Home / Gaming / Games / Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium

Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium review

By

Reviewed:

1 of 6

Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium
  • Quiet PC Ultra-Quiet Xbox 360 Premium

Summary

Our Score:

7

As great a gaming console as the Xbox 360 is, there's a reason that for any game available on the PS3 as well, that's the version I'll be using: the PlayStation doesn't sound like a wind tunnel every time I ask it to perform even the simplest of tasks. And don't even get me started on that DVD drive.

Those fans whir merrily away inside the Xbox 360 with good reason, though. Lest we forget, Microsoft's console is rather prone to getting just a little hot. The failure rate, courtesy the red ring of death, doesn't inspire much confidence in the Xbox 360.

Lian Li offered those willing to crack open their Xbox 360 a possible solution to the console's tendency to overheat, in the form of the PC-XB01 case. However, transposing the Xbox 360 from one case to the other to avert its overheating problems introduces a potential hitch of its own: voiding the warranty. Bearing in mind Microsoft is offering free replacement of any console succumbing to the RROD (within three years of manufacture) so trying to avert a failure seems ironically counterintuitive.

Quiet PC thinks there's one another reason you might want an XB01 case though. Transposing the guts of an Xbox 360 to a roomier case affords the opportunity to adorn it with some much needed noise-reducing cladding.

Since the New Xbox Experience was released, the biggest noise-producing component of the Xbox 360, its disc drive, has had its impact considerably lessened thanks to the added ability to install games to the Xbox's hard drive. Indeed, to my mind being able to play Gears of War 2 and actually hear what Marcus Fenix was muttering about over the din of the game disc was far more beneficial than the slight reduction in load times.

However, for those occasions when the DVD drive does still have to spin up Quiet PC has done an admirable job of lessening its impact. Sure, I could still hear the drive spinning during a quick round of Halo 3 multiplayer, but it was no longer at distracting volume levels!

Even with the DVD drive's noise held at bay by hard drive installations my post-NXE Xbox 360 Elite still manages to annoy me. Somehow the fans have tuned themselves to a frequency such that it entirely cuts through any game or video's soundtrack.

Conversely the Quiet PC Xbox 360 was completely silent with its disc drive idle. A few hours of Horde drifted blissfully by, interruption free. Discounting the voice-comm spamming morons I was playing against with.

smc8788

April 13, 2009, 5:09 am

I'll say it before anyone else does:





For the system that Microsoft should have built in the first place, to quote Hugo, it's more expensive than a PS3 (this pretty much being the sole reason most state for actually buying the console). And it still doesn't have Blu-Ray ;)





But then, Lian Lis are always expensive :(

interpleb

April 13, 2009, 12:04 pm

Personally when choosing between playing a game on the 360 or PS3 I go for the 360 because of the controller despite the noise of the system. I had to buy an Arcade unit recently to replace my launch Pro that died and it is much quieter, although still much noisier than my PS3 which is mostly used for Blu-Ray/DVD playback!

shewbrookj

April 13, 2009, 1:35 pm

The investors on Dragon's Den would have had a field day with this product.

Ahlan

April 13, 2009, 1:45 pm

You gave to the 360 elite a 9/10, and this 7/10? lol





if this has a score of 7/10, then the real 360 should get a 5/10





seriously this is the box that MS should have done in the first place, they need another company to fix their useless products.

Dcoz

April 13, 2009, 2:08 pm

Hugo, I would love to know what model DVD drive you have in your 360 or at least whether your sitting on top of it? Never known a 360 to be that loud. Well this product is kind of useless now with the jasper (version of the 360 I have) available. It's very quiet and the amount of heat it lets out is less than the PS3.





