connected via 802.11g). So I suspect HT-C6200 would stream via “g” without issues.


There are however some irritating issues which may be shared with HT-C6200 . It's not possible to play music and browse other folders (other than the location of currently played file) – this applies to playback from all: Disc, USB and DLNA. Also the JPEGs are displayed with poor quality. I returned my first player because of the poor JPEGs and the second suffers from the same. All reported to Samsung, which hopefully will be resolved with the next firmware.


(I would be interested to know if HT-C6200 has the same problems)


On the plus side: the nearest competitor i.e. Sony BDP-S370 will not play from USB formatted in NTFS and DLNA is not yet operational – Samsung has no problems with those.

PaulW

May 13, 2010, 11:34 pm

Hmm! I wonder if TR realised before they reviewed the HT-C6200 that its NOT available via Samsung UK? I enquired through a UK Samsung main dealer & they told me that it wasn't available via Samsung UK, so what gives? Are Pixmania "grey" importers? If its not available (or known) by Samsung UK, what sort of warranty is available??

PaulW

May 14, 2010, 2:55 pm

Update to my last comment! It seems that the HT-C6200 is only available via Samsung in Belgium - I found it for 470 Euros, so it looks like Pixmania may be "grey importing" the unit! Given the well reported poor service provided by Pixmania (just google "Pixmania service") I'll wait for Samsung UK to stock this unit. Have to say, given the spec & £500 price it looks like a good piece of kit!

Danny P

May 19, 2010, 8:06 pm

Yes we had it confirmed by Samsung that the system won't be available in the UK, but they told us that after we'd posted the review. Shame, as it's a brilliant little system

PaulW

June 2, 2010, 3:19 pm

@ Danny P - I see today that Amazon UK are selling it @ £499.06 via SotelUK (a German company). Very tempted to buy as I cannot find anything anywhere that comes anywhere near to this piece of kit for £500!

PaulW

June 28, 2010, 1:44 pm

Ok - I have bought one - paid £349 inc DHL delivery & VAT. Verdict: A screaming bargain. The unit is better than expected & at £350 it's a no brainer. As soon as I had set it up on my WiFi network, it automatically downloaded / installed latest firmware!! Avatar on Blu-Ray is simply awsome - sound is amazing. DVD playback is fantastic - Lord of the Rings on DVD was good before but with the HT-C6200's upscaling feature its awsome & the sound track simply fantastic! FM radio, LAN / WiFi connectivity, iPod dock all excellent. Without doubt the best £350 I have spent in a long time. A very happy bunny! :)

comments powered by Disqus