Home » TVs & Audio » TV » Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10 46in Plasma TV » Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10

Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10 46in Plasma TV - Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10

John Archer

By John Archer


  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10 46in Plasma TV


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

The P46G10 also improves significantly over Panasonic's X10 models with its motion reproduction. Objects generally pass across the screen more fluidly, and camera pans are in a completely different league. I'm not saying that even the use of a 600Hz system has removed every last trace of judder, because it hasn't. So there's still room for further improvement. But fast camera pans are certainly much less jarring, and crucially the P46G10 achieves its motion enhancements while generating seemingly no nasty processing side effects at all.

The P46G10 employs a full HD 1,920 x 1,080 pixel count, and gets good use out of all these pixels if the amount of detail visible in HD pictures is anything to go by. You can, for instance, easily discern the filmic grain visible in the high-contrast black and white shots at the start of Casino Royale (blimey, I'm starting to sound like an Alan Partidge-esque Bond obsessive!), and regular HD delights such as facial pores and the weave in clothing are regularly on the menu.

The P46G10 is not just HD's friend, though. For unlike many large Full HD TVs it's also got the video processing know-how - powered by Panasonic's latest V-Real Pro 4 system - to upscale standard definition extremely adroitly. Standard def images thus appear with a commendable level of sharpness, and with decent subtlety when it comes to colour blends. This latter achievement means that faces generally avoid the rather plasticky look they can take on with lesser screens.

Although improved over the pictures of the X10 models, though, the P46G10's images aren't completely perfect. For as well as the residual judder during camera pans noted earlier, I also didn't always feel 100 per cent convinced by its colours. Gentle orange or green undertones seemed to slip into proceedings from time to time, occasionally making skin tones look marginally unnatural, and even occasionally having the effect of reducing the picture's overall colour dynamism.

I'd argue that this is actually a pretty small price to pay for all the strengths the P46G10 delivers, especially when it comes to black level. But I guess there may be people out there who set rip-roaringly vibrant colours above all else on their picture check list who might prefer a good LCD model instead.

With so many interesting picture issues to get my teeth into, I'd fully expected the P46G10's audio to be a bit of an anticlimax. Especially as other Panasonic models from lower down the food chain have been entirely run of the mill sonically. But in fact the P46G10 doesn't sound at all bad. It's certainly got the raw power to serve up some surprisingly extreme volume levels without succumbing to speaker phutting or harsh trebles, and bass levels are unusually strong. The only significant problem is that voices - especially male ones - occasionally sound a little ‘thick' and forced.


While some minor colour issues have got me champing at the bit for Panasonic's V10 plasma models, which will carry Digital Cinema Colour processing, the P46G10 is nonetheless a hugely accomplished and, under the circumstances, great value Freesat TV that really brings Panasonic's new range to life.

Previous page
Next page


April 1, 2009, 5:13 am

Well done Panasonic.

But John, please don't insult the Pioneer Kuro TVs by comparing them to a Panasonic!!

Pioneer made their TV with a passion that Panasonic cannot hope to copy.

Pioneer made their best TV in 2 sizes with 2 models each (with a media box and without). That's it. The same panel used in all models - their best effort - nothing less.

Companies like Panasonic make several models - cheap ones and expensive ones. Not all of these are their best effort, are they? In fact, some have been delibrately crippled to justify their place at that price point.

Yes, I do own a Pioneer Kuro. And no, I will not be buying this Panasonic.


April 1, 2009, 5:36 am

@ Prem, a little harsh don't you think?


April 1, 2009, 11:55 am


So you are admitting that you are willing to pay 3x times the price for the sake of knowing that nuts and bolts in your panel were screwed on by hand (apart from the fact that they weren't)? Man, you are the perfect marketing target.

I own 2 of Panny's excellent Viera plasmas, and i wish that their remotes were less plasticky and generally made better, but i'm not paying 2 grand to get a better remote.


April 1, 2009, 1:45 pm


the kuro may have the best image quality at the moment, but since they're apparently pulling out that tech won't be the greatest anymore, after a time. it's like how my littl vauxhall corsa could outrun an aston martin db5. i wouldn't be suprised if panny's top of the line tv walks away with an editors choice.


