Quick Glance
Size 46
Display Type LCD w/ LED
Size 46
Display Type LCD w/ LED


April 6, 2010, 4:28 am

There's nothing in the review that justifies the ridiculously high price - at least £1K over-priced.

I suppose the sales theory behined the pricing could be sell one and you've sold 3-5 priced at £1,200?


April 6, 2010, 9:18 am

Still don't like that aluminium styling - which is not a minor oversight at 46 inches and 2300 quid. And I was wondering why it was so thick for an LED, but I guess it may be justified if the audio is as good as you say.


April 6, 2010, 1:35 pm

@GoldenGuy: And I was wondering why it was so thick for an LED

As far as I know all local dimming LED TV's are.

I believe it's side mounted LED's your thinking of, these ones are the thin types.

As for the aluminium, I assume this is more to do with the ambilight, having say a black border would create too much of a contrast.

If your not too bothered about ambilight Samsung do some pretty descent LED back light TV's.


April 6, 2010, 2:22 pm

If this set upscales SD pictures as well as the reviewer states than I'd even ignore the price.


April 6, 2010, 2:30 pm


Thanks for that. When all's said and done, I'm not too bothered about LED. It's too pricey, the thin method leaves no room for any decent audio, and you often need adapters for any old SCART connections. I was actually on the cusp of buying a 40" Samsung because the picture quality's damn good for their pricing and I really like their Touch of Colour styling. However what scared me off were some pretty woeful reports on input lag from many forums and the more rigorous reviewers, with some games being virtually unplayable. I'm not gonna pretend to be a big gamer but I'll definitely be adding some of the more intense PS3 titles to my collection soon - great year for games - and I can't afford to waste money on a TV with too slow responses.

Paul 16

April 6, 2010, 5:40 pm

no mention on the review of the terrible shadow detailing of this tv, the inaccurate colors and gamma and the extremely high input lag which makes videogames unplayable


April 6, 2010, 5:46 pm

Given that Philips use drunken monkeys and Enigma machines for their naming system, can anyone tell me if the 46PFL9704H is a brand new or outgoing model? Or is it an existing one that will remain in the line-up alongside the new ones coming this summer?


April 6, 2010, 6:58 pm


You're kidding? £2300 and still no decent Gaming Mode? Manufacturers need to know that a TV isn't just a really big clear image - it needs to respond to users' inputs properly, and it needs to have decent audio. Old CRT tellies used to deliver on that.


April 6, 2010, 7:01 pm

The 46PFL9704H is one of last year's models, but, like all Philips high-end sets, they're always announced early in the year but don't usually appear until the last quarter of that year. This set actually came into the shops in November / December 2009 I think, and if Philips form holds true, its replacement should appear at the same time this year.


April 6, 2010, 7:32 pm

I'm waiting until I've seen a few reviews of the new Panasonic 'Kuro' sets before I invest a wad of cash in a new TV. The VT20 and V20 sets look promising.

@GoldenGuy, Paul: This TV does list a 'Game' mode in its specs, which you'd think would be there to reduce lag.


April 7, 2010, 6:07 pm

colors of this tv are very accurate,input lag?just use the game mode.I've got the 40 inch model,and it is incredible.sd pictures are very 3d like,the upscaling is beyond comparison.bluray movies are just incredible.it is an excellent tv.


April 7, 2010, 9:08 pm

Man! After reading that review I almost feel like throwing my samsung series 8 in the trash! Damn I wish I had known about this a couple months ago!

Paul M

April 7, 2010, 10:03 pm

I'll stick with my bargain clearance panasonic G15 plasma thanks at one third of that price ;-)


April 8, 2010, 3:13 am

"There's nothing in the review that justifies the ridiculously high price - at least £1K over-priced."

Oh really, have you any idea how much R&D goes into a TV or any electronic item?

This is exactly why UK manufacturing is not viable - people coming out with ignorant statements like yours, fuelled by equally ignorant articles in certain publications. When you introduce bleeding edge technology it costs money. Lots of it. It has to be recouped, otherwise there is no point in making it in the first place, or because of cost pressures you have to move to low wage economies like China.

I've seen one of these up close and personal. It's good. Damn good and in my opinion worth every penny they are asking for it.


April 10, 2010, 2:46 am

@RonRoyce I do know what I am talking about.

Yes UK manufacturing has gone abroad because of the manufacturing costs - that is Labour costs NOT technology costs. There are ONLY a handful of LCD manufacturers and they are all in the far east and NOTE in the review Phillips sources them from one of them.

So what is in this tv that is not in other LCD tvs that justifies the price differential?

