Philips Cineos 42PFL9703D/10 42in LCD TV - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Editors choice
Philips Cineos 42PFL9703D/10 42in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

10

Overall Score

10

Scores In Detail

  • Value 8
  • Image Quality 10
  • Sound Quality 8
  • Features 10
  • Design 10

Orinj

August 19, 2008, 1:56 pm

Is the LCD vs. Plasma dilemma slowly drawing to a close with this TV? I'm still glad I bought the Panasonic TH-50PZ70 plasma screen a few months ago but have to admit that LCD is improving all the time. Then again, with the latest Pioneer KUROs, the differentiation remains. Well done Philips!

Matt G Baish

August 19, 2008, 2:33 pm

Is there any chance we can get an indication of current reliability of manufacturer products in the reviews? (like an AV version of the JDPower survey). I have had problems in the past with Philips products (plasma telly kaput just after warranty ran out, DVD+RW player locking up on a firmware update and repeated missing of timed recordings, Streamium product just, well, rubbish) but am being lured back by all the recent good reviews. However, looking back over time, Philips consistently seem to do well at review (apart I am sure from a few hiccups) so it would be nice to know how products performed in the long term (i.e. after Philips have well and truly binned support or made it too expensive to consider repair - as per most manufacturers I guess to be honest). Maybe there is a site somewhere detailing this sort of stuff?

Rsaeire

August 19, 2008, 2:54 pm

The advanced video processing in the Phillips models is all well and good, but when it comes to gaming they are left behind by the other LCDs in this regard. As with many other Phillips LCDs, the response time is so high that when playing games on a Wii, Xbox 360, PS3 etc you can actually feel the input lag.

phantoma

August 19, 2008, 5:26 pm

A nice review but the relatively poor viewing angle of this panel, and probably every other LCD TV out there, is the deal breaker for me.

The Pope

August 19, 2008, 6:29 pm

Phantoma - this model is rated at 176º (H)/176º (V) viewing angle (which is fairly typical) so is that really so bad? How small is your lounge room? I have no problems with L/R viewing angles on my 50" Samsung, and that's DLP rear projection...

tangers

August 19, 2008, 6:55 pm

Hmm nice but I'm not going to pay top dollar for a TV that I have to tweak every time I change video sources. I'd still go for a Kuro.

Beaky69

August 19, 2008, 8:26 pm

I'm also curious about comparisons in picture quality between plasma & LCD TVs...if the latest 'Kuro' sets represent '10' on a 1-10 scale, where would this Philips TV come? Echoing Matt G's comment, I'd also be interested in a reliability survey, as I've also had reliability issues with Philips equipment in the past.

Dennis11

August 21, 2008, 3:55 am

Am really want to ask the reviewer how the Philips Cineos 42PFL9703D/10 42in LCD TV manages to perform with the PS3 since am intrested of buying the TV with PS3 console. Are there any kind of input lag?

andrew 9

October 25, 2008, 2:11 pm

I would love to be able to confirm the 10/10 score for this TV but I have not yet been able to view HD from my sky HD box via HDMI. I have spoken to Philips who claim that it is an incompatability problem they are having since Sky updated their software about a month ago! At present they claim that they have no solution for this. When I call Sky they seem unaware of this issue. If you are planning to get this otherwise wondeful TV to view Sky HD then I would advise that you look into this issue before forking out the best part of two grand! I would be interested to know if anyone else has experienced this problem.

zakir

October 1, 2009, 1:57 am

I like reviewer to comment on viewing angle of this set and every other TV's when reviewed.

comments powered by Disqus