Home » TVs & Audio » Portable Audio » Philips SHE9850 Noise Isolating Earphones

Philips SHE9850 Noise Isolating Earphones review

By
Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Philips SHE9850 Noise Isolating Earphones

Summary

Our Score

9/10

Review Price free/subscription

For close to a year Shure has pretty much dominated the market when it comes to in-ear headphones. From the low-priced SE110's and SE210's, through the SE310's and brilliant dual driver SE420's, to the top-of-the-range triple driver E500PTH's (now available as the SE530s) whatever your budget, Shure has an earphone to suit it. And, more importantly, it was almost universally accepted that the Shure option was the one to go for.

However, recently, the Shure party gate has been crashed by a relative newcomer called Klipsch. Both the Images and the Custom-3's offer stiff competition to the SE420's, and fundamentally, they hit the streets at prices it has taken the Shures over a year to fall to.

Now Philips is also throwing a new offering into the ring to fight it out with Shure, in the form of its SHE9850's that I'm reviewing today. The last pair of Philips in-ear headphones we looked at were the noise cancelling SHN7500's and we weren't exactly enthralled, deciding that we preferred the Shure SE210's. We did, in fact, suggest that if Philips could get similar drivers into a decently-priced package then it could have a winner on its hands.

However, with the SHE9850's, our suggestion seems to have been heeded. In a nutshell they come in at a price that rivals the £65-odd SE210's and should, by also using a single driver, offer audio quality that is at least comparable to the three Shure models below the SE420's. And that's not all. Philips' engineers have apparently worked some extra magic on its driver technology, which they claim improves sound reproduction. As ever, though, we'll be the judges of that.

Next page

Randy

June 28, 2008, 3:32 pm

How they compare to CX300 Sennheiser earbuds? It's completely different league in sound quality? I'm very pleased by my CX300's, but looking at their condition, it's finally time to give them a rest and head for an upgrade. This may be the answer though. Thing is - i want more and more, and am i demanding too much from them to play siginificantly better than Sennheiser earbuds?

TheLostSwede

June 28, 2008, 11:14 pm

I just happened to buy these headphones by fluke the other day, for about 㿠 in Taiwan and they really sound great and are excellent value for money. I haven't used the CX300's, but I think you'll find the Philips to be a couple of steps up.

TheLostSwede

June 28, 2008, 11:19 pm

Opps, got that wrong, that was the Euro pricing, I actually only paid 㿕 for them. And the headphones have a 3.5mm jack, not a 2.5mm jack as it says in the review... :)

Gordon394

June 29, 2008, 5:36 am

I currently have a thing for Etymotics - particularly the 'ER-4 MicroPro' or 'hf2' for iPhone users particularly with the foam inserts. They're superb for those who like the cleanest possible sound reproduction. If 'mega bass' enhancement is your thing (*shudder*) steer clear though...

Vivid

August 22, 2008, 1:40 pm

I had a pair of these arrive yesterday. I felt a bit queasy spending quite so much on a pair of tiny earphones but I’ve had good experiences with Philips audio products before so I decided to risk it.





The result was revelatory. I had been using a pair of Sony inner earphones so I’m not comparing these to the awful ones bundled with iPods but the resulting improvement was stunning. Bass lines and cymbal crashes that my cheaper headphones had struggled with (and I thought were evidence of poor compression) were transformed. The design and presentation is every bit as good as the review describes so I’m not going to dwell on that but they are a pleasure to hold and behold. The important point is the sound quality and in this regard they were worth every penny.

Mago

August 27, 2008, 6:18 pm

I have a question for Hugo or maybe anyone else that might want to answer my question.





I'm a type of guy who enjoy my creative gigaworks t20 and my grado sr60. I love bass, but i prefer tonal balance more. I definitely don't like my philips hbc HN110 cuz the lack of bass.





so the question, will this SHE9850 satisfy my music preference? thanks in advance...

Wholesome

September 24, 2008, 10:43 am

Just got my SHE9850 today and tested it out.... I don't know if its the design of the rubber tips or my ears, but no matter what, i can't seem to get these earphones to fit right in my ear. I find myself having to put pressure to the earphones against my ears in order to get the full sound quality. Other wise, they hang like any other non in-ear phones making them sound weak...really weak. But i tried on the foam tips and they were the perfect fit. You will noticed the sound quality of these phones the moment the music begins to play. They are truly amazing!

Wholesome

September 24, 2008, 5:49 pm

Mago:





You were wondering if these earphones fits your taste...besides the SHE9850, I also own a pair of Sennheiser HD-555 and Sony MDR-G42LP, and when testing them using my desktop computer...i thought all three had an even amount of bass. But then again these are the first pair of noise-canceling/in-ear phones ive owned so i don't have much to compare to.





Hope this helps, good luck.

Ash M, B Baba

February 16, 2009, 3:52 pm

Truly amazing - I just gave away my Bose in ear 'phones and replaced them with these 9850s - personally, as a package they sound better than Shure 102s and 110s - though I am no "-phile" just an ordinary Joe - love the depth of sound - only wish they had an extension cord so I could use them when the baby is sleeping in front of the telly.





BTW - any idea how long the damned first gen plasmas last - the boss won't allow a new version until my 6 yr old Hitachi breaks - or will I have to resort to convincing my 18 month old to sprinkle it with milk??? Really want the Kuro 500A dribble dribble slobber slobber....pant! pant!

Guest

December 16, 2014, 1:52 pm

Seems like you guys love your Shure monitors a bit too much ;)

comments powered by Disqus