Philips Aurea 42PFL9903H 42in LCD TV - Feature Table

John Archer

By John Archer



  • Recommended by TR
Philips Aurea 42PFL9903H 42in LCD TV


Our Score:


Overall Score


Scores In Detail

  • Value 7
  • Image Quality 9
  • Sound Quality 9
  • Features 10
  • Design 10


November 5, 2008, 4:05 pm

Is it me, or does Phillips use its Aurea technology to take away from the fact that at the core, their TVs are generally above average, and never at the top of the pile? I can't remember the last time someone mentioned Phillips in the same sentence as Sony, Samsung or Panasonic, who currently have some of the best TVs on the market, in a positive light.

Andy Vandervell

November 5, 2008, 4:29 pm

Not sure why you have that impression. We've always regarded Philips TVs very highly and with good reason. Aurea is simply an adjunct to the normal TV features.

Paul 7

November 5, 2008, 5:12 pm

Video review please???


November 5, 2008, 5:22 pm

A stunning set and I absolutely love the Aurea Light Frame effect. But I just don't think I could bring myself to shell out � for a 42" screen. In fact having just seen a full HD 1080p 42" set with a Samsung panel at Ebuyer for under 𧻞 (with 96 customer reviews giving an average 5/5 rating for the set) I wonder where the extra � of value comes in with this Philips one.

Geoff Richards

November 5, 2008, 5:54 pm

@Rsaeire - I think the number of 9 and 10/10s disagrees with you:

@Paul - sadly, the logistics of shipping these large TVs around the country means we aren't doing video reviews of TVs at this time. We are still developing our portfolio of video reviews and I can assure you TVs is on the list for the future. :)


November 5, 2008, 9:08 pm is apparently a video of the set in question.

prag fest

November 5, 2008, 10:15 pm

> 2 grand for a 42" telly? Nah, you're alright.

Matthew Bunton

November 5, 2008, 11:15 pm

No matter how good it is supposed to be that price is crazy imo.

I'll take a 50" Pioneer Kuro anyday over this.

lams 007

November 6, 2008, 5:50 am

Does this Tv looks better than a pioner Kuro?? maybe the second generation KUro


November 7, 2008, 3:19 pm

@Geoff - One needs only look at the users’ comments on AVForums and other such forums for their experience with Phillips TVs. I appreciate your comments regarding the review scores, but dozens of users can't all be wrong.

Jake Santman

November 8, 2008, 10:14 am

This may be a good TV, but it is the ugliest piece of furniture in my living room. I also hate this "neon light displäy" called Ambilight by Philips

comments powered by Disqus