Home » Cameras » Camera » Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35 » Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35 - Test Shots - Detail and Lens Performance

By Cliff Smith


  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic Lumix DMC-FX35


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

A range of general test shots are shown over the next two pages. In some cases, the full size image has been reduced for bandwidth purposes, and a crop taken from the original full resolution image has been placed below it to show the overall image quality. Some other pictures may be clicked to view the original full-size image.


Here's the usual detail test shot of the West Window of Exeter Cathedral, for you to compare with other cameras. See below for a full res crop, or click to see the whole picture.


This a crop of the above image. There's lots of contrast and fine detail.


Despite its ultra-wide lens the FX35 produces very little barrel distortion.


Centre sharpness is excellent.


Corner sharpness is also very good.


Previous page
Next page


July 12, 2008, 6:51 pm

The worst little cam I ever bought...

I cannot even understand how it could get more than 5/10 for the image quality.

The images are full or artifacts due to a bad JPG compression...

Having said that, everything else is good on the photo side.

On the video side, HD is quite nice but the sound is of very low quality... a pity...

Up to now, the best image quality I had on a ultra compact camera has been the Panasonic FX01.

Doug Sinnott

August 5, 2008, 1:38 am

You must have the wrong camera!!

I recieved this camera as a present,and I think it's a great little camera,which produces sharp.colouful 10x8 prints without any problems.

Obviously at higher ISOs it's gets a bit noisy,but how often does that become a problem?

The flash works well,and it has loads of different modes for most situations.

I have had various cameras over the years,my latest a Nikon D60.

This of course can produce first class prints,but the little FX35 is so portable(it fits in my pocket) I usually take that with me,as I think I am getting past lugging heavy camera bags about.For it's size it's amazing,it certainly surprised me with the results it can produce,and it's beautifully made.

Even the macro mode works well,and if I put a A4 print of one of my roses,taken with the FX35,against one taken with the D60,it's certainly hard to tell them apart with the naked eye.

I think therefore that you are wrong with your comments about the FX35,I think it's a little gem!!


Doug Sinnott

August 5, 2008, 1:51 am

I have to disagree!!

It's a great little camera,beautifully made and can produce great 10x8 prints,comparable with my Nikon D60.

It must be one of the best wide angle compacts available,a bargain in my view,and certainly more portable than my Nikon D60!!



November 12, 2008, 12:45 am

Just look at te test pictures. Reviewer writes that the ISO 100 test shot quality is extremely good.

I cannot see what is "extremely good" when you look at the yellow inside part of the green car. There are really awful artefacts, which are not present at similiar shots on other comparable cameras. I agree this is a good little camera, but how such defects can be ignored, and how such quality can get 9/10 rating?!


November 19, 2008, 4:05 am

what are the differences with the LUMIX DMC-LS5 (besides the video definition and the wide-angle 25 vs. 30) ? Which one is the best in low light / high ISO ?


January 18, 2009, 3:40 am

I have to agree with Tompic - absolutley terrible. Bad colours, shaky images, poor focus.

I've sent it back to Amazon, suspect its faulty. I'll let you know.


January 22, 2009, 3:59 am

Right. Amazon sent me a replacement and collected the old camera. Difference is amazing. Suspect the old one was a 'returned and cleaned up' model. Bit naughty, but no issues with Amazon - just swapped it straight away.

New camera is great. Sharp images, amazing colour definition, easy to use. I have a D40x - not as good as that, but tiny in comparison. A good 9/10 from me.


February 12, 2009, 12:10 pm

This is a real gem of a camera. I was looking for a genuine take-everywhere camera to complement my DSLR. After much searching around I finally decided on the FX35, choosing it over the FX500 (price) and IXUS870 (just that little bit bulkier).

The image quality is superb and the thing is built like a tank. It feel wonderful in the hand (remember it's basically a Leica in many respects!!!).

Yes, there's noise. BUT that's easily solved by either improving your compositional skills so that you shoot consistently more with a low ISO, or you simply invest in some noise reduction software. You won't even see it anyway if you're printing snapshots or medium prints taken at under ISO400. So, don't worry about that!

Wonderful camera!


April 2, 2009, 4:32 pm

Hi, can anyone tell me what the battery life is like?? thats quite an important thing for a point-and shooter. cheers

Doug Sinnott

June 4, 2010, 7:46 pm

After having this camera for two years now,I still give it top marks for excellent quality photographs,particularly in interiors.I went to Florence last year and photographed various paintings,and was very pleased with the results,which were very sharp,with spot on exposures,and vivid,lifelike, colours.

The anti-shake worked perfectly in the subdued lighting,as flash wasn't allowed,but it didn't matter!

They made very good A4 prints,so I can confirm again that this camera is truly a little marvel,and is so easy to use!

Certainly ideal for holidays,and just slipping in your pocket"just in case".

Panasonic are really to be congratulated on their excellent cameras,,all with remarkable Leica lenses.

Luis Penas

January 4, 2011, 8:30 am

My sister in japan gave me this Panasonic lumix DMC- FX35 . . the problem is that the writing is in japanese. . . anyone can help me change it into English. . . thank you.

comments powered by Disqus