I take it you think that the price of Oil is linked to the cost of getting it out of the ground; transporting it and refining it? And nothing to do with "supply and demand economics" and such considerations. Likewise for the price of Gold etc.


April 10, 2010, 11:11 am

What's in this tv that's not in other LCD tvs? Well, I believe I'm right in saying 224 LED light clusters as opposed to say Toshiba's 128 in their current local dimmed.


April 10, 2010, 10:08 pm

Right!!! The 96 LED light clusters are worth the ridiculously high price?!

I was reminded of this discussion when today I noticed the prices of DVD vs BD movies: Harry Brown DVD @ £8.00 & BD @ £19.99; 2012 DVD £9 & BD @ £16.99 and I bet the 2012 cost a lot more than Harry Brown to make. Yet cinemas charge the same for all movies regardless of the cost of making them. Eg The £10 million &#8220Slumdog Millionaire&#8221's cinema ticket was same price as the £2-300 million 2D Avatar. So I hope this explains and convinces you that pricing is NOT necessarily linked to the cost of the product. If NOT then remember it's a free country!


April 11, 2010, 4:09 am

I can't see how this is a rip off at all. The only way this tv could be better would be if it had RGB LED backlighting, and sony's tv loike that was £4000+. And if you compare it to the Samsung series 8 when that came out it was like £1800-£2000. Top materials, lastest tech, highest spec all for £2300. Its a bargain of you ask me!


April 11, 2010, 3:55 pm

Yes UK manufacturing has gone abroad because of the manufacturing costs - that is Labour costs NOT technology costs. There are ONLY a handful of LCD manufacturers and they are all in the far east and NOTE in the review Phillips sources them from one of them."

Correct, there are only a handful of LCD display manufacturers. However, it's not just about the display - its also about the electronics that drive it. As I said R&D costs on leading edge technology has to be recouped, otherwise no advances would ever be made. What makes your comment ignorant is that you expect tomorrows tech for yesterdays' prices.

"So what is in this tv that is not in other LCD tvs that justifies the price differential?"

Many things I would expect - the styling, the quality of the materials, the electronics, the research into their picture processing engine...it all adds up.

Like I said, this is one of the reasons why we don't manufacture mass market goods anymore, because everyone expects it to be handed to them on a plate.


April 11, 2010, 5:47 pm

Right you are! Go for it!

Oh, the Sharp Aquos LC-52XS1E 52in RGB-LED LCD TV - Was on SALE for £2,999 (reduced from £5,999 - when TR reviewed it it was £8,999) and I was offered it for £2,800 without asking.



April 11, 2010, 8:03 pm

I',m more than fine with my current Kuro and I was a bit skeptical at first after I've seen some other of the new LCD-led screens. But now I've seen some BR material on this tv I understand the enthusiasm of the reviewer. Looking forward to the future developments of LCD-LED.


April 11, 2010, 9:55 pm

Im sure this is a good tv, but no way would I pay that much without built in freeview hd. Its out now so thats high on my list.


December 8, 2010, 11:23 am

Regarding Input lag for gaming;

I got the Samsung PS50B850 which is regarded as one of the good gaming tv's juged by input lag and is very responsive

I alsto just got the 52" inch of the philips 9704h and its just as fast reacting. But you have to turn off everything, the first week i played in gaming mode and was dissapointed in the input lag present, but then found out that the gaming mode only turns off the Perfect pixel hd engine and is not optimal; you have to use personal settings and turn everything off(and I mean everything!), then it will still look very good and have the same response time of the best gaming tv's

Regarding the price this is of superior quality components to any China\korean made tv's, my PS50B850 is running very hot and will probably not nearly last as long as the philips which runs ice cold

Though the only reason I went up in price contra the PS50B850 is the high pithced noise from the samsung and the sweet ambilight, insane sharpness and better blacks


December 8, 2010, 11:39 am

Also one thing should be told about this tv regarding the Perfect Pixel Hd engine which has to be enabled to get the 200Hz and lessened juddering in panning scenes, its very individual if people like it; for me with this enabled it looks like Im on speed or magic mushrooms, its like everything is intense and in fast forward, yet not.....so I always keep it off, and I think philips shouldve not gone this way in implementing the juddersmoothing technology and instead made it independent of the perfect pixel engine. But this is something that has stayed with them from the old crt tv's too.

I have yet not tested it on Blueray so I cannot say anything there, and maybe it doesnt have this effect there as I seem to remember one reviewer stating that in SD it should be turned off as it looks unnatural and only use it in HD materials.

But its a excellent tv with noticably deeper blacks over the ps50b850 and alot brighter

comments powered by Disqus