Onkyo TX-SR576 AV Receiver - Onkyo TX-SR576

By Danny Phillips



  • Recommended by TR
Onkyo TX-SR576 AV Receiver


Our Score:


User Score:

Despite the low price, Onkyo has still managed to pack the TX-SR576 full of impressive sonic technology. The unit musters 130W per channel and uses Wide Range Amplifier Technology (WRAT), which uses a low negative feedback design, closed ground loop circuits and high instantaneous current capacity to deliver clean, undistorted sound even at loud volumes. Cinema Filter helps deliver movie soundtracks with the correct tonal balance for home cinema setups and stops them sounding too bright. And if you've only got two speakers connected, the Theater Dimensional circuitry generates surround sound from two channels, as well as allowing you to place all five speakers near the TV and enjoy what Onkyo calls ‘the most realistic virtual surround possible'.

The unit also features a Music Optimiser for playback of compressed media files on portable media players, which restores most of the high-frequency information lost in the compression process. A range of Listening Modes (Pure Audio, Movie, Music and Game) and DSP modes adapt the sound settings to suit the relevant sources, plus you can assign different listening modes to each sound format and store them in the unit's memory.

Among the other features is bi-amping capability and powered zone 2 playback, enabling you to play a different source on a pair of speakers in another room connected to the dedicated springclip terminals, as well as zone 2 line outs that can be connected to a separate receiver in the second room. If you have various HDMI CEC capable sources from different brands connected to the receiver, then its RIHD feature allows you to control them all with one remote.

Setting up and optimising the receiver is a piece of cake thanks to the inclusion of the Audyssey 2EQ auto calibration system, which determines the number of speakers, their size, distance from the listening position and the optimum crossover frequencies to the subwoofer. In the box is a microphone for this purpose that connects to the front panel and picks up test sounds from the receiver during the stress-free 10-minute process, taking readings from three different listening positions to ensure the best-possible sound for multiple listeners. We were immediately happy with the settings it chose, so there was no need to make additional alterations afterwards.

But if necessary, you can alter the speaker settings manually using the surprisingly intuitive menu system on the front display panel, while the smart remote - which is much smaller than your average receiver handset - packs a high amount of buttons into a small space without making it seem cluttered.


July 10, 2008, 3:48 pm

Nice review, however unless its a typo, I am suprised you did not highlight the fact it does not have the HDMI 1.3 standard but the lesser 1.2a standard



July 10, 2008, 5:22 pm

The reviewer did? twice on the first page!!

As a side note I have the Onkyo 605 version of this (looks the same) and I have to say combined with my PS3 it is a fantastic Receiver and the auto claibration is brilliant, really set my mixture of speakers up well. Would recommend

The Pope

July 11, 2008, 6:21 pm

I've got the TX-SR705 at home and it's awesome.

Onkyo make some great AV receivers and no wonder this one scored 9 for Value :)


July 11, 2008, 10:45 pm

Another happy Onkyo customer here - I've got the TX-SR674 - does get a bit warm but apart from that it's a great receiver.

The Pope

July 11, 2008, 11:46 pm

Yeah, mine gets warm too and a little noisy when the fans kick in as a result, but as long as the film you're watching doesn't have too many quiet bits (and lets face it, all the best films don't anyway!) then it's not too much of an issue.

Certainly one that couldn't be solved with a decent AV cabinet (mine's just on a shelf with open air around it)

Tal Aloni

July 15, 2008, 4:07 pm

Dear Danny,

Thanks for your helpful review of the Onkyo TX-SR576, your Impressions help me decide buying this unit.

on a side note, I'm afraid you have a slight error in your review, I've got a strong feeling that the TX-SR576 actually have HDMI 1.3a ports and support DD+ playback, but I assume Onkyo tried to avoid consumer misinformation, and marketed the receiver as a 1.2a Repeater, since it's not a 1.3a repeater (since it can't decode TrueHD / DTS-MA).

accoring to it's manual, The 576 supports xvYcc, Deep Color and Lip Sync, besides DD+, all of which are 1.3a exclusive features, which further support my theory. the only way to know for sure is to feed the receiver with a blu-ray/HD-DVD which has a DD+ soundtrack, I don't currently have the means to preform that, and was hoping you tried / curious to try that clarify this point for your readers.

