Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV - Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A

By Danny Phillips



  • Recommended by TR
Pioneer Kuro KRP-600A 60in Plasma TV


Our Score:


User Score:

Of much greater interest to those users is the addition of a Pure mode, which turns off all the non-essential processing and drops the sharpness down to -15 in order to deliver the most accurate pictures possible from your chosen source. But if you don't trust these ‘out the box' settings and want to customise the picture yourself, then there's an unbelievable amount of tweaks at your disposal. On a basic level you get the usual colour, contrast, brightness, tint and sharpness settings, but more advanced users can use the Image Science Foundation C3 calibration tools to fine tune the image down to the smallest detail (or get a professional ISF engineer to do it).

The KRP-600A features Pioneer's ninth generation 1080p panel, which has many improvements over the G8 panels, outlined in John's review of the PDP-LX6090. But the most significant improvement is the new Direct Colour Filter which cuts out the reflection from ambient light that can seriously reduce black level. The result is deeper, darker blacks - the thing Pioneer strives for above anything else - but the improvements on this third incarnation mean it carries out this task more effectively than ever before.

The range of other features is typically vast, but the most eye-catching is undoubtedly that satellite tuner. It's not Freesat compliant, so you won't get any of the red-button functions or the Freesat EPG, but you can pick up all the free-to-air channels and it can also handle hi-def MPEG-4 broadcasts - we found BBC HD among the hundreds of available channels and it looks great. All of the channels are listed in an EPG that's cleverly designed but is painfully slow to scroll through the channels.

Elsewhere there are 100Hz and 72Hz modes, the latter allowing 24p Blu-ray content to be displayed without judder. There are also Intelligent Brightness and PureCinema modes, a range of other picture presets (Standard, Dynamic, Movie, and Game) and a range of SRS sound modes.

Pioneer has introduced a new user interface on the KRP-600A and it's a joy to use. Hit the Home Menu button and the current picture is reduced to a small box on a black background with the options listed on the left. There's a real showy, elegant feel to the graphics and text that makes navigating it feel like a privilege rather than a chore - plus it helps that it's really smooth and responsive. Some things are a tad annoying, such as the need to activate the HDMI inputs and its insistence on automatically jumping to the SCART input, but overall this is one of the most assured TV operating systems we've encountered.

The remote is also superb. Its robust build should help it withstand a few falls onto hard flooring, while the intelligent button arrangement makes it a breeze to use from the moment you first pick it up. There's also a backlight activated by a button at the top, which prevents any awkward fumbling when the lights are down low.


November 22, 2008, 10:27 pm

I really like the idea of the media receiver, not only for making things look tidier but it would be much easier to switch cables and add new ones in instead of reaching behind the set, which can be pretty annoying.


November 22, 2008, 11:36 pm

how does reviewing a ٣,000 quid telly make any sense in a recession? (if it does at any time!), you are just like Jeremy Clarkson who only reviews 300 grand cars

Get real!


November 23, 2008, 1:12 am

media receiver on all tv's, please :D

seriously, nice features like that should be made law


November 23, 2008, 4:39 am

@filey - Yes, do TR think we're made of money! From now on I think they should only review products worth under a fiver. Maybe if we're lucky we'll get a review of a 㾶 USB stick.

Seriously though, it's nice to see a review of a top of the range TV, if only to see how it compares to my lowly TV set. I think the majority of TR reviews are aimed at the price-conscious consumer - so I don't mind if the occasional one is aimed at those with more money. Much as I don't mind looking at nice, expensive cars on Top Gear.

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 4:53 am


You seem confused as to the purpose of Trusted Reviews. I shall "*" around the key areas you should know about.

This a *technology* website that reviews, y'know, the latest *technology*. If you don't want to read about expensive yet brilliant *technology*, then don't. Personally, I like to know about the latest and greatest advances in *technology*, it's why I read a website devoted to them, and advanced *technology* tends to be expensive.

You want a website that glories in depression and gloom. I suggest The Guardian. You can wear a hair shirt and whinge about how stupid it is for people to happily dream for a moment about expensive things all you want there.

Anyway, I'm still minted. I'd buy a Kuro in a second if I thought for a moment it'd fit through my front door.

And Top Gear is fantastic. You miserable hippy.


November 23, 2008, 5:00 am

@filey: Might not make any sense but some people can afford these things even in times like these (I wish we could). Does it mean that these people should miss out on a review for this great piece of kit?

Back to the "٣,000 quid telly", I would love one of those, kick off Wipeout HD and let my eyes flow tears of joy. Is TR going to run a competition for us humble people to get a chance to get our mits on one of those babies?

Andy Vandervell

November 23, 2008, 5:01 am


Might I suggest a new front door? ;)

Tim Sutton

November 23, 2008, 5:25 am


It's Grade 2 listed.

I'd have to buy a new house.

Maybe if it was an Editors Choice... :-)


November 23, 2008, 2:32 pm

Keep on reviewing across the range, recession or not.

Reviews are always comprehensive and interesting, and you do a great job.