April 1, 2009, 2:34 pm

@Prem - If Pioneer were so passionate about the construction of their TVs, why did they decide to offload panel manufacture to Panasonic?

The fact is that Panasonic’s plasma manufacturing facility is amazing, and Pioneer couldn’t hope to make that kind of investment itself. I have been to the Panasonic plasma factories and I can tell you first hand that there is no one more capable of manufacturing top quality plasma panels, which is why Pioneer struck the production deal up with Panasonic in the first place.

I don’t think that John is at all misguided in comparing this panel to a Kuro, since any new development should be compared to the best in the market. It also doesn’t surprise me that Panasonic is making such huge leaps forward with its black level response, since I would be amazed if the co-op deal with Pioneer didn’t include some amount of technology sharing.

Yes I do own a second gen Pioneer Kuro. Yes I do love it. But it’s a sad fact that Pioneer will not be manufacturing TVs for much longer, and therefore other manufacturers will eventually surpass the image quality of my TV. That is, quite simply, inevitable.


April 1, 2009, 2:48 pm

"Yeah, yeah, I know: yet another bloody Panasonic TV. But actually, I'm not in the least bit apologetic"

Nor should you apolgise, I'd bet most people reading these reviews would give their right arm to be doing your job! :-) Shame you can't do an annual TR raffle to give all these away.


April 1, 2009, 3:30 pm

"Shame you can't do an annual TR raffle to give all these away."

That infers we get to keep them in the first place and I can assure you we seldom do.


April 1, 2009, 4:34 pm

Could you kindly consider modifying the features table. The text of the article suggests that there are both HD and SD Freesat Tuners (or at least one that is capable of both) and a Freeview tuner, but the features table doesnt expand Freesat beyond saying that there is one. It would be helpful for quick comparisons if this was clearer in the table and given the future plans for HD Freeview, would also help when this comes about.

Thank you very much

Aero 1

April 1, 2009, 4:51 pm

When do you expect to review the Z1, V10 or G15 series as I'm very interested in those as they hopefully come with Viera Cast technology for some internet sites vid streaming.

Thanks for another great review as well.

Hamish Campbell

April 1, 2009, 5:20 pm

@Riyad - It's kinda sad that when I read the word 'inevitable' I can't help but read it in my head as Agent Smith.

Perhaps its sad too that I don't have to explain who I mean when on this forum.

Nah, screw it, that was a great trilogy. I'm beginning to believe!!!!


April 1, 2009, 5:40 pm

I have a 50" Panasonic Viera and Pioneer Kuro plasmas and whilst there is no doubt the Pioneer has the better picture quality I wouldn't say that the Panasonic was poor. There is always a compromise whichever you choose.

I agree that the Panasonic has the better user interface, remote and is quick to respond to button presses along with a great EPG. The Pioneer is slow to respond to button presses, has a terribly slow EPG that does not allow you to hear the TV audio while viewing and other such annoyances but it's picture is outstanding and for the pure visual experience cannot (yet) be beaten.

If you want a television with good picture and control over the programmes get the Panasonic but if you want the best picture and control over the image get the Pioneer and use an external tuner/DVD recorder/satellite unit.


April 1, 2009, 8:49 pm

@M7S - The Freesat tuner is both HD and SD. There are only two high definition channels on Freesat after all :)

Simon J

April 2, 2009, 12:05 am

To be fair I am feeling a little relieved that Panasonic have started to release panels getting close to the Pioneer quality. I eagerly await TR's review of the V10 to see if Panasonic has at last caught the mighty Kuro. After all if they mess this up what will people seeking the Kuro panel when they are no longer on the market.....and as they stop manufacturing them on April 11th....there won't be many left any time soon.

If Panasonic can deliver a V10/Z1 panel that equals or heaven forbid out performs the Kuro....straight out of the box and with little / no menu fiddling then I don't care what they do with the rest of their range.


