Pioneer BDP-LX71 Blu-ray Player - Pioneer BDP-LX71

By Danny Phillips


  • Recommended by TR
Pioneer BDP-LX71 Blu-ray Player


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

You'll also find a set of 7.1-channel analogue outputs on the rear, which enable you to enjoy Dolby True HD and Dolby Digital Plus soundtracks in high-resolution on legacy amps without HDMI inputs. However you won't be able to enjoy decoded DTS HD Master Audio or DTS HD tracks from these analogue outputs - instead it extracts the regular DTS core. Although this isn't the end of the world, it is disappointing for a player at this price and means that you'll need a receiver with HDMI input to enjoy both hi-res DTS formats.

But in its defence, this omission is not borne of nefarious intent - quite the opposite in fact. When designing the LX71, Pioneer changed the chipset found in the BDP-LX70 to an improved version that offers better picture performance and a greater range of image adjustments but lacks DTS HD MA from the analogue outputs. Pioneer felt the picture benefits were far more important, and rather than delay its launch by a few months to rectify the audio situation, it launched the player with the intention of releasing a firmware update later on, which is currently scheduled for February.

But in the meantime, those with suitably equipped receivers can pipe DTS HD Master Audio, Dolby True HD, Dolby Digital Plus and DTS HD in bitstream form to a receiver with the relevant decoding, plus it can decode these formats into high-resolution PCM and output them from the HDMI port.

Far more disappointing than its audio shortcomings is the player's Profile 1.1 specification, which enables you to access BonusView content but not web-based BD Live goodies - a fact confirmed by the lack of an Ethernet port on the rear panel. With loads of BD Live discs now on sale, it's amazing that a normally progressive company like Pioneer would release a premium player that can't take full advantage of them, when there are players costing half as much that can.

But these niggles aside, the range of features is still pretty impressive. The deck plays DivX, MP3, WMA, AVCHD and most types of recordable disc, plus it cements its audiophile status with professional grade Wolfson DACs and a specially developed Precision Quartz Lock System (PQLS), which is designed to offer precise music CD playback via HDMI.

A rummage around in the setup menu confirms that this is a deck for serious Blu-ray aficionados. There are all sorts of tweaks and options that you simply don't find on common or garden Blu-ray decks, including a bunch of options governing the behaviour of the HDMI output and a speaker setup screen for the analogue audio outputs.

Previous page
Next page


November 6, 2008, 2:53 pm

I can understand that 10/10 for design and performance - it is a stunning piece of kit and evidently produces phenomenal pictures - but I have a couple of questions:

(1) can you genuinely tell the difference between the bitstream audio output of this deck and that of a lesser deck into the same amp? I would have thought each would output an identical bitstream?

(2) How can you reconcile a score of 8/10 for features with the outdated Profile 1.1 and the lack of DTS HD decoding onboard?

(3) How, pray tell, will they get this firmware upgrade out to users when the deck has no ethernet connection? I assume it will be some tedious process of downloading the firmware to a PC and then burning to CDR? How 20th Century.


November 6, 2008, 5:23 pm

I'd be interested in (1) too. As for (2), well DTS HD/MA will come via firmware (for sure - this is Pioneer) and lets be honest, we've yet to see any decent evidence of the benefits of BD Live downloadable content. Personally I'd take all the fine-tuning and other features exclusive to this deck over the rather lacklusture prospect of BD Live content. The reviewer has marked this down by 2 points for the omissions and that seems fair. As for (3), well it might be a little inconvenient to download and burn a CD-R, but didn't take me long to update the firmware on my LX71 recently... its pretty easy and the file sizes are very small. Personally I absolutely love my BDP-LX71, as the reviewer says, it looks stunning (even my wife thinks it looks good and she hates all the rest of my AV kit) and performs even better. The excellent DVD AND CD playback are a big plus (in fact a major factor in my buying decision), as most competitors are distinctly lacklusture in this regard.

Danny P

November 6, 2008, 6:08 pm

Hi John, answers to your questions below:

(1) There's no real difference between the bitstream output from deck to deck, the quality of the sound depends purely on the receiver (and speakers) and how well it handles that raw bitstream. However, in the sound section of my review I was primarily talking about the sound quality when using the analogue outputs, which is largely dependent on the decoding and audio circuitry inside the player itself. I merely mentioned the quality of sound when using the bitstream output at the end to reinforce the fact that it sounds great no matter what method you use.

(2) I docked points for those missing features but I still felt the deck deserved an 8 based on the wealth of features found elsewhere, particularly when it comes to image tweaking. Also, I didn't want to come down too hard on the DTS HD decoding thing given that there's a firmware update on the way, and to say it lacks DTS HD decoding isn't strictly true - it can decode DTS HD MA and DTS HD into hi-res PCM when using the HDMI output, it's just not available from the analogue outs. And I'm playing devil's advocate here, but don't most people have HDMI equipped receivers now anyway?

