RV770: AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870 - Race Driver: GRID

By Edward Chester

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Editors choice
RV770: AMD ATI Radeon HD 4870

Summary

Our Score:

10

Race Driver: GRID is the newest game in our testing arsenal and it's currently one of our favourites too. Its combination of arcade style thrills and spills with a healthy dose of realism and extras like Flashback makes it a great pickup and go driving game. It's also visually stunning with beautifully rendered settings, interactive crowds, destructible environments, and stunning lighting. All that and it's not the most demanding game on hardware, either.

We test using the 32-bit version of the game, which is unpatched and running in DirectX10 mode. FRAPS is used to record frame rates while we manually complete one circuit of the Okutama Grand Circuit, in a Pro Tuned race on normal difficulty. We find a framerate of at least 40fps is required to play this game satisfactorily as significant stutters can ruin your timing and precision. We'd also consider 4xAA as a minimum as the track, barriers, and car bodies suffer considerably from aliasing and are a constant distraction.

All in-game settings are set to their maximum and we test with 0xAA, 4xAA, and 8xAA. Transparency anti-aliasing is also manually turned on through the driver, though this is obviously only enabled when normal AA is being used in-game.

The good news continues for ATI in this title, even given our limited test subjects. So much does the HD 4870 like this game that it even beats nVidia's flagship GTX 280. This is hugely impressive stuff.

Varis Vitols

July 5, 2008, 2:51 pm

Yeah, it was about time!

Matthew Bunton

July 5, 2008, 5:43 pm

This is the best bang for buck right now, good to see the ATI cards fighting back. Though it is still too early to upgrade in my opinion.

viexd

July 6, 2008, 1:18 am

if ati get cuda... i will get this card from sapphire(it have 2 (4 pin to 6 pin conector)(my power suply just have one 6 pin conector) but only if it get cuda, because i like to play games but i also do some video editing and transcoding videos to my zune and it take like 4hrs to covert a dvd to h.264 in my conroe

Faiakes

July 6, 2008, 2:10 am

Your comment on the CoD4 results is incorrect. The HD 4870 beats the GTX 280 comfortably.


It simply fails to be the double card GX2.

Varis Vitols

July 6, 2008, 3:58 am

It depends on what u upgrade from...

Paul W

July 6, 2008, 6:14 am

Probably not worth upgrading from a 8800GT to a 4850 but the 4870 looks like it could be a possibility. Hopefully ATi will have OpenCL to compete against CUDA but I'm not bothered by the lack of support for it.

karakaan

July 7, 2008, 3:35 pm

anybody know the minimum power supply rating? looking to install in Dual-Xeon Dell workstation with 700w PSU??

DMN

July 7, 2008, 4:06 pm

My X1950XTX is looking a bit long in the tooth now. Getting that itchy upgrade feeling.

Ed

July 7, 2008, 9:08 pm

Karakaan,





I wouldn't look at it like that, it completely depends on what else you're running in your system. At peak the card will draw 150 - 200W, if you've got that much headroom in your current supply then you'll be fine. Otherwise you may need to upgrade. Easy way to check is with a plug-in power consumption meter. They're only about 㿀.





What card are you upgrading from?

karakaan

July 8, 2008, 12:18 am

Hmmm, thanks ED. The Dell manual's state GPU's upto 150W(supported) so I may be pushing it if you say it draws upto 200W. Upgrading Dell PSU's I don't think is that easy as your probably aware most components are besopke (got to love Dell).

Ed

July 8, 2008, 1:09 pm

Ah, that could be a bit of a problem. Dells are an absolute pig to work with.

Lostbok

July 14, 2008, 5:22 pm

^^ wrt the Dell PSU prob - not sure about the Xeon's, some of the midi-tower cases still have the same footprint as a regular PSU, but just proprietary gaps for the kettle lead... in which case you can buy a normal PSU and get out the metal cutters and drill... I've got "creative" with a few Optiplex's over the years... :o)

Lostbok

July 14, 2008, 5:24 pm

and thanks for the great review!!





As per DMN's comment, that X1950XTX-GDDR4 (me too!) is suddenly looking really long in the tooth :o)))

TheClown

February 15, 2009, 7:58 pm

i have got to get me one of these...

Joseph Middleton

August 24, 2009, 3:43 pm

This Radeon 4870 by HIS... It's not mentioned how much on board memory it has...


512MB or 1GB?

comments powered by Disqus