Thanks for the great review,

Tal Aloni

Danny P

July 15, 2008, 6:05 pm

Tal - the review has been updated... you could very well be right, but I received word from Onkyo (after the original review had been posted) that the HDMIs are version 1.2a but the standard has been updated to allow bitstream transfer of DD+, hence why the SR576 is able to offer DD+ decoding with v1.2a sockets. As far as we're aware this is a first and makes the 576 a unique proposition for the money. I can't find anything to back up Onkyo's claims about the v1.2a standard being changed but that's what they told me. Your point about its support for other HDMI v1.3 exclusive features is interesting though and I've asked for more clarification - watch this space.

PS I did feed a DD+ bitstream into the unit from a Blu-ray deck and it does indeed decode it (and it sounds great).

Tal Aloni

July 16, 2008, 5:32 pm

Dear Danny,

Thanks for testing and replying so soon,

I'm glad to hear that my beloved TX-SR576 has succeeded decoding DD+. (I was a bit worried after your original review.)

The HDMI v1.2a standard has indeed been updated to allow bitstream transfer of DD+, the new standart is called v1.3a... ;)

For many reasons, I find it hard to believe that the v1.2a standart would be changed after this long, as it would cause enourmous counfusion in the market, I hope Onkyo will confirm my original theory on the subject, as it is the simplest explanation (and thus the most likely).

Keep us posted,

Thanks a lot,

Tal Aloni


July 17, 2008, 11:25 pm

I find it interesting that ONKYO product page overview gives specifications at 1.3a....


but the features page gives specifications at 1.2a...


I'm assuming one of those has to be a typo.

Danny P

July 21, 2008, 2:46 pm

There's a sticker on the front of the review sample that says v1.2a and the press blurb says 1.2a, but everything points to them being v1.3. Hmmm. Still waiting for more info...


August 2, 2008, 5:27 am

Dear Pope

you said "..mine gets warm too and a little noisy when the fans kick in as a result",

Does it have fan? and How many? feeling good though before buying it.


You can also mail me to moin-2001@hotmail.com.

Tal Aloni

August 4, 2008, 7:07 pm


I assume Pope was talking about his TX-SR705 (or similar model) which has a built in fan.

the TX-SR576 hasn't got a fan.

Steve Murray

January 12, 2009, 3:40 am

Thanks for the review Danny, it covered most of the important points.

There is one thing I would very much like to know about, which is the bi-amping capability of this receiver.

We are told so often these days that bi-amped speakers are Hi-Fi heaven that it would be a shame not to have your opinion on using the receiver as a 5.1 with the front stereo speakers bi-amped.

It's been a while since the review, but please let us know your thoughts.




March 16, 2009, 1:53 pm

Hi Guys, I am a newbie into the world of Home Cinema so having read the review of the Pioneer BDP-51FD I quite like it.....and coupled with this I believe would make a good little set-up. Im not fussed about BD -Live or gimmicks etc...just good picture quality. So I'm hoping that this Onkyo model would decode DTS HD Master Audio when combined with the Pioneer. It'd save me a lot of money if it did. Which means the Kuro Plasma is on my list. Cheers in advance.

Paul Blennerhassett

August 3, 2009, 1:24 am

Is there a passive version of this unit? i.e. - I have active powered studio speakers and only need an AV unit with a volume control as opposed to an amplifier - or can it the amp be bypassed?

Many thanks


neil ronaldson

November 19, 2009, 5:25 pm

looking forward to a review of the new tx-sr 577!! as i am in the market for one - or the yamaha rxv765!!

comments powered by Disqus