• Recommended by TR
Ricoh Caplio R6


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

In December last year I reviewed what was then Ricoh’s new flagship model, the excellent 7.0-megapixel Caplio R5, featuring a 7.1x zoom lens with a focal length range equivalent to 28-200mm, Ricoh’s own moving-CCD image stabilisation system and a nice high resolution monitor. I was suitably impressed by its combination of performance, features and image quality as well as its outstanding value for money.

However the digital camera market moves very quickly, so just four months later the R5 has been superseded by the R6, which combines all of the features of the R5, adds the latest must have gizmo face detection technology, and somehow manages to cram the whole lot into a compact new body, measuring just 99.6 x 55 x 23.3mm and weighing just 161g including battery and card.

There are few cameras on the market at the moment that even come close to the R6’s specification, and none that can match it on price. It is currently available for just £224.95, which is significantly cheaper than the broadly similar Panasonic TZ3 at £250. The TZ3 has a longer 10x zoom range (28-280mm equiv.) but is both larger and heavier, and has a smaller, lower resolution monitor.

From the moment I got the R6 out of the box I was impressed. Previous Ricoh cameras have been very good, but the styling has always struck me as being a bit industrial. Not so with the R6; the all-metal body is beautifully designed, with some nice touches such as the strap lug and port hatch integrated into the trim on the right end, and the subtly sculpted shape of the thumb-rest area on the back, with its comfortable rubber grip. The control layout is excellent, with everything within easy reach for one-handed operation, but managing at the same time to avoid being cluttered. The zoom control is a rotary collar around the large shutter button (a massive improvement on the R5’s fiddly little rocker switch), and the only controls on the back are the D-pad and four small buttons, so despite the camera’s relatively small size there’s plenty of room for even those with large fingers to hold the camera securely.

Next page

Alistair McCleery

November 21, 2008, 6:47 pm

Hi, I bought the R6 in August 2007, having read this review. Although I was vey pleased with the image quality, I was less impressed with the build quality. In fact within 12 months of purchasing the camera, the lens mechanism had failed three times. (Jammed in the extended position).On the first two occasions, the camera was repaired by Ricoh. The third time, the dealer replaced it with an R8, which promptly failed in exactly the same way. (Oh, and the multifunction button fell off). I have had a look on the web, and I see that others have had similar problems. Ricoh will really need to improve their quality before I am tempted back.

Val Exon

December 3, 2008, 1:31 am

I bought a Ricoh R6 from Keigs Photography in Douglas, Isle of Man 25 September 2007. In the last 12 months, the lens has jammed open 3 times. the first time, it was sent to Ricoh 3 to 4 months ago, and they fixed it stating there was a grain of sand in the lens (we hadnt been near sand), they extended the warranty for another 12 months, 2 months ago, the lens jammed open again, and Keigs Photography fixed it. However, when we went to take pictures of our kids at a special family occasion, the lens jammed open again. I sent Ricoh an email 2 weeks ago, and I keep getting told the Ruby at the Camera dept will phone us, and no one contacts us. Our local shop Keigs keeps saying they cant give us a refund, and Ricoh's aftercare service is rubbish. All we want is our 𧶓 back. We have bought a different make of camera from Jessops and the customer care is excellant.

mike 9

December 3, 2008, 11:29 pm

I bought one in October 2007, my first digital camera. The only mechanical problem I've had is the battery retainer clip breaking off recently, fixed under the extended warranty I bought from Jessops. Jessops said that it was not covered under the manuacturers warranty because it was "accidental damage". My biggest gripe is that the face recognition works no more than 2% of the time, i.e. hardly ever, and the flash is either too strong, giving bleached faces, or too weak, giving the opposite. I have film camera's that cost a fraction of the price that easily out perform it. The zoom and image stabilisation are good. I've got a dslr now, so don't use the Ricoh much.


January 2, 2009, 6:32 pm

I too have suffered from the same stuck lens problem. The camera itself took excellent photos - was very versatile and I was very happy with it for photos. However after 1 year the lens got stuck and was taken to the dealer to resolve. The same thing happened a few months later and once again just before the warranty run out. This led it to being fully serviced by Ricoh for the first time. This did not help as it failed completely the next time I used it.

As it was out of warranty and had completely failed I took the camera apart to see if I could identify the problem. This showed me why the lens failed. The lens mechanism is of the quality of a plastic toy. The many cog mechanisms are made of the same materials used in clockwork toys. Needless to say I will in future be buying a more reliable camera brand.


September 12, 2010, 4:51 pm

About maybe 18 months, i flashed the R6 with their latest firmware:

Honestly the stuck lens issue that i had regularly completely disappeared after that. Reading the comments here actually reminded me of them as i completely forgot about that...

It's also a good practice to use the mini-usb plug on the right side for pc connection. Opening the SD Card/battery slot at the bottom should be done as many little times as possible.

Still working fine here after more than 3 years of use. It's not built like a tank (a couple of scratches now on the sides) but if you don't use brute force or drop it, then there's no reason for the device to stop working properly.

comments powered by Disqus