I'd say whoever is interested in buying a 360, whether technical minded or not, is better of insuring that he picks up a jasper (many ways to tell from the box). Or you could buy this big black box and take up over 2/3rds of your entertainment space. :-)

jopey

April 13, 2009, 4:00 pm

My 360 doesn't make much noise at all if I install a game... and it's about a metre away. Plus it's a oct 2006 model. This thing is massive waste of money.

rav

April 13, 2009, 4:22 pm

Ever since NXBE the noise issue has really not been an issue for me. Saying that, MS really did mess up on the 360 hardware and definitely need to learn from Sony next time. Still love my 360 though!

Ahlan

April 13, 2009, 6:56 pm

@Dcoz, mate no need to defend your console that much, even the new jasper are useless and get RROD,





check this brand new 4 days jasper xbox 360





http://www.youtube.com/watch?v...








i hope next time MS will learn from their mistakes, they should look back at the original xbox and how good it was.

hankb6d

April 13, 2009, 7:46 pm

That gizmo is useless just 5mins needed on a HDD install.





Like RROD and Blu Ray its so 2007. I see the Sony Defence Force don't take a break this easter.

jopey

April 13, 2009, 8:05 pm

@Ahlan Considering you can buy two 360's for the price of 1 PS3... and get basically the same (or better) graphics.. MS did a good job with the console. Not to mention the online system they've built. Sony has been playing catchup since day 1.


The consoles reliability is a problem.. but that has no bearing on whether it's a "good console" or not.

smc8788

April 13, 2009, 9:25 pm

@ jopey - Either you haven't worded your last comment properly, or you are an idiot. I consider reliability to be an integral part of whether a product is worth buying or not (hence 'good'), and anyone that doesn't take it into consideration when making a purchase is asking for trouble.





@ hank - I see your pathological antipathy towards all things Sony (or is it all things *not* Microsoft, I'm not sure?) hasn't subsided this Easter either ;)

TheVoice

April 13, 2009, 10:29 pm

"The consoles reliability is a problem.. but that has no bearing on whether it's a "good console" or not."





Of course it has a bearing, reliability is always important. It affects the entire experience. MS did a good job with everything BUT the console; their marketing, online infrastructure and support from developers is relatively top-notch, but the hardware itself undermines the entire thing. Fortunately for MS, they've managed to keep their head above the water despite all that, largely through lots of advertising and price cuts.





As for the point of the price of the 360 vs the PS3, I notice you conveniently omitted the fact that the PS3 comes with wi-fi, Blu-ray a larger HDD and a rechargeable controllers as standard. It's not like you're paying 𧴜 more for a PS3 and not getting anything extra.

Ohmz

April 14, 2009, 12:04 am

""The consoles reliability is a problem.. but that has no bearing on whether it's a "good console" or not."





Uh, reliability has everything to do with a product being good or not. Or would you drive a BMW if it were not reliable?

rav

April 14, 2009, 12:29 am

@TheVoice


You do pay more and get more with a PS3. The only thing is I'm not willing to pay more for those features as they do not provide me with a better gaming experience. I bought my 60GB 360 for 𧴰 and only needed to add a Live sub for 㿈 and I was finished.





I can't wait to get a PS3 but I won't pay more for features just because they're there. As far as I'm concerned a bigger HDD, WIFI, and Blu-ray are bells and whistles. Great to have but not something I'd pay a premium for.

jopey

April 14, 2009, 1:02 am

Well my 360 is still functioning perfectly after nearly 3 years. My experience of the console isn't affected by reliability issues. My PS1 died 3 times, and my PS2 died once. Does that mean I should regard those as crap and not "good"? It makes no difference to how I regard those consoles now.. or cloud my opinion of games I played on them.

hankb6d

April 14, 2009, 1:57 am

@smc8788


"@ hank - I see your pathological antipathy towards all things Sony (or is it all things *not* Microsoft, I'm not sure?) hasn't subsided this Easter either ;)"





Pathologically speaking, I have loads of great products not made by MS. Sony satisfied this consumer once upon a time but it seems a long time ago. Patholgically speaking LOL are you a Sony employee?

