Home / Computing / Peripheral / Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse

Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse review




  • Recommended by TR

1 of 7

Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse
  • Razer Mamba Gaming Mouse


Our Score:


Few questions divide opinion among the gaming community more than which is the best gaming mouse. Different shapes, weights, DPI settings, tracking technologies; all of these are up for debate though ultimately are down to personal preference. However, there's one thing that can't be denied; wired mice are better than wireless ones. By which I mean, compared to a wired mouse, there's a noticeable lag between you moving the mouse and an action occurring on screen when using a wireless one.

Not that some people seem to notice the difference, but it's definitely there and can be off-putting. However, even the most avid gamer spends a lot of their time doing other things on their computers that aren't as demanding of a mouse and so the convenience of a wireless one is welcome. Therefore the perfect computer setup has, for some of us, been to have two mice - a wireless one for desktop work and a wired one for gaming. Now, though, with the release of the Razer Mamba, we finally have a single mouse to rule them all.

Sporting the same external styling as the highly popular Razer Death Adder, but with a new ultra-high precision laser sensor and of course the joint wireless and wired capability, the Mamba is Razer's latest and most expensive mouse to date. Indeed it's the most expensive gaming mouse we know of coming in at around £120 despite it being listed on Razer's website as costing only $129.99 - that's the current exchange rate for you, though.

Draw-dropping its price maybe but you only have to set eyes on the packaging to know it's money well spent. There's no finger slicing blister packs or dull cardboard boxes here, this thing is presented like an expensive watch; resplendent on its stand surrounded by a thick-walled clear plastic cuboid. Slip the cardboard bottom section off and unclip the top, and you're presented with a neat selection of cardboard draws for all the accessories. I know some people find such things frivolous but I for one love it.

This sense of quality isn't dampened any by the mouse itself which, just like its doppelganger, the Death Adder, feels rigid and sturdy. The top surface is finished in a soft touch matt black substance that we have known to start peeling off over time on other peripherals we've owned. But we still prefer this over a tougher but slippy surface any day. The buttons, meanwhile, are also superb with no hint of delay (i.e. a physical gap) between you pressing the button and it activating the micro switch below.

On each side of the chassis, where your little finger and thumb naturally sit, are rubber patches that make this one of the easiest mice to grip firmly. The forward and back buttons also fall perfectly under your thumb for convenient access. Overall comfort is something that's largely subjective but we thought the Mamba represented a good compromise between being slim and low-profile enough for finger-mousers yet rotund enough to suit palm-users as well.

The scroll wheel is very light and is notched so it's very easy to use accurately - a necessity for those that use it when gaming - and the middle button is very easy to activate without jogging the wheel. We did miss the weighty, free-wheeling scroll wheels of mice like the Logitech G9 and Microsoft SideWinder X8 when it came to everyday desktop work but we'd rather have the accuracy when gaming, especially as you can always press the middle button to activate rapid document scrolling when needs be - something that is actually more difficult on the free-wheeling type scroll wheels.


May 13, 2009, 6:33 am

Out of interest, what DPI setting(s) did you use while gaming? Personally I would find 5000 DPI far too sensitive to be accurate in any game. I even find my Deathadder (which looks to be ergonomically similar to the Mamba but 1/5th of the cost) to be too sensitive at 1800 DPI, so I have to turn the master sensitivity down. Surely this makes such high DPI setting in mice redundant for the everyday user (except perhaps on very high resolution monitors)?

All in all, this still wouldn't convince me to move away from the still much cheaper option of separate wired and wireless mice.


May 13, 2009, 6:49 am

I wonder if Razer hasn't been brave enough; Whether they would have gotten more sales if they'd pushed the price up to £150 or £200 and used the money to use extra high quality materials and add all the trimmings (changable mouse feet etc.) to make a mouse that could be legendary.


May 13, 2009, 9:25 am

Well, I have found that the DPI setting varies from game to game, but 5000 sounds insane. In strategy games a high DPI can actually be advantageous, as you can move quicker around the screen, but I don't find it as good in FPS games, as it's hard to aim, hence why on the fly adjustment is important.


May 13, 2009, 2:12 pm

DPI is an odd thing. I've never really seen the need for really high figures. However what it does give you is the option to lower the in-game or windows mouse sensitivity setting (thus increasing accuracy as it's not multiplying your movements) without losing your preferred speed of movement.

