Home / Gaming / Games / Resistance 2 / Resistance 2

Resistance 2 - Resistance 2

By Stuart Andrews



  • Recommended by TR
Resistance 2


Our Score:


The water effects actually one-up Bioshock for realism. In a way you can see this as Insomniac's attempt to do a sci-fi FPS in its own house style, appropriating the Pixar-quality surface and lighting techniques we've seen in Ratchet and Clank: Tools of Destruction and Quest for Booty and putting them to use in a more realistic action game. Where Resistance looked like a merge of all the games that it was aping, Resistance 2 is a game confident in its own distinct identity.

That identity still isn't particularly original. It won't take you long before you see elements of Halo, Gears of War and Call of Duty, while the way in which the game steers the narrative along can be very reminiscent of Half-Life 2. In fact, the way the game plays with its fifties America setting, using period styles and music, also makes you think of Bioshock at times. All the same, the blend of fifties style, recognisable locations and a gritty, modern take on alien invasion seems a lot more coherent this time around. Insomniac knows what it's doing, and knows how to put not just big, but enormous action set-pieces together.

The majority of these are fantastic. The game begins with a big'un - an assault on an Icelandic base by a huge Chimera walker - and only goes up from there, throwing in some genuinely huge battle sequences, fleets of Chimera battle cruisers attacking San Francisco, some stressful sequences fighting cloaked, flesh-tearing monsters in the backwoods and zombie-like critters in a small mid-Western town, daring raids on Chimera spacecraft and all out war in the canyons of Utah. On top of this the game throws in some of the biggest and most impressive boss battles ever seen in an FPS, featuring a range of beasties that will make you feel very small and very vulnerable indeed.

And in these high points Resistance 2 is the equal of any FPS you've played. It has Half-Life 2's drama, the orchestrated action of {link:http://www.trustedreviews.com/gaming/review/2007/11/14/Call-of-Duty-4-Modern-Warfare/p1 Call of Duty 4 and the epic feel of Halo. On top of this the best feature of Resistance - it's large and ingenious weapon set - is duplicated here, with a heap of guns, each boasting some clever secondary fire mode you can exploit, and each blasting the enemy to smithereens with colorful lashings of gore. If Halo is very much classic space opera then this is its B-movie shadow, splashing around blood, guts and monsters like there's no tomorrow. The Chimera aren't as convincingly intelligent as the Covenant hordes, but they put up a decent fight, and there are always - always - enough of them to give you a tough time.


November 30, 2008, 7:36 am

You know ps3 fanboys are going to have something to say about this review especially because you didnt really like the 1st one.I think R2 is a solid follow-up to the franchise but i cant really comment on whether it is a gears/halo beater(both of which are excellent IPs but highly overrated) I am going to play gears of war 2 this christmas holiday and i hope the campaign story is just as good as people have commented about because gears1 story was just "Good" and nothing more. What made the game great was the re-introduction of the cover system when everyone was using the same old duck n shoot. Until then, R2 is a big winner for the PS3.


November 30, 2008, 9:45 am

I don't understand, why you guys bring Gears 2 when you make a R2 review, R2 is only for the ps3 not on 360, so don't compare it to gears 2 and halo3, and btw R2 and gears 2 and totally different games. and yes R2 is the halo 3 form the ps3 users.

only fanboys compare R2 to gears2 (totally great different games)


November 30, 2008, 12:09 pm

Im sorta a fanboy & i didnt like the first resistance either. i know a good/bad game when i see one.


November 30, 2008, 3:31 pm

Let me get something straight here, if I may, to me, "fanboism" *washes his mouth* is complete nonsense. I completely understand why Trusted Reviews is bringing Gears 2 (and Halo for that matter) to the comparison table, all these games ARE First Person Shooters. I agree, they are different in their own rights but they are FPS at the end of the day and should be compared as such.

I also was one of them people absolutely hating the First Resistance, to the point I gave up on it (didn't stop me from getting the second one though). Where the first game was dull and lacking in the colours department, the second has you huging your screen from the joys it brings. I was really hoping they would restore our faith with R2 and they did! Thank you Insomniac. To me, R2 is the best Sony exclusive FPS. Although, across the board, Gears 2 is my FPS god right now (imo).

Thanks Trusted Reviews for yet another great review.


November 30, 2008, 4:38 pm

@Wilfried - Actually they’re not all FPS games, since Gears is actually a third person shooter, but despite that, all your comments are pretty much spot on.

@ahlanalo - Are you serious? How can you NOT compare R2 to Gears 2? They are both high profile, high octane, platform specific shooters. They even have roughly the same kind of backdrop, and both are attempting to push the boundaries when it comes to online gaming.

