Home » Computing » Peripheral » Orange Mobile Broadband » Orange Mobile Broadband

Orange Mobile Broadband - Orange Mobile Broadband

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis
Reviewed:

Summary

Our Score

6/10

Review Price free/subscription

The software Orange provides with the dongle is called Mobile Partner, but it's almost identical to that supplied with both T-mobile and Virgin Media's mobile broadband services, so presumably it's simply a rebranded version of Huawei's own software. Either way it doesn't' really matter as the software does the job that it needs to. The main screen presents you with four tabs across the top for connection, statistics, text and phone book. The connection tab is used simply to connect and disconnect from the service while the statistics page offers comprehensive information about your web usage.

Current transfer speeds are shown on the right hand side as well as daily, monthly and yearly uploaded and downloaded data levels, which make it easy to track your data usage. There's also a graph that plots the downloaded data during your current session. The text tab lets you send new text messages and sort your incoming messages into folders, while the phone book is where you store contact numbers. It's all clear-cut stuff and very easy to use and understand.

The new dongle will set you back £29 on a £9.79 per month contract that has a 1GB download limit. Alternatively you can get it for free if you opt for the £14.68 per month pack which gives you a 3GB data allowance.

Verdict

Price-wise, Orange's mobile broadband service is on a par with most of the other mobile operators. However, Vodafone's service has consistently outpaced the other networks, including Orange, in terms of speed in our tests and T-mobile bungs in free access to its network of Wi-Fi hotspots with its mobile broadband deals. So while this offering from Orange is decent, it's not exactly exceptional value for money and wouldn't necessarily be our first port of call for mobile broadband even given the sexiness of this new dongle.

Scores In Detail

Value
6/10
Features
7/10
Design
8/10

Our Score

6/10
Previous page

joose

March 11, 2009, 1:55 pm

I've just ordered a compaq mini 700 on the Three network (Got a good deal being an existing Three customer, loving my Inq1 phone). I didn't see any mention of the Three network in this article, does anybody know how it compares to the others?

Neil873

March 11, 2009, 4:10 pm

I just starting to look into all this, so thanks for the timely review! Looking to purchase a Sony Z series laptop in next couple of weeks and need to find out if you just use the sim card directly in the laptop as it 3G networking comes inbuilt (don't really want to be messing about with a USB dongle). Tried talking to the various mobile companies in their stores, but whilst their general knowledge is good, I stumped them on this one.

Chris Beach

March 11, 2009, 4:27 pm

Just got the Virgin Mobile, ٣ per month for 1Gb, no upfront cost at all which was surprising.





Uses Huwai E160 again, which is very nice...I do like the rubberized plastic feel:)

Garfee

March 12, 2009, 2:58 am

@Neil when i bought my Vaio TZ which had integrated 3g module, it was bundled with a t-mobile sim card. I have tried my 3 sim in it to connect but to no avail. To be honest I haven't pursued it much further as that sim is usually in my phone, which can connect the laptop over bluetooth so it wasn't a problem. The 3 sim in question is an actual data sim for use with one of their modem dongles.





So that said, my assumption is that the module is locked to T-mobile, but whether or not you can unlock it and if it is still T-mobile with their newer laptops is unknown to me.

Neil873

March 12, 2009, 12:42 pm

Thanks Garfee! Why does it have to be so complicated... will have to contact sony and then check with orange about this. Checking the different mobile companiy's coverage areas, it was actually ornage that would suite me best due to my parents static caravan being in the Scottish Borders which I intend to use when my office goes mobile.

Yadran

March 17, 2009, 4:43 pm

Neil - I have tried this on my Sony Z series laptop and it works fine - it is not locked to T-mobile. You will need to find the login details for 'orangeinternet' to set in the Globe Trotter Connect software but these are easy to get from a search.

Andrew Fawcett

July 10, 2009, 4:55 am

FOUND ! The Uk’s Most Expensive Mobile Broadband ??





