Home / Cameras / Camera / Pentax Optio W60 / Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

Pentax Optio W60 - Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

By Cliff Smith

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Pentax Optio W60

Summary

Our Score:

9

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.

----

Here's the usual detail test shot of the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, for you to compare with other cameras. See below for a full res crop, or click to see the whole picture.

----

The general level of detail is pretty good, on a par with other recent 10MP compacts.

----

The lens does produce quite severe barrel distortion, although this may not be the case underwater, due to the different refractive properties.

----

Centre sharpness is good...

----

...but the corner sharpness could be better.

----

kuppenbender

August 16, 2008, 11:42 am

The Pentax is not 'unique' in any major way. A side-by-side comparison with the Olympus 1030sw would be useful


http://www.trustedreviews.com/...

Garfee

August 16, 2008, 12:02 pm

You'd think that the under-exposure would severely hamper any under submerged picturing. shame there was no example to check this.

Noodles

August 16, 2008, 5:01 pm

Hmm, a point and shoot that underexposes quite badly. I'm not sure that the target market would know or even want to work out how to use the exposure compensation or fiddle about in PS..





Also, I know the vast majority of users won't use it, but that has got to be the most stupidly placed tripod socket i've ever seen on a camera!!

Danimal

August 16, 2008, 8:50 pm

Actually, the W60 is absolutely capable of shooting movies with Optical Zoom. You simply have to enable the option in the control panel.

Cliff Smith

August 18, 2008, 4:07 pm

You are quite correct Danimal, I'd completely missed that. I stand corrected, and I've edited the review accordingly.

Slapo

August 26, 2008, 5:13 pm

From the sample shots it seems it exposes for whites. It's not that usual among compacts, but perhaps that could actually help with underwater photography if you only have one strong light source (or any similar kind of photography).

Mikethk

September 27, 2008, 5:55 am

I have been the owner of the first Optio WP camera for 3 years (http://www.trustedreviews.com/.... I smashed it, swimmed with it, throwed it in the ocean. It should be really fucked up now, but because of the internal optical zoom and the fact that it is water, shock and dustproof makes it only look fucked up on the outside but nothing is wrong with the camera after 3 years of extreme sport.


I kitesurf, do parachute jumps, hike and travel alot. . . I have never used any kind of camera protection, i just put it in my pocket and then its protected more than enough.


Negatives about my old Optio WP: 1. The video quality is no good. Just a bad resolution. But W60 got it fixed. 2. It only has 3 optical zoom, but again w60 got it fixed.


I recommend this camera alot, even when i havent got it yet :) The only reason why i buy this W60 camera is cause of the video resolution. My old WP only got 320x240 which is a bit to low for a good movie clip. With the W60 i will never need a new camera or video camera.

hypster

October 1, 2008, 1:36 am

A huge advantage that Pentax waterproof cameras have over Olympus's is the option for the camera to always be left turned on. This is a great feature when using it for surfing with the help of the Surf Camera case (found at www.surfcamera.com). You have to be very quick to get a surfer shot and if the camera auto turned off you will miss the opertuned surfer shot. The battery will last longer than a full 2 hour surf session.

TonyZ

November 17, 2008, 8:24 am

It seems that the Pentax camera does not a viewfinder. I continue to look for a waterproof compact digital camera of good quality, with a viewfinder. I tried the Olympus WP770 and had to return it. It is almost impossable to use the viewing screens in sunlight on moving objects. Dog sports in my venue, but almost any sport/activity with movement is a problem. Any suggestions?

Ian Graham

November 20, 2008, 2:56 am

ok - as soon as someone take a picture while doing snorkelling, please post it.





As the contrast is usually reduced underwater, I don't agree with the comment that under-exposure would apply underwater. The underexposure is only evident when there is strong contrast.





I am keen to see whether the distortion is reduced.

Ian Graham

November 20, 2008, 3:00 am

Cliff - I like your approach of giving the full picture at minimum and maximum ISOs for compacts. I agree that the close ups show serious degradation at higher ISOs but reckon that the rest of my family would probably be quite happy with the high ISO shot of your cars - given the joy they get out of my 6x4 prints of their photos from their mobiles.

Len Hills

February 26, 2009, 5:24 am

We decided to take up snorkelling and wanted a new compact camera good for above and below water. The Pentax was it. The panarams are fun to play with and for a point and shoot type of person, it meets all my needs. The underwater pictures are crisp, clear and are of the same colour as viewed by eye. Sorry Ian Graham, if I knew how to post a picture on here I would.Even the tiny fish in Cuba we photographed, both stil and movie, showed quite well.

Rick Collins

May 19, 2009, 6:20 am

I saw a review of the W60 at http://crazymotion.net/geek-ga... where he said that the auto focus in video mode makes a clicking noise. He demonstrated this and it makes the camera useless for video with audio.





Otherwise I like this camera a lot. Compared to the 1030SW it has a better zoom lens, but is not as rugged and is only water proof to 13 feet vs. over 30 feet for the Olympus. Also the 1030SW uses their proprietary XD cards and microSD only while the W60 uses SD cards.

julesagogo

May 27, 2009, 2:05 am

It's true, the autofocus on the W60 clicks when shooting video.* This happened on my Optio W20 and they replaced it saying it was a defect, now it's designed that way (IMO a flaw). I agree w/RC - other than this, it's a decent point and shoot. You won't win any awards with photo quality but you can take it pretty much anywhere without damaging it and it's inexpensive.





*Pentax support suggested changing to MF when shooting 3-15 feet or Infinity for further. There's also a setting in menu-rec mode-movie to turn AF off when shooting video.

julesagogo

May 27, 2009, 2:12 am

@RC: True, but you can turn AF off in Menu-RecMode-Movies. Still a design flaw if you ask me - my WP never did that, my W20 did and they replaced it saying it was defective. The other option Pentax Support suggested was for 3-15 feet switch to MF or 16+ to infinity.





Images from this camera are not likely to win any quality awards but you can take it virtually anywhere, which means I use it a lot more than a DSLR with which I'd have to be careful. This camera is virtually indestructible.

Bruce

June 24, 2009, 6:32 pm

This camera is awesome.. It was working fine in -20 temps in Whistler last year, Ive also thrown it from 10m into water and still doesnt miss a beat..

mick

September 18, 2009, 3:19 pm

I took this camera to Discovery Cove in Florida, it took excellent underwater photos ,If I could attach them to this copmment I would

comments powered by Disqus