Thanks a million!


November 23, 2008, 4:06 pm

I bought one of these TV's 2 weeks ago and its is wall mounted in its glory in my living room! It really lives up to they hype and is cinematic especially with the ikea led dioder lighting i stuck behind it.

Im not minted but i have a decent job and i dont drink , smoke or own a car so i guess it all comes down to what you want to spend your money on.

It took me ages to take the plunge but in the end i said why NOT?

in my opinion it was well worth as i get so much enjoyment from it.

WIPEOUT HD on PS3 is amazing !

It also saves on heating bills! :)

Geoff Richards

November 23, 2008, 4:22 pm

I think that's a fair comment, really. Anyone with a 20-a-day habit is smoking their way through the best part of ٠,000 a year for starters. Good for you mate!


November 23, 2008, 5:00 pm


The quickest way for a recession to "recede" is for people with money to spend it.. If no one buys anything that makes the recession worse ;)

Matthew Bunton

November 23, 2008, 8:14 pm

Good for you Spacey wish I could afford one myself but i'm still happy with my PDP507 maybe one day I'll be able to afford the upgrade.

Great review TR yet again I enjoy your reviews even if I can't always afford the products.


November 23, 2008, 9:49 pm

@spacey - good point mate, I don't drink or smoke either, and I always find that people are amazed when you add up just how much they're spending on both in a year. That said, I do have a weakness for cars :)

As with many things though, you really do get what you pay for with TVs, which is why I bought a PDP-LX5090 Kuro earlier in the year, and why Gordon bought a Gen 1 Kuro last year.

Yes these TVs are expensive, but that doesn't stop people wanting to buy them, recession or not. And, as with all things (cars especially), it doesn't stop many people wanting to read about them, even if they can't afford one.

Jay Werfalli

November 23, 2008, 10:34 pm

Totally agree with Wilfried - why should we not learn about the latest top-of-the-range kit, whether we can afford it or not (and I know plenty of people from both camps). We also actively cover products across the spectrum. Everything from great value TVs to exotic models like this one.

And @spacey - not owning a car is certainly your biggest saving. Cars, at the end of the day, are money pits. In the recent RAC Cost of Motoring Index, just running an average family car costs ٠,435, while the average annual true cost of ownership is currently ٤,133 for 2008 (inclusive of fuel, insurance, finance packages, depreciation, etc). Food for thought...


November 23, 2008, 11:36 pm

@Jay - Was just saving for a car. If the costs are that high I might as well just spend the lot on new techno-gubbins like a bigger TV, and carry on catching the bus? (Off-topic)


November 24, 2008, 12:08 am

@Jay - And what was the very first thing you bought after you came back to TR earlier in the year? Oh yeah, I remember, it was a car :)

It's true though, cars are serious money pits, but it's great having the freedom to go anywhere at anytime - something that's often not an option with public transport, especially in the UK.


November 24, 2008, 5:06 am

@Riyad - Yep, I'll probably save up for the car, just so I choose when to go out, rather then waiting for the bus.

Then I'll get myself a bigger TV, but it probably won't be as big as the Pioneer Kuro in this review :)


November 24, 2008, 1:05 pm

I can't afford half the stuff I see on this site and want but that doesn't stop me reading every day and dreaming! It's not just about having the money, you need to be able to justify it as well.

Out of interest, some of you must have slightly larger pads. I'd love the Kuro but I'd have to sit in the kitchen or garden to watch it. 60" in a standard 3 bed semi is ridiculous!


November 24, 2008, 4:04 pm

You know what the great thing about the web is, filey? If you don't want to read something, you can click on something else! Revolutionary!

Matt G Baish

November 24, 2008, 5:06 pm

٢,899.95 - Agh! That was the price I paid (including delivery) for my 32" Philips Plasma 7 years ago (& that was heavily discounted down from 8 grand)! How times change!

BTW - The Plasma conked out about a month after the 2 year warranty ran out & I was never really happy with it :( ho hum - that'll learn me for going totally mad when we downsized houses & had 㾼 grand of `spare` cash! (The other 㾷k bought a car which lasted 5 years before being sold for ٠K - blimmin Nissan depreciation!)

Now carless (since August) & much happier (& fitter now that cycle everywhere :))


November 25, 2008, 4:24 am

Yummy ! Want one now !


November 25, 2008, 7:16 pm

This telly is one of those over the top but why not jobs. What makes it so great apart from the picture quality is the sheer size of it. The difference between 50 and 60 is one is a big tv the other is a small cinema :-). When something takes up your peripheral vision it just totally engages you


November 28, 2008, 5:32 am

Is it possible to remove the media reviver box from the equation altogether and connect the screen directly to say htpc using only the display port?

Or is its presence necessary for some functionality?


November 29, 2008, 3:51 am

@ mobies .. no you cannot do that on this model but you can on the monitor only M model which is exactly the same screen but no tv tuner or box. I think it has 2 HDMI's in it.

I liked this one better as its more flexible

comments powered by Disqus