Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV / Philips 42PFL7603D/10

Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV - Philips 42PFL7603D/10

John Archer

By John Archer



  • Recommended by TR
Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV


Our Score:


User Score:

As ever with a Pixel Plus-driven TV, the 42PFL7603D's pictures are also noteworthy for the amount of fine detail and sharpness they contain. HD footage is presented with exceptional ‘snap' and texturing - clearly revealing, for instance, the gaping chasm in video quality between the Xbox 360's aging but still stunning Gears of War title and the new, disappointing-looking Haze title on the PS3. Yet at the same time the processing ensures that both games look as good as they're actually capable of looking.

Standard definition looks exceptionally sharp too, as Pixel Plus 3 HD upscales the image to fit the screen's full HD pixel count with unusual aplomb.

More good news finds the 42PFL7603 pumping out some superbly dynamic and engaging colours, complete with a palette wide-ranging enough to produce pretty much flawless colour blends and some outstandingly natural tones for this price level.

Tasty colours tend to be bedfellows of good black level responses, and so it proves here. For while I'm not sure I totally believe the 30,000:1 contrast ratio claims, it's certainly fair to say that the 42PFL7603D produces deeper, more detailed, less greyed-over and above all more stable dark picture areas than the majority of its close rivals.

The bottom line with the 42PFL7603D's pictures is that despite leaving one or two small doors open for Philips' upcoming 9600 models (with their improved Perfect Pixel Engine system), they're still really awesome within the context of a sub-£1100 price point.

The set's audio is no slouch, either. In fact, it's remarkably powerful considering there's not a speaker or grille in sight. This is partly down to the set's employment of Philips' wOOx system, which can deliver superb amounts of well-rounded, distortion-free bass during the free-running sequence in Casino Royale. But it also helps that the rest of the speakers are powerful enough to ensure that this bass doesn't cramp the mid-range at all, and that there's more treble detailing than most LCD TVs could dream of delivering - all presented without a trace of harshness.


Whether you're admiring the 42PFL7603D's stunning design, basking in the tranquil aura of its Ambilight system, lapping up its terrific pictures, being assaulted (in a good way) by its terrific audio power, or simply wondering how it can offer so much while costing so relatively little, there's simply no other conclusion to draw except that it's another absolutely kick-arse Philips TV.


June 9, 2008, 6:07 pm

Damn, I wish I'd waited. I've got an early generation ambilight TV which is excellent but nothing like as stylish as this thing. Good value too. Maybe I can off load mine on e-bay and start again...


June 18, 2008, 5:06 am

You should start adding PC output evaluations in each HD set review. I.e. can you output unaltered 1080p signal through HDMI to your Radeon 3450 etc etc.

Mark 1

June 20, 2008, 6:38 pm

I would also be grateful for a section on how a PC performed with each TV (picture/text quality and if it achieves 1:1 Pixel mapping @ 1920x1080.

I know PC's can vary so much but if you refered to a reference PC with a .... graphics card it would give a good indication as to what to expect.

Currently I have to look through forums to piece together how different TV respond to PC use.


June 26, 2008, 4:31 pm

Does this TV support 1920x1080 pixelmapping for PC’s?


June 26, 2008, 11:49 pm

Dosent look like 7603 has pixelmapping, but 9603 might have.

Philips website says:


640 x 480, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 800 x𧍘, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60, 70, 75, 85 Hz, Via HDMI-/DVI-inngang,


640 x 480, 60 Hz, 800 x 600, 60 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60 Hz, 1280 x 768, 60 Hz, 1360 x 768, 60 Hz, 1920 x�i, 60 Hz, 1920 x�p, 60 Hz


July 7, 2008, 11:48 am

I have the 47PFL7603D/10

You must read the user manual!You can download it. Her is a copy from my norwegian.

Yes! The TV support 1920x1080, 60 hz.

• PC-formater

Oppløsning Oppdateringshastighet

640 x 480 60 Hz

800 x 600 60 Hz

1024 x 768 60 Hz

1920 x 1080i 60 Hz

1920 x 1080p 60 Hz

Louis 1

July 11, 2008, 2:40 am

I purchased this tv 2 months ago because it was on sale for $300 USD off. I almost returned it because it didn't have the 120 Htz anti-blur technology that other brands tv's sold in the US have. I searched TR for a review on this unit but couldn't find one. I decided to evaluate it during my 90 day return window.

My evaluation was to simulate some of the viewing tests that some of the reviewers in TR performed on 4 other highly rated brands of tv's. I purchased the DVDs and forwarded to the scenes they used. The color, detail, picture quality, lack of motion blur, and full, rich, undistorted sound have all matched or surpassed the descriptions that TR wrote in the other tv brands reviews. And now after reading a post-hoc TR evaluation of the unit I can confirm John's review is spot on. And despite not having the latest Perfect Pixel or 120 Htz technology this unit easily performs at the top of its class. I'm so glad I didn't return it. Buy this TV.


July 15, 2008, 2:44 pm

I bought this TV and I am really happy with it. However the set had a manufacturing fault, I had it replaced and the replacment TV had exactly the same fault. I contacted Philips "Consumer Care" a number of times to inform them about the manufacturing / production control issue / fault but couldn't get them to take pro-active action, they just kept referring me back to the retailer for a repair or replacement. Well, a third replacement TV again had the same fault, still Philips took no proactive action. It wasn't until I received the fourth TV that I received a fault free TV. The fault in question was that none of the buttons on the side of the TV (power on/off, Menu, Volume, ect) worked.

Kevin Marshall

August 6, 2008, 3:00 pm

Looking at buying this TV but I find that most places that I would like to order from sell the 42PFL7603D/10 (notice the /10 at the end) this only has 3 HDMI ports and unsure what else is different. Can anyone help with this?


August 20, 2008, 4:54 pm

Is there a possibility that you might review the 32" version of this model (32PFL7603D) or even maybe the 100Hz version (32PFL7403D/12)? I am considering to buy one of these TVs and would like a second opinion. I was lucky to find such a site as this but unfortunately did not have the reviews I was after. Thank you


September 9, 2008, 8:30 pm

Please, Please, Please can you review the 37pfl7603. I think this is the model that suits most average size living rooms. I am considering one and I would like to see what others think

comments powered by Disqus