The fact that R2 is PS3 specific and Gears 2 is X360 specific is the exact reason that you have to compare them. These are both games that are going to try to tempt consumers to purchase one console or another. Exclusive titles are one of the main reasons for choosing a specific platform. Unfortunately for Sony, Insomniac is one of the only developers bringing anything compelling solely to the PS3 - R2 is a very good game, while Ratchet and Clank is a great one. Throw Naughty Dog’s Uncharted and Little Big Planet into the mix and there are a few exclusive games that make the PS3 worth choosing over the X360.

That said, X360 has a very strong arsenal of exclusive content too, Gears and Gears 2, Halo 3, PGR4, Fable II, Left 4 Dead, Bioshock etc. (ok the last two are on PC too but no other console). So when you’re trying to decide which console to buy, most people would want to know how these big exclusives compare to each other to aid that decision.


November 30, 2008, 5:14 pm

@ Riyad

True about Left 4 Dead and Bioshock not being on the PS3, but Bioshock is coming to the PS3 and Left 4 Dead is much, much better on the PC.


November 30, 2008, 5:46 pm

@ Riyad - Ok, Gears is in between, feels like an over the shoulder type view but I'll give it to you, my bad.

But you should take your comment about Bioshock being a 360 exlusive back before you get bitten by a PS3 fanboy, just saying (note that I am supporting you 110% here).

And also, I absolutely agree with your last comment about the array of games for each platforms that helps people chosing which consoles is best for them.


November 30, 2008, 6:19 pm

@ Wilfried

Too late! Though I'm not sure I can really be classified as a PS3 fanboy, there is a PS3 in my house, but my room mate owns it and I rarely ever use it except to watch video.


November 30, 2008, 6:38 pm

@Gnormie - I know that Bioshock is coming to the PS3, but considering that the game was launched well over a year ago on the X360 and PC does anyone really care? Let's face it, if you really wanted to play Bioshock you would have done so long before the PS3 version appears!


November 30, 2008, 7:54 pm

@ Gnormie - Please accept my apologies, your comment wasn't there when I replied to Riyad. Really wasn't intended at you. I have to admit that, before Resistance 2, I only ever used my PS3 to watch Blu-Rays, like you. It is a shame that there are not that many interesting PS3 exclusives to keep us playing on Sony's beast.


November 30, 2008, 7:57 pm

Sorry forgot to mention that Bioshock has already been out for a little while on the PS3. But Riyad is right, if you really wanted to play it before the PS3 version came out, you would have already done so on either the PC or the 360.


November 30, 2008, 8:19 pm

@ Riyad - True, but I think the developers know that too, wasn't there the news a while back that the PS3 version would include extra content? It's not like I have really used a console since I got a decent enough computer though so it really doesn't bother me either way. As most exclusives on both consoles are outdone by their PC counterparts or are distinctly mediocre (though not saying they aren't a good laugh with friends).


November 30, 2008, 8:59 pm

Extra content featuring a few puzzles, barely exciting, plus what is exclusive nowadays? This content might be coming a PC near you sooner than you think.


December 1, 2008, 6:49 pm

Some peoples reactions to games reviews and comments are so stupidly hilarious it beggars belief. Not only is it just a game (ok, that comment doesn't wash when considering Football Manager) but it's just someones opinion of that said game. Jesus, it's not some nazi state were everyone must have the same opinions on everything! I thought this sort of thing was resigned mostly to IGN discussion boards.

The whole fanboy thing has been a joke since the old Sega vs Nintendo days. Get a life!


December 1, 2008, 11:59 pm

Well the PS3 seems to be a more attractive proposition recently, with HOME and other firmware updates, no matter how much cash Microsoft splashes around ;). Bioshock isn't coming to the PS3, it's been out on PS3 for over a month...and Bioshock 2 will be released on the PS3 from launch. Plus there's the fact that the Halo franchise seems to be dwindling these days after many people were disappointed at the third instalment. Add that to the impending release of Killzone 2 in February, which I can tell you from the beta will stand a very good chance of besting Resistance 2 or, for that matter, any other FPS currently out there. Plus I've been salivating over the full release of GT5 for millennia it seems (although I'm glad PD take their time as the quality and detail of their games is simply unrivalled, and its nice to see that Sony aren't trying to rush it out the door before it's ready). Still one more year to wait though :(. That franchise is the sole reason I bought my PS2 and PS3.


December 2, 2008, 1:54 pm


comments powered by Disqus