Home / Cameras / Camera / Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 / Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62

Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 - Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62

By Cliff Smith



  • Recommended by TR
Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 front angle


Our Score:


User Score:

The FS62's performance is remarkable for a budget camera. It starts up in approximately two and a a half seconds, and in single-shot mode it has a shot-to-shot time of approximately 1.7 seconds, which is quick by any standard. Its performance in continuous shooting mode is even more impressive, shooting at a consistent 1.6fps at full resolution. There aren't many cameras that can match this even at twice the price.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 top

The autofocus system isn't particularly fast, but it is accurate and reliable, and operates well in low light. It has an AF assist lamp for operation in very low light, but it has a relatively short range of only about 1.5 metres. The flash is also a little underpowered, and doesn't live up to its claimed 6.3m maximum range except at very high ISO settings. It is well metered however, and avoids burning out highlights at close range.

Image quality is often a problem with budget cameras, but not so with the FS62. Exposure metering and colour rendition are extremely accurate, and the optical quality of the lens lives up to the Leica name, with excellent corner-to-corner sharpness, minimal barrel distortion and no visible chromatic aberration at any focal length. Noise control isn't quite up to the standards of Panasonic's more expensive cameras, but it is far from disappointing, producing consistently usable results at 400 ISO, although the harsh noise control at 800 and 1600 ISO significantly reduces fine detail. Dynamic range is also better than average, with good shadow and highlight detail in all but the highest contrast lighting, although highlights do tend to over-expose. There are cameras that cost twice as much that can't match the quality of the FS62, making it outstanding value for money.

Panasonic-Lumix-DMC-FS62 battery


With the kind of build quality, performance and image quality usually associated with cameras costing twice the price, the Panasonic Lumix FS62 represents possibly the best value for money of any current compact camera. A genuine bargain.

Sean Groarke

December 20, 2009, 2:06 pm

It'd be interesting to review a Pentax Optio M85 against this. They sell here in France for about 110-120 Euros (I bought one 4 weeks ago) and have a very similar spec to this, plus stuff like spot metering, saturation adjustment, etc. Hell of a camera for the money. Worth comparing.


December 20, 2009, 2:47 pm

Great price! Although this Christmas my parents wanted a new basic compact and I bought them the Panasonic FS15...

For £25 extra you get 12Mpix, 5x Zoom, Wide Angle (29mm), 2.7screen. An even better value camera in my opinion.

Uncle Sam

December 23, 2009, 4:39 am

As for comparing the DMC-FS62 to the Pentax Optio M85.

Personally, I would not want to miss a mechanical image stabilization system on a high-megapixel-count digital compact camera again. For me, it makes taking blur-free hand-held photos in not-so-optimal light conditions much easier.

Colin Cook

December 26, 2009, 3:53 am

Hi Cliff, any chance of seeing the back of these cameras? I'd like to know if any of them have a viewfinder. Thanks.

Geoff Richards

December 26, 2009, 3:56 am

Hi Colin - the rear photo is on Page 2. And to answer your question, no, it does not have an optical viewfinder (very few do these days, but the odd model still does)


January 2, 2010, 10:06 pm

Hi, I've been trying to compare the FS7 and FS62 and I'm not so sure I can see much a difference. Price for both seem to be similar now. Would you recommend one over the other at all? Many thanks, and Happy NY 2010!


January 2, 2010, 10:26 pm

Further to my previous comment, I'm now wondering whether I should go for the FS15 with the wide angle lens and 12MP as it's only an extra £20?


January 5, 2010, 3:45 am

Cliff, I don't have notions of photography, but I've read all your high rating compact camera reviews in the last year. High zoom ratios and HD video are not important to me. I want to buy a compact camera and my objective is double: 1.-Firstable having a trustable camera (I hate shooting photos just for seeing later they had a horrible quality). And 2.-Secondarily not feeling too stupid in a year of two when comparing the price/quality I've paid to the state-of-the art. Do you really think it's worth, for my profile, paying an (Pana FX-60, ZX-1 or TZ-6), or a (FS-62, FS-15) is worth enough? Which of the two groups would you choose if you where on my skin? And within the group which camera exactly? Thanks in advance.


March 11, 2010, 4:44 am

Hi Cliff! I read your reviews on Panasonic Lumix DMC-FS62 (review is excellent! I don`t seen such by russian) and Samsung PL55. But I don`t found review on Samsung PL60. In any case, can you help me in choice between these cameras (DMC-FS62 and PL60)? What do you say about PL60 in brevi? In my hometown PL60=166$, FS62=193$. I would be very much obliged to you. (e-mail: akela.86@mail.ru)

P.S.: Sorry for my english :-)


August 28, 2010, 12:04 pm

Hi, I have this camera for a month or so, not bad for it's price range the Leica lens is good , if you work your way through white balance and ISO settings one can take a good picture in low light or room light without flash.

Macro shots are also very good, sometimes slow in focus but depends on how one is using it, I'm a viewfinder guy , I have to struggle with LCD views.

I bought this camera by only viewing its review here and I'm not disappointed.

My regards to Cliff Smith for giving a good review.


December 18, 2010, 7:29 pm

This such a great review site, but there is at least one thing missing from this review (or I can't find) and for me it is a critical omission - BATTERY LIFE.

I am sure it has moved on from my first/last digital camera back in the 1990's

comments powered by Disqus