@Xiphias: Not sure too many people would agree with you there. I for one don't like all this interchangable stuff - weight systems? Gimme a break. The build materials are also as good as I've ever known from a mouse so I don't think there's much to improve there. Only thing I'd want is, as I said, a spare battery.


May 13, 2009, 5:03 pm

I dunno, I've never really found that cordless mice offer any real advantages to offset their numerous disadvantages. It's not as if you can effectively use them while sat on a sofa, like you can a wireless keyboard. A cordless gaming mouse has an even greater disadvantage in reduced responsiveness.

This looks like a great mouse, but why couldn't Razor just wire it up, remove the wireless electronics and sell it for less? The Death Adder is close, but it features some aesthetic affectations and a lower tracking resolution. Not that the huge DPI count is necessary either, but that's for another rant...

I'll stick to my G9 methinks. BTW, the G9 features the same soft gippy surface which certainly does peel away over time. However, I can replace the grip on the G9 - I'm now on my third.


May 13, 2009, 5:59 pm

£120 for a mouse!!

I would if I won the lottery but I just use a £5 optical mouse for gaming and I game well above the average in the games I play - I never have noticed any delay in the movement of the mouse or clicking the buttons, the wheel is notched and a good weight I could even be pushed to recommend it.


May 13, 2009, 9:06 pm

@Jay - The higher tracking resolutions afforded by gaming mice are very noticeable in use. This manifests as smoother, more accurate motion. Besides, you really don't need to spend anything like as much as £120 to get you hands on something that will do the job nearly as well, although spending more than £5 would be a start. :)

Also, you shouldn't find that any noticeable delay is introduced by your £5 mouse - it is corded right?

Mikko Lahti

May 14, 2009, 5:16 am

I guess there are no SteelSeries Ikari -fans here, since nobody has pointed out the typo, "Steel Series Akari" at page number two :) So it's written together, SteelSeries, and the model is Ikari.


May 14, 2009, 8:40 am

At last, a decent gaming mouse (i mean, it passes the base rating of 5).

Mouse (gaming or not) experience is not subjective.

No peeling off, at least after 2 years of use (and if it has the same surface as Death Adder). Top wheel too.


May 15, 2009, 2:10 pm

Well spotted Mikko. Fixed.


May 15, 2009, 8:32 pm


Indeed, the 'peeling off' on the grips of the G9 is also something my one is suffering from, and while it's possible to easily buy replacement grips, the point is one shouldn't have to (especially not after only 1 year!). I'm somewhat disappointed with Logitech in this regard, since usually they make excellent products. Hopefully it's a flaw the new G9x will fix. Now if only the company would bring out a wireless version, and move the scroll-mode switch to a more convenient location than the mouse's bottom...

Oh and for the record (in regards to Ed's comment), I like weight systems in a gaming mouse :)


May 16, 2009, 12:29 am


Thanks for the response. Unfortunately a diligent journalist will have to endure another year of hard gaming to find out if Logitech have resolved the peeling issue for the G9x. Still, I'm looking forward to the TR review ;)


June 30, 2009, 8:18 pm

I'm using a DeathAdder myself on a 1280X1024 screen, and the artificial acceleration Windows provides is clearly affecting sensitivity. =(

If only I had more cash...

Christopher Woods

February 9, 2010, 6:45 pm

For what it's worth, be wary buying the Razer mousemats - a friend recently bought a Mamba, and a Razer mousemat to pair with it (which was sold to him as working particularly well with the Mamba).

Sod's law, the Razer mousemat actually refuses to provide a good surface for the Mamba - he gets more consistent tracking using his wooden desk! So, irony of ironies, he bought a SteelSeries QCK+ ... Just like I did. ;)


January 25, 2012, 1:37 am

Dunno if anyone will read this.... anyway just wondering if it's possible to get hold of a charging dock for this mouse?

Bought it second hand and all it came with was literally the mouse, i've been using it wired all along, but just got a battery for it and then realised that need to dock to connect wirelessly.

Tried contacting razer but they haven't been much help, saying to contact the retailer where I bought it...


January 25, 2012, 2:23 am

Hi Cookie,

I certainly am not aware of you being able to buy the chargers separately but I'll contact Razer's PR and see if they can enlighten us.


comments powered by Disqus