(3) As Nik said, the DTS firmware upgrade will be available as a download from the Pioneer website, which you'll have to burn onto CD-R. If you don't have those facilities, or if it's too much hassle, then Pioneer will send you a CD-R with the update on it if you get in touch with them.


November 6, 2008, 10:29 pm

Thanks for the answers Danny. Does look like a great deck. I'm just astounded that Pio is releasing a flagship Blu-Ray player which doesn't conform to profile 2. I know the benefits aren't huge, but it still seems like a step backwards.

Kyle Mitchell

November 7, 2008, 8:52 am


You said "it can decode DTS HD MA and DTS HD into hi-res PCM when using the HDMI output". I don't believe this is true, it can bitstream DTS-HD MA, but it cannot internally decode it and send it out as PCM. It will not have that ability until the DTS HD firmware update is released.


There are many who do not wish to have a 2.0 profile player (myself included). I don't want my viewing habits recorded for the purpose of recieving targeted advertising and spam. If I want to download extra content, I'll do it on my computer. When I want to watch a blu-ray movie, I want to watch the movie...not download a bunch of crap.


November 10, 2008, 6:33 pm

According to the manual (Page 50) (I haven't got the player, but downloaded the excellent manual nonetheless), DTS-HD Master Audio and High Res are output as PCM through the analogue audio connections.

As PCM is an excellent codec, then I think you should not have been so harsh, especially as there will be a firmware update to give full DTS HD functionality!

I really can't see what people are getting hot and bothered about the lack of Profile 2 functionality. Sure, it might be a nice feature to have, in the future, but give me all the extras on the disc(s) anyday!

The other issue about Profile 2 is that one day, the studios will charge for the extra downloaded content and functionality. They're not stupid. We should all be wary of this potential direction! Profile 2 won't appear to be such a good idea then, will it?

All the great extras we now take for granted, could start to migrate to Profile 2 / internet only status!

I know some HD DVD owners waxed lyrical about it's internet accessability from day one, but really how much time did people really spend using this feature? They cited this as being HD DVDs trump card and it's reason for being better than Blu-ray! How misguided was that, given HD DVDs quite obvious technical limitations!

I make it that there are about 23 current Blu-ray players out there, eight of which have full Profile 2 functionality. Both Sony and Panasonic players conform to this. Also, each manufacturer has one machine that decodes and outputs DTS-HD as PCM via analogue outputs for those of us with slightly older AV amplifiers/receivers!

Peter Allen

November 11, 2008, 5:23 pm


I agree with all you say, but your first statement is only half right! Page 50 of the manual says that when the source is DTS-HD HR or DTS-HD MA, then the analogue output is DTS Digital Surround (ie the DVD variety) converted to 5.1ch PCM. As well as being only core DTS quality, also missing are the two surround-rear channels that DTS-HD is capable of.

This is what the promised Jan/Feb firmware upgrade will presumably fix.

What surprises me in perusing the manual is that I have yet to find any reference to delay compensation adjustments for surround channels at different distances to the listener than the primary front speakers. Both the Panasonic and Sony counterparts to this machine have distance compensation. I have this problem with my 2002 SACD player, and it's most annoying (but was unavoidable at the time). I WANT the Pioneer to be right for me due to its sound, video and build quality (& don't care one whit about network connection), but this factor, if true, is a strike against it.

Also, I'm a legacy user on two counts. All the money I could afford was spent on TV and AV amp in 2002, and it's too early to replace them yet. So I need analogue video (1080i component) as well as 7.1ch analogue audio in a blu-ray player (+ HDMI 1.3 for the future, no problems there). Page 25 is therefore disappointing. On the 1080i output setting for component video, neither NTSC or PAL DVDs are upconverted, only de-interlaced. Compare the Sony, whose output is 1080i for DVDs and BDs, unless the contents are "protected".

Well, I've never heard of protected content on DVDs that would prevent upscaling; indeed upscaling is common on DVD players. As for blu-ray, from what I've read in forums (fora?) so far, only a handful of BDs have had the ICT flag enabled, which would force the BD component output to 480p. (As if pirates would "play" analogue video at reduced quality to make a copy rather than find a way to digitally rip the contents! - another stupid studio "shot in the foot" idea and annoyance for real users, like region coding, IMO. But I digress).

Anyway, I see that as two strikes against the Pioneer, unless someone can show me otherwise. I'm a complete newbie to blu-ray - have never had a player - and am trying to learn fast so as to not make an expensive mistake. I welcome any enlightenment on these issues!

Ian 6

November 29, 2008, 6:57 pm

Danny/ All, I am considering buying the BDP-LX71 or the panasonic dmp bd-55 which is a little less expensive. Ultimately I am looking for best video and audio quality. Any thoughts?? tks

comments powered by Disqus