Ahlan

April 14, 2009, 1:58 am

@jopey,





i still own a PS1 since day 1 (thats probably 12 years) and it still works great, ,my PS2 is also working great and also my original xbox never had a problem, but this 360 i had to fix it 4 time, got RROD, then disk scratching, rrod again, and the forth one which is new to me is the E74 error(in my opinion the newest patch that MS downloaded on the 360 disables the RROD and insted gives you the E74 error, which is no longer covered on the one year warranty)

jopey

April 14, 2009, 3:29 am

@Ahlan Yeah my PS2 still works. I sold my PS1 many moons ago.. so who knows if that still works.. As I said my 360 is going strong since oct 2006. For me it's a good console, your bad luck doesn't mean much to me does it. On more than one occasion I've left games paused for several days. It's pretty reliable from my perspective. I've actually been waiting for it to break ever since they added the HDMI port. Sadly it's fine :(

Paul Leigh

April 14, 2009, 1:17 pm

My 360 is in a rack, in the garage with all the other entertainment guff. Can't hear a peep out of it. Noise has never been a problem and as its quite cold in the garage it has diddly chance of overheating too. There's no problem here, so why invent a solution for it?

rav

April 14, 2009, 4:33 pm

@Paul


Great solution. Must be a hassle to change games though!

hankb6d

April 14, 2009, 6:11 pm

@Ahlan





Disk scratching is entirely you're fault, you should be more careful. The E74 was not downloaded in any update, this isn't PS3 firmware. It's the scaler chip which does the grunt for HDTV, similiar chips exist in many HD products. The problem is the heat from the DVD had a tendency to fry it, the new update has optional installs I suggest you use them. The E74 is covered upto 3 YEARS I don't know where you get 1 from.





The XBOX 360 sure isn't perfect but if you want a Blu Ray disc player that is too slow to play games and the disc content amounts to a DVD anyway then go for it.

smc8788

April 14, 2009, 7:00 pm

@ hank - No, the disc scratching was in inherent technical fault with the console itself, and was not down to user error. Since you don't seem to know very much on the subject about which you are talking, I'll refer you here for more information:





http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/X...








And do I work for Sony? I wish! But then if I did I'd probably have lost my job by now anyway...

hankb6d

April 15, 2009, 7:11 am

@smc8788





Is this the same wikipedia that FACTUALLY stated Vernon Kay was dead? The same wikipedia whose previous contributors acted on behalf of MS and Sony? Sony should hire you as you indeed know it all for an idiot LOL





I assume as a SDF member you are refering to the superior failure rate of the PS3 optical drive, actually this is a blu ray subject to wiki.





Yeah I would sack you for looking up 360 "facts" all day. Hire this guy TR LOL

smc8788

April 15, 2009, 1:41 pm

@ hank - ROFL. You obviously missed the no less than *30* referenced articles from various web sources, just on the subject of scratched discs? Now I know the validity of Wikipedia articles as reference material can be a bit flimsy at the best of times, but you're really pushing it when you start throwing out accusations that there's a Sony-led web-wide conspiracy going on. It just makes you look like a proper nutjob.





Now go get your tin-foil hat, curl up in the corner in the foetal position and I'll send someone round to get you some help ;)

hankb6d

April 15, 2009, 7:57 pm

@smc8788


Sorry to disappoint but the wikkipedia thing I skipped, not everyone relies on its fact busting educational qualities like yourself. To it's credit it shows in the immaturity of your posting. I think you should do more research into wikipedia sources, i'm not the nutjob you think, like "Sony-led web-wide conspiracy going on" steady on the LSD stock you have you may run out.





As for your final line i will finish my post here as it's not my thing talking to babies.





Maybe you can contact watchdog with such feelings, Nicky Campbell only just discovered the disc resurface machine down blockbusters in last weeks episode, like you a mountain and a molehill spring to mind. Maybe he can quench this thirst you have for odd technological hang ups you appear to have.





You should see a doctor it's not healthy, you're making things up like a borderline sociopath, I cannot wait for your latest invention.

comments powered by Disqus