Home / TVs & Audio / TV / Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV / Philips 42PFL7603D/10

Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV - Philips 42PFL7603D/10

John Archer

By John Archer



  • Recommended by TR
Philips 42PFL7603D 42in LCD TV


Our Score:


User Score:

In particular I'd urge you to treat with extreme caution the set's contrast settings (I personally wouldn't set it higher than 75 or maybe 80); MPEG and standard noise reduction settings (make sure these are totally off for HD viewing); and HD Natural Motion (which works great at its Min setting for most things, but might warrant turning off fully for one or two really action packed sources).

Further to this discussion about the best way to set the 42PFL7603D up, while it's handy that Philips has provided a series of thematic presets - Vivid, Standard and the excellent Movie - I have to say I think it could actually have helped you out a bit more. For instance, if you've told the TV (as you can) that you've got a Blu-ray player attached to one of the HDMIs, it would have been nice if the TV automatically shut down the noise reduction routines for you when you switch to that input, rather than leaving you to deactivate them manually.

But anyway, as we start our assessment of the 42PFL7603's pictures (having calibrated them to within an inch of their lives, of course!), we might as well address right away the mention we made earlier of how Pixel Plus 3 HD doesn't quite do the business as successfully as the Perfect Pixel Engine.

First of all, the picture very occasionally looks a touch processed, thanks to the appearance at times of some slight image lag over very fast motion. For instance, as Jimmy Anderson runs in to bowl, during Sky's HD coverage of the third test between England and New Zealand, there's slight image lag in his hair as his head bobs up and down - no matter how you set all the myriad picture options.

The other issue generally only occurs with standard definition, and finds unusually contrasty edges occasionally appearing with a slight glow over them.

It's important to stress, though, that these niggles actually amount to very small beer versus the mountain of good stuff Pixel Plus 3 HD brings to the table.

For starters, the picture is sensationally stable. Which is to say that there's precious little video noise to add unwanted ‘life' to the image, and motion looks terrifically fluid if you've got HD Natural Motion in play.

What's more, even without HD Natural Motion employed (it is, we know, a feature some people strangely can't get used to), motion is generally still a million miles from the juddery, blurred mess often seen on big-screen LCD TVs in the 42PFL7603's price range. The minor image lag issue we mentioned earlier is only really noticeable over parts of the picture that are particularly detail-packed, meaning that for the most part motion looks clean and decently crisp.


June 9, 2008, 6:07 pm

Damn, I wish I'd waited. I've got an early generation ambilight TV which is excellent but nothing like as stylish as this thing. Good value too. Maybe I can off load mine on e-bay and start again...


June 18, 2008, 5:06 am

You should start adding PC output evaluations in each HD set review. I.e. can you output unaltered 1080p signal through HDMI to your Radeon 3450 etc etc.

Mark 1

June 20, 2008, 6:38 pm

I would also be grateful for a section on how a PC performed with each TV (picture/text quality and if it achieves 1:1 Pixel mapping @ 1920x1080.

I know PC's can vary so much but if you refered to a reference PC with a .... graphics card it would give a good indication as to what to expect.

Currently I have to look through forums to piece together how different TV respond to PC use.


June 26, 2008, 4:31 pm

Does this TV support 1920x1080 pixelmapping for PC’s?


June 26, 2008, 11:49 pm

Dosent look like 7603 has pixelmapping, but 9603 might have.

Philips website says:


640 x 480, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 800 x𧍘, 60, 72, 75, 85 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60, 70, 75, 85 Hz, Via HDMI-/DVI-inngang,


640 x 480, 60 Hz, 800 x 600, 60 Hz, 1024 x 768, 60 Hz, 1280 x 768, 60 Hz, 1360 x 768, 60 Hz, 1920 x�i, 60 Hz, 1920 x�p, 60 Hz


July 7, 2008, 11:48 am

I have the 47PFL7603D/10

You must read the user manual!You can download it. Her is a copy from my norwegian.

Yes! The TV support 1920x1080, 60 hz.

• PC-formater

Oppløsning Oppdateringshastighet

640 x 480 60 Hz

800 x 600 60 Hz

1024 x 768 60 Hz

1920 x 1080i 60 Hz

1920 x 1080p 60 Hz

Louis 1

July 11, 2008, 2:40 am

I purchased this tv 2 months ago because it was on sale for $300 USD off. I almost returned it because it didn't have the 120 Htz anti-blur technology that other brands tv's sold in the US have. I searched TR for a review on this unit but couldn't find one. I decided to evaluate it during my 90 day return window.

My evaluation was to simulate some of the viewing tests that some of the reviewers in TR performed on 4 other highly rated brands of tv's. I purchased the DVDs and forwarded to the scenes they used. The color, detail, picture quality, lack of motion blur, and full, rich, undistorted sound have all matched or surpassed the descriptions that TR wrote in the other tv brands reviews. And now after reading a post-hoc TR evaluation of the unit I can confirm John's review is spot on. And despite not having the latest Perfect Pixel or 120 Htz technology this unit easily performs at the top of its class. I'm so glad I didn't return it. Buy this TV.


July 15, 2008, 2:44 pm

I bought this TV and I am really happy with it. However the set had a manufacturing fault, I had it replaced and the replacment TV had exactly the same fault. I contacted Philips "Consumer Care" a number of times to inform them about the manufacturing / production control issue / fault but couldn't get them to take pro-active action, they just kept referring me back to the retailer for a repair or replacement. Well, a third replacement TV again had the same fault, still Philips took no proactive action. It wasn't until I received the fourth TV that I received a fault free TV. The fault in question was that none of the buttons on the side of the TV (power on/off, Menu, Volume, ect) worked.

Kevin Marshall

August 6, 2008, 3:00 pm

Looking at buying this TV but I find that most places that I would like to order from sell the 42PFL7603D/10 (notice the /10 at the end) this only has 3 HDMI ports and unsure what else is different. Can anyone help with this?


August 20, 2008, 4:54 pm

Is there a possibility that you might review the 32" version of this model (32PFL7603D) or even maybe the 100Hz version (32PFL7403D/12)? I am considering to buy one of these TVs and would like a second opinion. I was lucky to find such a site as this but unfortunately did not have the reviews I was after. Thank you


September 9, 2008, 8:30 pm

Please, Please, Please can you review the 37pfl7603. I think this is the model that suits most average size living rooms. I am considering one and I would like to see what others think

comments powered by Disqus