April 2, 2009, 12:36 am

Hi Riyad,

When you say blacks approaching that of the Kuro's, I take it you mean the G8 Kuro's and not the G9 ones? Did you by any chance get a calibrated figure for the blacks in say cd/m2 or fL? I would be extremely surprised if they even came close to a G9 Kuro tbh! How does the shadow detail and off air SD performance also compare to a 5090 or KRP Kuro? What were your impressions of Veiracast - apart from just a few select websites, is there an option for selecting from a choice of widgets?



April 2, 2009, 2:07 am

@Ed "That infers we get to keep them in the first place and I can assure you we seldom do."

Which is why I used phrase "shame you can't" as I figured there was very little chance of you keeping the review units. Still, keeping them or not the opportunity to play around with the latest gadgets leaves me green with envy although the work that goes into the reviews does not :-)


April 2, 2009, 3:37 am

@Baz - I didn't review this TV, John did, so I can't really answer your points. I know that I've yet to see a screen that compares to my G9 Kuro when it comes to black level response, but as I mentioned above, I don't expect that to be the case forever.

Peter 15

April 2, 2009, 12:53 pm

I hope the quality of this 46 incher extends to the 50 as I have just pre-ordered one.


April 3, 2009, 12:48 am

Oops - what did I start....???

What I'm saying is that whilst the Panasonic is a good TV, it does not beat the Kuro. There's more to picture quality that the blackness. There's motion, SD material, etc.

The Kuro is Pioneer's best effort. They didn't make a low spec model and then say after a few weeks, here's one a little bit better, etc. There's only one quality and 2 sizes.

You will note that I do not have the same passion for their disc spinners or other AV kit.

There's no one here who would buy the Panasonic over a Pioneer, if money was not the issue. That's a big IF I know but I'm just trying to say that the Pioneer Kuro is something very special.

Sorry if I offended anyone - not my intention. And no, I'm not the perfect marketing target - I just like the best (when I can afford it!).


April 4, 2009, 6:43 am

Sorry to be off topic - but it is about TV's

What does everyone think is the best freeview TV for not more than 𧹈 ? All round package more important than just sheer size....


April 7, 2009, 3:31 am

Hello Everyone at TR. I'm from the Netherlands and reading the reviews here with very much interest and enjoyment! I'm also looking at the 2009 Panasonic models. The thing, on paper at least, that I like most about it is the reduced power consumption, which John briefly mentioned. I was eager to read on, but soon disappointed not to see any hard figures to evidence these claims. Maybe it would be a good idea to elaborate a bit more on this topic, in these times where energy saving is drawing more and more attention.

Can't wait to see the V10 review, by the way. Keep up the good work guys!

Peter 15

April 27, 2009, 12:57 pm

WOW - got my 50" panasonic, it is awesome.


May 4, 2009, 4:05 am

I have a problem choosing between sony 46w5500 and the panny 46g10, read both reviews now confused even more. any advice would be appreciated


May 5, 2009, 3:50 pm

Would you please let us have your views on the sound quality and output, as I understand that the speakers are placed at the bottom of the set facing downwards?


May 17, 2009, 1:13 pm

Hey John/Riyad. I have a bit of a dilema. I'm stuck between the choice of buying the Samsung PS50A756 and the Panasonic Viera TX-P46G10.

I can get the Samsung a little bit cheaper and of course its 4" larger. (Mind you the couch is at 4 - 5m distance from where one of these baby's will hang on my wall)

My question is, Is the panasonic picture quility : black level/0.02s refresh frame rate/600Hz Sub-Field Drive/ Neo PdP/ etc...etc... worth going a tad more expensive but 4" smaller in tv size.... (even though I love the design of the Samsung, I would aways prefer quality of picture than quality of design)

Aaahhh the tyranny of choice... Could you put me out of my misery!! Oh yeah....great work on the reviews, best site out there!!


June 5, 2009, 11:33 am

Some G10's in Denmark has been measured to output 24hz bluray with 60hz on the screen, which then produces jidder because of pulldown.

Anyone noticed anything about this?

comments powered by Disqus