Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV » Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D

Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV - Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D

John Archer

By John Archer


  • Recommended by TR
Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV


Our Score


Review Price free/subscription

For me, however, the onscreen menu system handles all the multifarious options pretty well. And although I sometimes found it a bit fiddly, I also applaud Philips' decision to use an iPod-style navigation wheel on the 32PFL9603's remote control.

Also helpful is Philips' Active Control system, which does a surprisingly credible job of automatically adjusting multiple facets of the picture for you. Plus there are a series of well-executed themed presets, which include Movie and Game modes. The Game mode is particularly handy, as it slashes back many of the picture processing elements to reduce (though not, it has to be said, completely remove) any processing-induced ‘image lag' problems that might otherwise ruin your gaming prowess.

Final features worth a mention are unusually fulsome support of Blu-ray's 1080p/24 format (thanks to the huge processing power of the Perfect Natural Motion system, which is twice as powerful as last year's HD Natural Motion); two subwoofers built into the TV's rear to boost bass response; and finally a new connectivity assistant which helps you - with illustrations - connect all your kit to the TV in the optimal way.

It's fair to say that the 32PFL9603 talks a very good talk. So it's just as well it also walks a very good walk.

Particularly striking is the awe-inspiring amount of detail in HD footage. Our trusty 'Casino Royale' Blu-ray, for instance, has never looked as detailed and textured as it does on the 32PFL9603. Seriously, even the pixels seem to have pixels!

Take, for instance, the shots in the Bahamas as Bond meets with M after finding the murdered girl in her hammock. There are wrinkles in Judi Dench's face that I swear I've never noticed before, and you can make out individual strands of stubble on Bond's face even during medium distance shots - again something I've not noticed before, at least on a screen as small as 32in.

Not surprisingly, all this new-found fine detail delivers every last drop of high definition's visual impact, and comprehensively lampoons any naysayers who reckon you don't really need HD on a 32in or smaller TV.

Adding still further to the image's unique sharpness and detail is its near-total freedom from LCD's traditional image blur issue. With Perfect Natural Motion engaged, moving objects look just as clear and textured as they do when they're standing still. Even though the 32PFL9603 does not, unlike the larger sets in the 9603 range, employ 100Hz processing. (If you're wondering why this is the case, apparently it's because the 32in screen comes from a different source to the larger ones, and since this 32in screen boasts an innate response time of 2ms, 100Hz processing was deemed unnecessary).

The extra fluidity introduced by the Natural Motion processing means that you don't even have the customary image judder to add a touch of indistinctness to proceedings. Actually, the extra fluidity is so striking it takes a little getting used to. But tellingly, once I'd experienced it for a couple of days, I found going back to my old juddery set an unwelcome jolt.

Previous page
Next page


July 9, 2008, 6:51 pm

Are you planning on testing the 42" version? If you are, do you know when?

I’m really keen on buying it, but it would be nice to see a review first.. :)


July 9, 2008, 7:53 pm

Philips couldn't be any more confusing with their naming schemes even if they tried - i can't understand why they don't just say "TV 1" and "TV 2" and "TV with little glowy bits on it"...

as far as i'm concerned the Philips 42PFL7603D is the closest 42 inch equivalent to this set.


Luan Bach

July 9, 2008, 10:07 pm

No, the Philips 42PFL7603D is lower down the range. The 42" version would be Philips 42PFL9603D, note the L9 instead of L7.


July 10, 2008, 12:59 am

Another vote for a review of the 42PFL9603 here. I've read some forum posts that the black level is lacking on the 42 inch version, so would be really interested in Trusted Reviews verdict on it.

Thanks for the reviews :-)


July 10, 2008, 1:54 am

I would vote for the 42PFL9703. This one has extra's Ambilight Sepctra 3 and a Wide Colour Gamut LCD (what that may be..). Strange that de 32" has a dynamicc ontrast ratio 55000:1 and all 37" and 42" (9603 and 9703)models 'only' 30000:1.

