Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

Here are some general test shots to help evaluate the camera's overall image quality, including dynamic range, colour rendition and the zoom range of the lens. Some pictures may be clicked to download the full size original image.


The wide-angle end is equivalent to 28mm, but this shot is over-exposed.


The telephoto end is equivalent to 300mm.


With the in-camera HDR turned off the dynamic range is a little better than average for a 10MP compact.


The same shot with HDR on shows much more shadow and highlight detail.


Like many Ricoh cameras the CX3 has a 1cm macro range.


The very precise zoom control and on-screen level display allows shots to be framed perfectly.


The HDR setting works well for snow scenes too.


Scores In Detail

Build Quality
Image Quality

Our Score

Previous page
Video Review

Latest Deals From Ebay

  1. Ricoh CX3

    0 bids View Item

Billy Rubin

February 23, 2010, 1:06 pm

I'm very tempted to upgrade from my Ricoh R10 to the CX3, if only it had RAW I'd buy it in a heartbeat.

Ed 3

February 23, 2010, 2:03 pm

Noise at 400 ISO but still gets 9/10 for image quality?


February 23, 2010, 4:00 pm

@Ed: Noise at 400

Yeah, to be honest I was expecting a really good ISO with what is meant to be a new super low light CCD. Surely the biggest problems with compacts is bad ISO, not getting this right really makes the camera stink, OK for outdoor shots but useless for party's etc.

Compare the ISO shots to the Fuji, it's a world apart.

Cliff Smith

February 23, 2010, 4:27 pm

Almost all compact cameras show image noise at 400 ISO. It's how well that noise is controlled, and its effect on overall image quality that counts. Also there's more to image quality than noise.

Ray Hopper

February 23, 2010, 5:49 pm

As an ex-Sony HX1 owner, eagerly looking for a lens-capless alternative, the big downside of the HX1's 10fps was the 17 seconds it took to write to memory. How long is the write-time for the CX3


February 23, 2010, 8:32 pm

HD video on a cmos sensor, i cant stand the jelly effect. what a pointless add-on


February 23, 2010, 10:55 pm

Interesting... pretty much down to this Camera and the incoming Panasonic TZ10. Looking forward to it's review.


February 24, 2010, 8:37 pm

First reviews of TZ10 are worse than TZ7.Still a CCD, CX3 is CMOS, whitnest the difference in speed, it's like using a pentium 3 vs a Icore...

I'm interested in Sony HX5 and Casio FH100, the latter one has very promissing specs, but never have seen a Casio life.

Ray Hopper

February 28, 2010, 6:42 am

BG - I too am interested in the TZ10 (and 8), HX5 and FH100, also the Fuji F80. The Samsung TL350 also has an interesting spec., although only a 5x zoom. Then there's rumours of an LX3 replacement. One of these will be my next carry-round so please Cliff get busy whizzing round Exeter with all of these. (What are you doing down there - thought you were a Brighton man like me !)


March 3, 2010, 11:09 pm

Dodger - I am beginning to think that the CX3 is closing in on the Panasonic TZ series in terms of quality. Especially after the slightly disappointing TZ10 review.

comments powered by Disqus