Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia E72 / Nokia E72 Features

Nokia E72 - Nokia E72 Features

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis



  • Recommended by TR
Nokia E72


Our Score:


User Score:

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut


March 5, 2010, 5:06 am

I think my thoughts mirror yours exactly, I waited 6 months for this phone to be released only to be massively disappointed by two things. 1 The screen resolution is ridiculous for a phone that is competing against the blackberry market. 2 The price of this phone on contract is above the HTC Hero and all but the top-end blackberry.

I think I'm going to stick it out and go with the HTC Legend...it looks, dare I say it, Legendary!


March 5, 2010, 5:57 am

I had one of these for a while and absolutely loved it, if it wasn't for my dislike of QWERTY keypads on phones I probably would have stuck with it. You're right though - it's not a massive leap up from the E71; like the E51 - E52 jump too, but I still think it deserves a recommendation on being a great phone...even if you are 5 months behind the curve in reviewing this handset since launch!


March 5, 2010, 8:30 am

i had an e71, the only thing that stopped me upgrading to the e72 was the 320x240 screen res.

why do nokia put ARM 11 600 MHz processors in their newer non touch phones (e72,e55,6720,5630) and ARM 11 434 MHz processors in their touch screen phones? seems a crazy thing to do.


March 5, 2010, 2:05 pm

why make a review on a product that's 5months old?


March 5, 2010, 3:18 pm

@Angelino: Because people will still be buying it and want to read about it. We can't cover every phone as soon as its out so we have to catch up later on.


March 5, 2010, 3:27 pm

We use Nokia E71 & E72 at work - have quite a few. The E72 is lethargic (in Vodafone livery) when compared to the E71 - menus are so slow to respond. In every case each user has asked for an alternative device. Mail For Exchange on the E72 is a disaster! Stay well clear!


March 5, 2010, 10:59 pm

The speed issue where it fades between menus is really bad on the E72. It takes 3 seconds to open an email up. Quicker than an E75 mind you...

The E71, E75 and E72 used are generic Nokia phones not network supplied. As PaulW states the E71 is a much quicker phone.

I really don't get how Nokia can release such poorly debugged software.


March 6, 2010, 5:32 am

Ok Ed.

Btw didn't mean to sound so negative before.

Just so you know, Im a frequent visitor and I appreciate the time you guys spent on giving us reviews and news


March 6, 2010, 9:13 am

Following on from the E71 was always going to be a tough act to follow and it seems Nokia have failed with this handset just as they did with that other Nokia classic the 6310i.


March 6, 2010, 9:08 pm

@ffrankmccaffery - What are you referring to to state that the 6310i was a 'failure'? Are you nuts? That is the best handset Nokia has ever made and a big improvement over the 6210 and 6310 - it is tri-band, has good bluetooth implementation, massive battery life and is as hard to kill as a cockroach. Amazing phone.


March 6, 2010, 11:47 pm

@lifethroughalens: My apologies I forgot to proof-read my earlier post. I should have been referring to Nokia's failure to develop a successor to the 6310i just as they've failed to advance on the E71 with this handset. And you don't need to extoll the virtues of the 6310i, I still have one sitting in my pocket even now and knocking against the underside of my laptop as I type this.


March 7, 2010, 5:34 pm

The E72 is slow because Nokia doesn't allow us to disable the animation. Mostly because the iRubbish users/reviewers keep lambasting Nokia devices for being too functional and not pretty enough, so...

Although the low screen resolution has led to me ditching the E72 for an N900 (my grievances about the TR review aside)


Really? Over here in tropical Singapore BlackBerries are retardedly expensive (more than twice the cost of E72?) and in my 'long' life I can count the number of BB's I've seen in one hand. Heck, I've spotted more E72's than ALL BB's!


March 7, 2010, 6:35 pm

@@ffrankmccaffery, Ah-ha, I see what you meant now...I think I misread the meaning of your post, excuse me. I am finally selling my last 6310i - a 6700 classic has taken it's place after many years of service :)


March 7, 2010, 10:13 pm


Yeah I can get pretty much any blackberry on an unlimited phone/text/data package for £25 a month, or the top of the range one for £30...standard business offer not even cash back or anything dodgy. I dislike the blackberry thing though...too many people have the same one and I like having a different phone. HTC Legend here I come :)


March 8, 2010, 2:56 pm

E72 = 500 for Brand new

BB Bold 9700 = $900 for Brand new

WTF?! + BB's are worthless without a BB plan, so that makes it even more ridiculous.


March 8, 2010, 6:37 pm

Yeah tell me about it but here T-Mobile have really good unlimited unlimited BB plans, they advertise in the Metro every day :) If I could have got an E72 on that plan I would snap it up in a second lol.

comments powered by Disqus