Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Philips Cineos 32PFL9613D 32in LCD TV » Philips Cineos 32PFL9613D

Philips Cineos 32PFL9613D 32in LCD TV - Philips Cineos 32PFL9613D

John Archer

By John Archer


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

All the other features of the 32PFL9613D are the same as the 32PFL9603D, from the Full HD resolution and high claimed contrast ratio of 55,000:1 through to its use of Philips' powerful Perfect Pixel HD video processing. So rather than go through all of the 32PFL9613D's features again in-depth here, I'll just refer you to the 32PFL9603D review, if that's OK!

And so we get to the main point of this review: finding out if the addition of 100Hz really makes a difference, and finding out if the 32PFL9613D's aging heritage prevents it holding up against the latest LCD hot properties.

Regarding the first question, the answer is a surprisingly emphatic yes. Though maybe not in quite the way I anticipated.

For while motion is slightly less affected by blur and resolution loss than it was on the 32PFL9603D, the really cool thing is that the 32PFL9613D's pictures seem less afflicted by the sort of unwanted processing side effects that I had to work so hard to counteract with its predecessor. And so objects passing across the screen seem less dramatically joined by such processing-related problems as shimmering halos and flickering, even with the controversial Perfect Natural Motion circuitry switched on.

This initially seems a bit of a strange finding given that the addition of 100Hz is actually piling more strain on the TV's video processing engine. But what I suspect is happening is that the 100Hz is easing the load of the Perfect Natural Motion processing component. And as the old saying goes, a problem shared is a problem halved.

This makes the 32PFL9613D notably less demanding on you, the end user, because avoiding the motion processing issues with the 32PFL9603D required regular visits to that TV's onscreen menus to reduce, or deactivate entirely, various noise reduction and Natural Motion circuitry. On the 32PFL9613D, I found myself much less regularly tempted to tinker with the settings I established while first calibrating the TV.

The addition of 100Hz also gives you more options if you do want to tinker, mind you. For occasionally I found that if the set's motion processing was glitching a little while watching data-heavy, action-packed HD sources, turning the 100Hz element off but leaving HD Natural Motion on sometimes solved the problem - a degree of subtlety not possible on the 32PFL9603D.

With that in mind it's perhaps a pity that Philips hasn't stretched the flexibility of the new 100Hz system to one further option: the ability to leave 100Hz on while turning HD Natural Motion off. But that's me: always wanting the world and everything in it!

Previous page
Next page

Dan 07

March 2, 2009, 2:55 pm

I purchased this set a couple of weeks ago and concur with the comments in the review. The HD picuture really is stunning - particularly the range and depth of colour the set is able to produce. The SD picture from the freeview tuner is also amongst the best ive seen.


March 2, 2009, 3:56 pm

I must agree I have had this set since Christmas and the HD picture still blows me away. John and Dan what settings are you using for freeview and HD sources? Cheers.

Dan 07

March 2, 2009, 4:43 pm

If memory serves me right my freeview settings are these:

contrast = 85

brightness = 55

colour = 63

sharpness = 6

noise redunction = medium

dynamic contrast = medium

artefact reduction = on

colour enhancement = medium

My HD settings are pretty much the same although i turn all noise reduction off.

iain coghill

March 2, 2009, 5:26 pm

I have had one of these since mid December. I love the picture quality and the styling. I hate the remote though, that nasty wheel thing constantly overruns. I also don't have much love for the Freeview EPG, I would much prefer seeing some sort of graphical display of start/stop times.

Dan 07

March 2, 2009, 9:49 pm

I'm getting used to the remote but agree 100% about the EPG.


March 2, 2009, 10:13 pm

Thanks Dan for settings not far from mine. Also got to agree with the EPG even my Grand Fathers cheap Toshiba LCD has a better setup.

Sam 3

March 2, 2009, 10:40 pm

I have to agree about the EPG and the Remote the jog wheel drives me insane, I've also had issues with the TV crashing when I try to flick between the HDMI (PS3) and TV, the TV just turns off and starts up again in HDMI when I want TV, I have to use the guild button to access TV and even then there is no guarantee (I've updated and I have even reported the situation to Philips who said I should send it back. Any one else have this issue? I really don't want to have to send it back, it's like a beautiful girlfriend with a bad accent, I think I can cope with it but one day it might break me!


March 2, 2009, 11:25 pm

I hope some of you tried the USB playback functionality - does anybody have a comprehensive list of formats supported?(such as DVD from HDD, avi, etc). Does it accept NTFS HDDs?


Dan 07

March 2, 2009, 11:53 pm

i haven't tried the USB port, i just plug my hard drive into one of these:


plays most stuff you throw at it..........


March 3, 2009, 12:16 am

Slightly unrelated I know, but is anyone else concerned about the lack of Philips TV's available in shops and online?

All the high street retailers have stopped selling Philips TV's, both in their shops and through their websites. Nowadays is seems only the specialist online retailers are continuing to sell philips TV's.

I know Philips have recently announced new models for 2009, but will we ever see them here in the UK given the current situation?


March 3, 2009, 12:36 am


I also have had problems on the odd occasions switching from HDMI to TV, but I only find I have problems if use the source button on the remote. When I want to switch back to TV I use the keypad to select a channel and it takes me straight back into Freeview TV without any delay.


March 25, 2009, 2:02 am


has anyone updated the firmware to see if the tv performs better? I read in the release notes that the restart when switching from HDMI to TV has been resolved. I am really close to buying this model. I would like to know if playing files via network works like the PS£ media server does. Anyone tested the formats or tested it with PS£ media sever software and transcoding? Thanks in advance.



March 31, 2009, 2:34 pm

Sam - assuming you haven't sent the TV back - upgrade the firmware to the latest. From the release notes for my TV: "Reboot of the 42PFL9803D/10 after switching to the HDMI(Philips 1080) solved."

Upgrading is easy, and the same firmware is used across a number of models.

I also found that the performance of switching to HDMI depends very much on the connected device too (obvious I guess). For instance, my Panasonic DVD/HDD takes a second or two to switch; a previous Philips DVD/HDD I briefly owned could take 15 seconds or so.

Hope this does the trick, as these Philips TVs really are stunning at the moment.


April 4, 2009, 3:56 pm

I bought one of these a couple of days ago. I tried the network play and obviously the files i had shared could not be played since they were mainly avi's. I installed tversity which works perfectly. The only problem I have is that the auto format function is on and it keeps adjusting the screen during playback. Anyone know a way to fix this? I noted that even the volume bar and other settings are not viewable. hope someone has a solution for this! :)


May 10, 2009, 2:44 pm

I am looking to purchase a 32in or possibly 37in LCD screen. Given the upcoming new Philips range should I wait to see whether the equivalent models are a significant upgrade on this or just bite the bullet and purchase one of these? Any idea on release dates for the smaller new Philips screens?


May 11, 2009, 8:13 pm

Also, could anyone who owns this screen give me some better insight into the viewing angles and at what sort of point a noticeable degradation in image quality occurs... I would be putting the screen in the corner of a room so not all viewers would be looking directly at the screen head-on....many thanks!

Matthew Bunton

May 12, 2009, 3:34 am

I recently purchased this television but intend to return it.

The viewing angle on this set is appalling and a lot more should have been made of this in the review.

Unless you are sitting level with the screen and right in front of it the picture is washed out, overall I am very disappointed with it.

Ilias Karampatsos

May 15, 2009, 10:15 pm

Any online shops where they stock this TV?

comments powered by Disqus