Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV - Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

However, as with any high-level processing system, the Perfect Pixel HD Engine is all about how much the positive benefits outweigh the negative side effects. And in my opinion the 32PFL9603 positives outweigh its negatives by the proverbial country mile.

Provided, at least, that you set the TV up correctly. For more than with any other TV I've ever tested, you really do have to dedicate some quality time to perfecting the 32PFL9603's images for all your different sources. Leave noise reduction set too high, for instance, and the whole picture processing house of cards can come tumbling down.

As I suggested earlier, the 32PFL9603 has systems that can take some of the settings burden off you. But for my money there's just no substitute for playing with things manually. I won't go into every detail of the set up levels I used for my various sources, partly because this would take too long and partly because I want to give you freedom to find settings that best suit your personal tastes.

But I would certainly urge you to ensure the following: have absolutely no noise reduction systems running while watching high definition pictures; leave the HD Natural Motion tool set to minimum rather than off or maximum; set the contrast level to no higher than 75 and possibly lower if you can stomach it; leave Advanced Sharpness on; don't set the Dynamic Contrast higher than medium, and probably stick with minimum; and don't set the Colour Enhancement feature higher than minimum. Follow this and you should be well on your way to enjoying the best the 32PFL9603 has to offer.

Turning, finally, to the 32PFL9603's audio, it once again blows the competition out of the water. The amount of volume it can shunt out is remarkable given its relatively diminutive size, especially when you consider that this volume is delivered without causing distortion. It also arrives in the company of a truly expansive dynamic range that picks out peak trebles effortlessly, always leaves vocals sounding clear, and best of all underpins proceedings with levels of bass (thanks to the two subwoofers) that most LCD TVs simply cannot reach.

Verdict

The 32PFL9603's extravagant looks are merely the start of a love affair that grows with every hour you spend in this TV's company. There are elements of its picture performance - its motion resolution and general levels of HD detail - that attain genuine benchmark level, it's got more features than I've ever seen before, and even the sound is awesome. Needless to say, all this has got us positively gagging to see how the set's bigger brothers will shape up in the coming weeks…

Magnus

July 9, 2008, 6:51 pm

Are you planning on testing the 42" version? If you are, do you know when?


I’m really keen on buying it, but it would be nice to see a review first.. :)

ilovethemonkeyhead

July 9, 2008, 7:53 pm

Philips couldn't be any more confusing with their naming schemes even if they tried - i can't understand why they don't just say "TV 1" and "TV 2" and "TV with little glowy bits on it"...





as far as i'm concerned the Philips 42PFL7603D is the closest 42 inch equivalent to this set.





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Luan Bach

July 9, 2008, 10:07 pm

No, the Philips 42PFL7603D is lower down the range. The 42" version would be Philips 42PFL9603D, note the L9 instead of L7.

SimonJ

July 10, 2008, 12:59 am

Another vote for a review of the 42PFL9603 here. I've read some forum posts that the black level is lacking on the 42 inch version, so would be really interested in Trusted Reviews verdict on it.





Thanks for the reviews :-)

ikemi

July 10, 2008, 1:54 am

I would vote for the 42PFL9703. This one has extra's Ambilight Sepctra 3 and a Wide Colour Gamut LCD (what that may be..). Strange that de 32" has a dynamicc ontrast ratio 55000:1 and all 37" and 42" (9603 and 9703)models 'only' 30000:1.

Andrew 1

July 10, 2008, 3:15 pm

I'm torn between 2 TV's, the Sony KDL-32W4000 or the Philips 32PFL9603? Which one would you go for?

dannym121

July 12, 2008, 12:24 am

where else can i get this from cos its only avalible from one shop and all the comet links dont work

Jack Maks

July 14, 2008, 6:30 pm

After two months of research on 32" lcd's, there is simply no better product on the market at this point in time. Got mine last week at 𧾈 that price represents outstanding value. Pictures look freakishly real with levels of detail and black on another level to anything from Samsung or Sony.

Kamran

July 15, 2008, 2:26 pm

Can you guys tell me what settings you are using for your 32" sets?





Thanks

Gamerholic

August 18, 2008, 2:29 pm

where did u get this tv for 𧾈? sounds amazin


the 32w4000 freeview is terriable, saw it at a friends house and was shocked, only a few channels looked good

nickmcd333

November 4, 2008, 9:19 pm

Ordered this TV yesterday, so excited now after reading the review, playing around with the settings is half the fun for me! The Sony 32kdlw4000 was a possible other option and though it is cheaper the look of the Philips makes it worth it (very shallow of me I know).

nickmcd333

November 4, 2008, 11:03 pm

Forgot to say that I got it for 𧽳 with free delivery from PRC Direct.

iain coghill

November 26, 2008, 11:23 pm

I have tried to buy one but it seems that all the places with an OK price are now out-of-stock. RGB Direct are now saying they have been discontinued :( I hope Philips come up with a replacement soon.

thefuriousb

November 27, 2008, 1:46 am

Ah - that is just great! I have had the same issue trying to find a stockist, but surely it can't be discontinued (review was only a few months ago)ts not the Philips, then my back up is the Panasonic X32LZD85.

Geoff Richards

November 27, 2008, 2:43 am

I didn't have much luck trying to find you guys a stockist, yet it's still listed on Philips' website and there's no obvious replacement model(s). With two potential sales up for grabs, I'll try Philips PR in the morning to see what they can suggest.

thefuriousb

November 27, 2008, 11:02 pm

I sent an email to priceless electronics as their site listed it as "awaiting stock". The reply to my question about when they expect to get more in stock was that the 9603D has been discontinued and no longer available. May be there is truth in this story?


Would be intersting to find out why esp if it is as good as it sounds

iain coghill

December 3, 2008, 3:16 pm

Well it seems Philips do have a replacement, the new 32PFL9613D/10 - similar spec but 100Hz. See http://www.p4c.philips.com/fil.... A review would be nice :)



SRS

December 30, 2008, 4:13 pm

I have a 32PFL9603D and it really is the best TV I've ever seen by far, both for picture quality and looks. Just superb.





Originally Philips stated that they didn't need 100Hz technology for the 32" because the panel came from a different manufacturer to those used in the rest of the Cineos range, so had different response characteristics. Will be in interesting to see how much better the 32PFl9613D is. Perhaps the original panel supplier got too expensive, so an upgrade was needed?





(As far as stockists, I got mine from Digital Direct - http://www.digitaldirect.co.uk... - very good price and service.)

Sam 3

January 5, 2009, 8:45 pm

I happened across a 32PFL9613D in House of Fraser with a 5 year warranty for 𨀻, that another customer had ordered but not taken. I can't compare it to the 9603 but i love it. As I upgraded from a 15" CRT it's very difficult to judge the benefits of the 100Hz tech over 60Hz, but the motions seems pretty nice. I have noticed whilst playing games via my PS3 that if you don't use the game setting you get major motion blur and lag but the game screen settings sort this out quite adequately.

Barry Hawkes

January 8, 2009, 9:27 pm

I have a 32PFL9613D. I managed to pick it up in Totenham Ct Rd, London. I think the shop is Shansonic! Since getting it I've had some friends over and they couldn't beleive how good this TV's picture is. Wall-e' is amazing and Batman Dark knight is fantastic. I have seen a lot of good pictures but as LCD's go this is remarkable, If you can find a stockist I would recomend having a look at one hooked up to blueray it may just make you buy it then and there!! but it does take some setting up. Best 𧾈 Ive spent on tech.

comments powered by Disqus