In February 2009 I purchased a T-Mobile Dongle and ShareDock from the York T-Mobile shop. After just over two weeks the unit ceased to work. After several phone calls I took it back to the shop from which I purchased it and was told that as it was more than 14 days old it needed to be returned for repair. I was given the telephone number to call T-Mobile (at 10p per minute) and after some delay got to speak to an operator. I was told that a returns bag would be despatched to me and the item would be returned for repair and that this would normally take up to 28 days. I asked if it was possible to have a replacement unit whilst it was in for repair and the shop said this was against T-Mobile policy (even though they clearly had stock and demonstration units in the store). I explained that I felt this unfair as I was being charged for a service which I had - through no fault of my own - no means to access.





Three weeks passed (during which the line rental was efficiently taken from my account as it has been on a monthly basis since) and no returns bag appeared. As I needed mobile access I took out a Pay as You Go deal with another service provider to tide me over. Total cost was now approaching £200 for two weeks T-Mobile broadband access.





Several phone calls via India later I was told to take the USB stick back into the shop, which I did. The shop agreed to return it on my behalf and ‘marked it on the system as urgent’.





By May I had still not heard anything. The unit was variously described as ‘being tested’ and ‘on its way back to me’. My frustration was starting to show with the help desk. I had to repeatedly relay the whole story to several people on each call as they tried to help me. On two occasions I was mysteriously ‘cut off’ in the process and consigned to the back of a 20 minute (at 10p per minute) queue.





In June I finally lost patience with T_Mobile. I expressed my utter outrage at the way I had been treated. The complaints' team escalated the case and investigated. I was informed that the unit had already been sent back by recorded delivery. Eventually they ascertained it had been sent back to the shop (not to my home address as I had been told) four weeks ago and was ready for collection. The shop had apparently sent me a text message to inform me of this. Problem was that without the Dongle I had no means to receive said text message. D’Oh (in Homers words) To rub in the salt the shop assistant told me that they were aware of this but there was nothing else they could do (but were happy to sit on it – marked as urgent, or so I was told, for four weeks or more). I was also given an interesting insight into what the shop thought of the helpdesk.





I contacted the complaints team again and demanded that they cancel my contract. This was refused. A ‘final’ offer of the balance one months free line rental was made.





By all accounts I think I deserve more having spent well over £150 per week and counting (yes, you read it correctly) for T-Mobile Broadband Access – Is this some sort of a record I wonder (perhaps you can poll your readers?). I have been five months without (and paying for) a service which I am physically unable to access due to the suppliers incompetence and no fault on my part whatsoever. I am similarly bound into a contract upon which I believe t-Mobile have defaulted.





If the rumours are true and Vodafone are about to buy T-Mobile I hope they can sort them out. They certainly cannot make it worse from my experience.

Emil

January 18, 2010, 3:33 pm

I signed up with Orange Mobile broadband in August 2009. I have received two bills for 6 weeks usage of £969.15. My limit was 3GB per month and I have been with Vodafone before this and never exceeded their limit.


Basically, I have been using my connection to access my mail and facebook and a few Windows update.


I have declined the invoices but according to their customer service they have already given me a bad credit report.


Have sent an email to Jackie O'Leary (vice president of Orange Personal Communications). After that I got contaced by Executive department. First they offered me 25% off, when I did not agreed to that, the next offer was 50% off. I offered them to pay 25% and have a written document that I would not receive any bad credit report. At this point they are not willing to offer me that.


To me this totally outrageous, I know I am not responsible for the 19GB they claim I have been using. In Executive department they said that the case might be that I left the dongle in the computer over night and that is has been updating internet during that time.


I believe there is a major fault in Orange billing system and from what I learn many people share the same experience.


The next step for me is to send an email to BBC Watchdog and as many news papers as I can.





I have found a large number of reviews about Orange Mobile broadband and their excessive and incorrect billing. I am asking other people with the same experience to contact me via mail (esteban.london@hotmail.com). Together we can seek legal action against Orange.





I am not going to let Orange get away with charging me this amount and claim it is correct and also give me a bad credit report while I am in a dispute of there outrageous invoices

comments powered by Disqus