Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV - Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D

John Archer

By John Archer

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Philips Cineos 32PFL9603D/10 32in LCD TV

Summary

Our Score:

9

Turning to more prosaic matters, namely the TV's connections, this TV continues to impress. The provision of four HDMIs is particularly eye-catching - and yes, all of these are v1.3 certified for Deep Colour playback.

Another neat connection touch is a DLNA-certified Ethernet port, so that you can jack the TV into your home network for direct playback of music and picture files. More support comes from a D-Sub port and a USB jack that can handle MP3, .alb slideshows, JPEGs, and MPEG1/2 videos.

So far, so good. And my expectations only grow as the 32PFL9603's spec sheet serves up a Full HD resolution and a vast claimed contrast ratio of 55,000:1. Obviously a dynamic backlight arrangement has been employed here, which reduces the image's brightness during dark scenes to improve black levels. But practically all rival LCD TVs use similar backlight technology and few promise contrast ratios even close to 55,000:1. Let's just hope this figure actually translates onto the screen.

As you've probably started to realise by now, the 32PFL9603 sits towards the top of Philips' current LCD tree. And this high-level position is reinforced by the picture processing system it carries, namely the very latest version of Philips' Perfect Pixel HD Engine.

This second generation of the Pixel Perfect Engine builds on the elements aimed at improving motion clarity and sharpness found in the previous version, with new elements aimed at boosting contrast and colours. What's more, the previous motion clarity and sharpness processors have, here, been fine-tuned to within an inch of their lives.

In fact, Philips now calls the HD Natural Motion element of the Perfect Pixel HD Engine; 'Perfect Natural Motion', so pleased is it by the way the new TV - apparently - reproduces motion without either LCD response time blur or the artefacts that generally accompany attempts to reduce motion blur (such as ‘haloing' around moving objects).

The word ‘perfect' crops up yet again with the set's new Perfect Contrast Technology. This reduces light leakage from the LCD backlight during dark scenes while simultaneously increasing the differences between the dark and light parts of the image through digital processing. This system also claims to enhance shadow detail and diminish motion artefacts.

When it comes to colours, the 32PFL9603 utilises a system unsurprisingly called Perfect Colours. This is attributable to an optimised colour input - a ridiculously powerful 17-bit Colour Booster processor which can, it's claimed, show up to 2,250 trillion colours.

The liberal use of the word Perfect in all these features is, of course, potentially dangerous. For as well as making us wonder what manoeuvring room there is left for future Philips TVs (‘Even More Perfect Contrast Technology'?), it doesn't half raise expectations about the 32PFL9603's performance levels.

The sophistication of the Perfect Pixel Engine system also inevitably makes the TV unusually complex to use. Especially as Philips has, sensibly, made most of the Engine's separate components individually adjustable.

Magnus

July 9, 2008, 6:51 pm

Are you planning on testing the 42" version? If you are, do you know when?


I’m really keen on buying it, but it would be nice to see a review first.. :)

ilovethemonkeyhead

July 9, 2008, 7:53 pm

Philips couldn't be any more confusing with their naming schemes even if they tried - i can't understand why they don't just say "TV 1" and "TV 2" and "TV with little glowy bits on it"...





as far as i'm concerned the Philips 42PFL7603D is the closest 42 inch equivalent to this set.





http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Luan Bach

July 9, 2008, 10:07 pm

No, the Philips 42PFL7603D is lower down the range. The 42" version would be Philips 42PFL9603D, note the L9 instead of L7.

SimonJ

July 10, 2008, 12:59 am

Another vote for a review of the 42PFL9603 here. I've read some forum posts that the black level is lacking on the 42 inch version, so would be really interested in Trusted Reviews verdict on it.





Thanks for the reviews :-)

ikemi

July 10, 2008, 1:54 am

I would vote for the 42PFL9703. This one has extra's Ambilight Sepctra 3 and a Wide Colour Gamut LCD (what that may be..). Strange that de 32" has a dynamicc ontrast ratio 55000:1 and all 37" and 42" (9603 and 9703)models 'only' 30000:1.

