Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player pictures

1 of 6 pictures

Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player

6 Pictures - Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player

  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player
  • Philips NP1100 Streamium Network Music Player


September 18, 2008, 6:02 am

What about sound quality??? How can you write a review about an audio product without talking about its sound quality? How does the sound compare to its rivals from Logitech, Noxon, etc? I have to say, standards have been dropping at Trusted Reviews. This is the second review I've read in the last month that is sub-standard and simply does not give the reader enough information to make an informed buying decision. Very disappointing.


September 18, 2008, 9:49 am


Installation done in less than 2minutes.

A huge list of radio available around the world,

A good quality with no hiccup,

Able to listen my PC library on my HiFi.

Very cheap compare to others

A very readable display


A black and white display

Detailled review :

The huge advantage of this product is the simplicity !!!! So simple to set-up.

I can now listen (without my PC) on my HiFi system all radio with a good sound quality without any reception issue.

I can also listen all my music library located on my PC very easily.

On top of that, quality is very good and I don't have any hiccup during playback.

Jon Williamson

September 18, 2008, 11:30 am

This lloks interesting - but what I need is something that will play the music files (WMA) stored on my NAS - without my PC on. The Squeezebox does not support this - does this player?



September 18, 2008, 12:28 pm

Hi Jonwill,

With mine, I can. You just need to check that your NAS is UpNp/DLNA compliants (NP1100 is \).

Andy Vandervell

September 18, 2008, 3:16 pm

Yes, that's right, provided said NAS box is UPnP compliant it'll work fine. Are you sure the Squeezebox doesn't support this, though? Could have sworn it did...


September 18, 2008, 3:39 pm

@ russelk: sorry if the review was dissapointing to you. Truth is that sound quality will depend more on the speakers/headphones and quality of the digital music you use than the NP1100's analogue outputs. These days it's rare to find a device at this price point that uses a bad quality DAC, and the NP1100 reflects this by out-putting great sound with a decent stereo system. With digital out (co-ax), the preferred connection, this obviously becomes a non-issue, and sound quality will depend purely on the aforementioned two considerations.

@emat: thanks for the helpful contribution! - just one point, the display is two-tone rather than B&W :D


September 18, 2008, 3:39 pm

I don't believe the Squeezebox devices supports UPnP directly - they need the SqueezeCenter software which can be installed on some NASes (as well as PCs, MACs etc).

Re. the Streamium's Internet Radio functionality - what back-end service(s) is it tied to and does it support Real Audio BBC streams?

Given that it doesn't support lossless formats I guess Philips are aiming for mass-market appeal here whereas Squeezebox is pitched (and priced) at the audiophile market and offers a high quality DAC and built-in lossless support (FLAC etc).

I second the comment about there being no mention of audio quality - 6/10 must try harder.

Jon Williamson

September 18, 2008, 3:42 pm

As i understand it you need to have Slimserver running somewhere - anonly a few NAS devices allow this. Not mine!


September 18, 2008, 10:20 pm

As a Squeezebox 3 owner I can confirm that it's not UPnP compliant. You must use the SqueezeCenter server software. I don't use WMA but I was under the impression that the Squeezebox supports WMA natively without needing to transcode it. I've just had a quick look at the server interface and it shows this option.

Ardjuna, sorry to keep hankering on about this, but it's something I feel strongly about. In a review of an audio product I don't think it's acceptable to merely state that it's audio output quality depends on the rest of the components in the playback chain. As a reviewer I think it's your job to compare the output of this device to that of competing products, using the same source files, amplification, speakers, etc. Personally I don't believe that all media streamers sound the same, the analog output stage will definitely vary in quality from one model to the next. That's why we look to reviewers to clarify this for us. Your review was focussed entirely on it's ergonomics and usability. That may be more important for some readers, but others may be more interested in it's audio quality. As an example, I'm considering the purchase of a second Squeezebox for my kitchen. Your review did not convey how this device sounds in comparision to it's competitors. If you feel that this device sounds as good as the Squeezebox then you should have mentioned this in the body of the review. I can only speak for myself, but for me the review was therefore lacking and did not enable me to make an informed decision.

Martin Daler

September 19, 2008, 12:55 am

I tend to agree with russelk - I feel I could probably glean as much from reading the product packaging.

As to russelk's questions about sound quality, I think his question shows up the paucity of the review - I'm guessing that this device isn't actually capable of making a sound of any quality at all, but this isn't clarified in the review.

Does it do "listen again" (BBC) or podcasts on internet radio? I'm willing to bet those are the most used features on an internet radio, not the ability to listen to some obscure Albanian radio station among 6000 or so others, but we learn nothing here.

Sorry to come down so hard, but this review isn't why I read TR.


September 19, 2008, 1:56 pm

@russelk & @Martin Daler: no worries, we always appreciate honest comments and constructive criticism. Sorry about not mentioning the analogue sound quality in the review, reasons are in my previous comment - and as I said there, analogue quality is rather good. Still, I'll include this in future reviews.

As to comparing it's audio with competing products like the Squeezebox in realtime, we did not simply because we don't have any in the office.

Lastly, podcasts will need to be downloaded to listen to them, and instead of tuning into "some obscure Albanian radio station", why not check out the World Music Stations, or US Top 100 Hits? :)


September 21, 2008, 12:02 am


ive been looking to buy something to enable me to listen to internet radio for a while, one quetion i havent picked up on this - does it use the reciva portal or something entirely different?



January 31, 2009, 2:23 pm

The Noxon is built around exactly the same design and components as the Streamium unit (BridgeCo), so the only differences may be the UI and the DAC implementaton. Sound quality should be identical for a given firmware. Other units based on this solution are listed here

The backend service is based in the USA - vTuner I think.

BridgeCo has never made money, and is said to be about to run out cash. They are closing the main development centre in Switzerland and moving to the USA.

comments powered by Disqus