Andrew 1

July 10, 2008, 3:15 pm

I'm torn between 2 TV's, the Sony KDL-32W4000 or the Philips 32PFL9603? Which one would you go for?


July 12, 2008, 12:24 am

where else can i get this from cos its only avalible from one shop and all the comet links dont work

Jack Maks

July 14, 2008, 6:30 pm

After two months of research on 32" lcd's, there is simply no better product on the market at this point in time. Got mine last week at 𧾈 that price represents outstanding value. Pictures look freakishly real with levels of detail and black on another level to anything from Samsung or Sony.


July 15, 2008, 2:26 pm

Can you guys tell me what settings you are using for your 32" sets?



August 18, 2008, 2:29 pm

where did u get this tv for 𧾈? sounds amazin

the 32w4000 freeview is terriable, saw it at a friends house and was shocked, only a few channels looked good


November 4, 2008, 9:19 pm

Ordered this TV yesterday, so excited now after reading the review, playing around with the settings is half the fun for me! The Sony 32kdlw4000 was a possible other option and though it is cheaper the look of the Philips makes it worth it (very shallow of me I know).


November 4, 2008, 11:03 pm

Forgot to say that I got it for 𧽳 with free delivery from PRC Direct.

iain coghill

November 26, 2008, 11:23 pm

I have tried to buy one but it seems that all the places with an OK price are now out-of-stock. RGB Direct are now saying they have been discontinued :( I hope Philips come up with a replacement soon.


November 27, 2008, 1:46 am

Ah - that is just great! I have had the same issue trying to find a stockist, but surely it can't be discontinued (review was only a few months ago)ts not the Philips, then my back up is the Panasonic X32LZD85.

Geoff Richards

November 27, 2008, 2:43 am

I didn't have much luck trying to find you guys a stockist, yet it's still listed on Philips' website and there's no obvious replacement model(s). With two potential sales up for grabs, I'll try Philips PR in the morning to see what they can suggest.


November 27, 2008, 11:02 pm

I sent an email to priceless electronics as their site listed it as "awaiting stock". The reply to my question about when they expect to get more in stock was that the 9603D has been discontinued and no longer available. May be there is truth in this story?

Would be intersting to find out why esp if it is as good as it sounds

iain coghill

December 3, 2008, 3:16 pm

Well it seems Philips do have a replacement, the new 32PFL9613D/10 - similar spec but 100Hz. See http://www.p4c.philips.com/fil.... A review would be nice :)


December 30, 2008, 4:13 pm

I have a 32PFL9603D and it really is the best TV I've ever seen by far, both for picture quality and looks. Just superb.

Originally Philips stated that they didn't need 100Hz technology for the 32" because the panel came from a different manufacturer to those used in the rest of the Cineos range, so had different response characteristics. Will be in interesting to see how much better the 32PFl9613D is. Perhaps the original panel supplier got too expensive, so an upgrade was needed?

(As far as stockists, I got mine from Digital Direct - http://www.digitaldirect.co.uk... - very good price and service.)

Sam 3

January 5, 2009, 8:45 pm

I happened across a 32PFL9613D in House of Fraser with a 5 year warranty for 𨀻, that another customer had ordered but not taken. I can't compare it to the 9603 but i love it. As I upgraded from a 15" CRT it's very difficult to judge the benefits of the 100Hz tech over 60Hz, but the motions seems pretty nice. I have noticed whilst playing games via my PS3 that if you don't use the game setting you get major motion blur and lag but the game screen settings sort this out quite adequately.

Barry Hawkes

January 8, 2009, 9:27 pm

I have a 32PFL9613D. I managed to pick it up in Totenham Ct Rd, London. I think the shop is Shansonic! Since getting it I've had some friends over and they couldn't beleive how good this TV's picture is. Wall-e' is amazing and Batman Dark knight is fantastic. I have seen a lot of good pictures but as LCD's go this is remarkable, If you can find a stockist I would recomend having a look at one hooked up to blueray it may just make you buy it then and there!! but it does take some setting up. Best 𧾈 Ive spent on tech.

comments powered by Disqus