Andrew 1

July 10, 2008, 3:15 pm

I'm torn between 2 TV's, the Sony KDL-32W4000 or the Philips 32PFL9603? Which one would you go for?

dannym121

July 12, 2008, 12:24 am

where else can i get this from cos its only avalible from one shop and all the comet links dont work

Jack Maks

July 14, 2008, 6:30 pm

After two months of research on 32" lcd's, there is simply no better product on the market at this point in time. Got mine last week at 𧾈 that price represents outstanding value. Pictures look freakishly real with levels of detail and black on another level to anything from Samsung or Sony.

Kamran

July 15, 2008, 2:26 pm

Can you guys tell me what settings you are using for your 32" sets?





Thanks

Gamerholic

August 18, 2008, 2:29 pm

where did u get this tv for 𧾈? sounds amazin


the 32w4000 freeview is terriable, saw it at a friends house and was shocked, only a few channels looked good

nickmcd333

November 4, 2008, 9:19 pm

Ordered this TV yesterday, so excited now after reading the review, playing around with the settings is half the fun for me! The Sony 32kdlw4000 was a possible other option and though it is cheaper the look of the Philips makes it worth it (very shallow of me I know).

nickmcd333

November 4, 2008, 11:03 pm

Forgot to say that I got it for 𧽳 with free delivery from PRC Direct.

iain coghill

November 26, 2008, 11:23 pm

I have tried to buy one but it seems that all the places with an OK price are now out-of-stock. RGB Direct are now saying they have been discontinued :( I hope Philips come up with a replacement soon.

thefuriousb

November 27, 2008, 1:46 am

Ah - that is just great! I have had the same issue trying to find a stockist, but surely it can't be discontinued (review was only a few months ago)ts not the Philips, then my back up is the Panasonic X32LZD85.

Geoff Richards

November 27, 2008, 2:43 am

I didn't have much luck trying to find you guys a stockist, yet it's still listed on Philips' website and there's no obvious replacement model(s). With two potential sales up for grabs, I'll try Philips PR in the morning to see what they can suggest.

thefuriousb

November 27, 2008, 11:02 pm

I sent an email to priceless electronics as their site listed it as "awaiting stock". The reply to my question about when they expect to get more in stock was that the 9603D has been discontinued and no longer available. May be there is truth in this story?


Would be intersting to find out why esp if it is as good as it sounds

iain coghill

December 3, 2008, 3:16 pm

Well it seems Philips do have a replacement, the new 32PFL9613D/10 - similar spec but 100Hz. See http://www.p4c.philips.com/fil.... A review would be nice :)



SRS

December 30, 2008, 4:13 pm

I have a 32PFL9603D and it really is the best TV I've ever seen by far, both for picture quality and looks. Just superb.





Originally Philips stated that they didn't need 100Hz technology for the 32" because the panel came from a different manufacturer to those used in the rest of the Cineos range, so had different response characteristics. Will be in interesting to see how much better the 32PFl9613D is. Perhaps the original panel supplier got too expensive, so an upgrade was needed?





(As far as stockists, I got mine from Digital Direct - http://www.digitaldirect.co.uk... - very good price and service.)

Sam 3

January 5, 2009, 8:45 pm

I happened across a 32PFL9613D in House of Fraser with a 5 year warranty for 𨀻, that another customer had ordered but not taken. I can't compare it to the 9603 but i love it. As I upgraded from a 15" CRT it's very difficult to judge the benefits of the 100Hz tech over 60Hz, but the motions seems pretty nice. I have noticed whilst playing games via my PS3 that if you don't use the game setting you get major motion blur and lag but the game screen settings sort this out quite adequately.

Barry Hawkes

January 8, 2009, 9:27 pm

I have a 32PFL9613D. I managed to pick it up in Totenham Ct Rd, London. I think the shop is Shansonic! Since getting it I've had some friends over and they couldn't beleive how good this TV's picture is. Wall-e' is amazing and Batman Dark knight is fantastic. I have seen a lot of good pictures but as LCD's go this is remarkable, If you can find a stockist I would recomend having a look at one hooked up to blueray it may just make you buy it then and there!! but it does take some setting up. Best 𧾈 Ive spent on tech.

comments powered by Disqus