specs
Quick Glance
Size 42
Display Type Plasma
Features
Size 42
Display Type Plasma

snaxo

August 12, 2009, 10:36 am

Thanks for the review John.


This review is very well timed for me as I am about to move house and install a new setup. I originally had the Samsung Series 8 UE40B800 in mind, though my AV dealer 'strongly' recommended this TV ahead of that model.





I know you have reviewed the 46" version of the Samsung so I wondered what your thoughts might be on which you'd pick. Motion clarity is a big thing for me but then sharpness and image 'pop' is something I look for also. Not sure I'll get the chance to do a side by side compare of both screens :(

Himesh

August 12, 2009, 12:58 pm

Excellent Review, Just out of curiosity, how does this set compare to the Pioneer 4280XD 1st Gen Plasma? Just wondering how far things have peogressed in 2 years. Thanks

Moggy58

August 12, 2009, 12:59 pm

One would assume that the Freeview tuner is not capable of recieving future free to air HD transmissions which could well be braodcast within a year or so?


Is it possible to include in future TV reviews whether they can be upgraded internally rather than have to think about adding a standalone box.


Also any CAM slot - can it take cards for Freeview and Freesat even if it would be of current limited use as its inevitable (i think) that pay tv will feature in the future.

Simon J

August 12, 2009, 1:06 pm

Oh dear..I suspected that the review of this TV would not be all good.....and still no Kuro beater....will any Plasma manufacturer ever better the mighty Pioneer? It certainly looks as if LCD might get there first at this rate.





I certainly would be interested to see if the 50" version of this set is affected by the same issues as the 42" version?

Ash

August 12, 2009, 8:17 pm

Would have been useful to get screenshots of the on-screen guide, etc. I find the UI and usablity of some of the TVs to be very poor. In fact, it would be useful to give a UI and UE rating for each product you review, so manufacturers start paying attention to it.





Also, I am suprised none of the TVs so far come with built in PVR!

grouse

August 12, 2009, 11:00 pm

That is a really good idea from ash. having had experience of a lot of TV UIs they can vary a fair bit. For instance one thing that really annoys me about my panasonic (46pz81) is when u go into the EPG there is no picture or sound from the channel ur watching. whereas my older samsung (40m86) did both and my mums sony at least has sound playing.


on the other hand i have found the panasonic to be very responsive to input whereas my samsung could be pretty slow sometimes.

Greg17b

August 13, 2009, 12:13 pm

Could you please start putting the power consumption figures for both use and standby on the summary page. That would be very useful, especially when comparing LCD and plasma units.





Thanks chaps - good review.

Steve 12

August 13, 2009, 4:20 pm

I'm confused





The review states that the 600Hz processing system is intended to dramatically reduce the motion judder problem that's so associated with plasma technology. But it also states that a key advantage of plasma is motion clarity.

Ash

August 15, 2009, 1:11 am

I agree with Greg, it would be useful get a power/green rating also.

patrabus

August 20, 2009, 5:56 pm

And when will you publish review LCD variant of this TV, TX-L37V10?

Ralph Black

September 6, 2009, 2:37 am

Is this tv as good as a late purchase CRT, or am I going to be pleasantly surprised by how it exhibits SD? Please excuse me if this is a silly question, but for me the competition this set faces is against my 5 yr old CRT and not against an LCD. I merely want to be sure that I am actually upgrading as opposed to buying something fashionable and thin!

comments powered by Disqus