• Editors choice
Nokia E71


Our Score


User Score

Review Price free/subscription

However, the E71's real strength is that it manages to remain speedy and include HSDPA data support, while retaining decent battery life. And where most HSDPA capable phones I've used give up after around two days of light use, the E71 just keeps on going, and going, and going. You'll easily get three and, possibly, four days of light use out of a single charge from the phone's 1,530mAh lithium polymer battery - a truly impressive feat.

But enough about the hardware, what about the email support and document editing? Well, and by this point you're probably not going to be too surprised, the E71 isn't exactly shy and retiring on that front either. As well as POP3 and IMAP accounts, which are an absolute doddle to connect to (the E71 impressively defaulted to IMAP when I asked it to connect to my Gmail account), the E71 now includes Nokia's Mail for Exchange email client by default, so you can connect to Microsoft corporate email accounts and receive push email over the air, sync contacts, tasks and calendar info.

Opening attachments shouldn't be too much of a problem either, with viewing and editing support for office documents via a copy of QuickOffice (no support for Office 2007, though), PDF files and a ZIP utility as well.

There are some disappointments: there's no longer support for BlackBerry Connect, where this is available for the E61. I would not be at all surprised if this was not remedied before too long once the clamour for it rises to deafening levels. And you still can't charge Nokia handsets over USB - which is a pain.


The Nokia E71's minor niggles are quite simply swamped by its positive attributes. It's a beautifully engineered phone, with great looks, slim build and fantastic ergonomics. It has wonderful battery life, a superb screen, effective GPS and fast mobile data.

Better than all that, it's reasonably priced. In fact the only major thing I can see wrong with this handset is that I'm going to have to hand it back to Nokia. All I can say is: please don't take it. Please!

Scores In Detail


Our Score


User Score

Previous page
Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

Tommy K

July 9, 2008, 4:46 am

well ill be. All this iphone nonsense and Nokia come up with a phone that does everything I want. Apple fans can eat all the gimmicks they like, ill stick with something that works.


July 9, 2008, 5:59 am

I can only echo your statement, Tommy. I'm still intrigued as to what RIM are going to do with their Blackberry mobile's though. This phone ticks all the boxes however, and i'll be tempted to see what it is like in a shop before committing.


July 9, 2008, 6:06 am

Touch&#233. I'll second that TK. I've had an E90 (which was just too brick like, but amazingly functional) and then an E51....which is the best phone i've ever owned. It does everything this E71 does, but is a tad smaller but at only &#163170 new it is an amazing deal. I don't think i'll be tempted to get this one because I don't get along with tiny keyboards (found that out on the E90). But it's still miles ahead of the 'GodPhone3G' in terms of business functionality, looks & size. Is it just me or does anyone else think that the iPhone is just too big? It may be iconic in design, but I think it's rapidly turing into the 'Audi TT' of mobile phones!

Mikko Lahti

July 9, 2008, 8:11 am

Like Tommy K said, I too have been dodging around all this iPhone craze, waiting for something to replace my Nokia E71 so that I wouldn't have to give in to the temptation that is the iPhone.


July 9, 2008, 1:38 pm

Dam a 10 out of 10 for everything on this phone!!. Has got me tempted, will look into it further.

It's so easy to forget about the iphone, why pay &#163100 and be tied into a 18 month contract. With so many new phones coming out over a 12 month period, it be crazy to be tied into a 18 month contract for phone that is over priced. I will probably get the E71 on a 12 month contract and buy the ipod touch.


July 9, 2008, 2:37 pm

I've been closely following the launch of the Nokia E71 and all the reviews I have read so far have been very positive so much so I've gone ahead and placed an order!


July 9, 2008, 3:23 pm

Only downside for me is lack of WiFi.


July 9, 2008, 4:14 pm

Only downside is losing half your screen to a keyboard ;)


July 9, 2008, 4:29 pm

Uh, it does have Wifi.

Jay 1

July 9, 2008, 4:40 pm

I'd rather use a keyboard than a touchscreen - personal preference though. And the E71 does have wireless which I've added to the review.


July 9, 2008, 4:54 pm

Depends which touchscreen Jay... though most are indeed horrible implemented.

Mikko Lahti

July 9, 2008, 6:24 pm

*correction to my comment, I meant that I have a Nokia E70, and I'm looking forward to this E71*

jamie hancox

July 9, 2008, 9:59 pm

Looks like my Tytn II is on it's way out... was always too big to be a phone anyway!


July 9, 2008, 10:19 pm

Lads be carefull with the non-existent jesusphone comparisons, this'll only encourage the ilemmings onto this so far unpolluted board. As for the phone itself well my 6310i's finally started to show signs of ageing and this alongside its little brother the E51 could very well fit into its big shoes


July 11, 2008, 2:36 am

Oh aye, read the review a couple of times trying to see a mention of wifi, and there it is. Couldn't see it for looking.


July 11, 2008, 3:40 pm

I'm not sure do i own E51 or do this phone own me. (in Soviet Russia!)

That's good, E-series have crystalised themselves as the most practical and well made phones on the market today. The N-phones now seem a bit for posers, really.

Don't mock iPhone though, it's still solid fashion statement, and this is not nessesarily a bad thing.

I eagerly await for E-clamshell, i've got a sneaking suspicion that it'll look awesome.


July 13, 2008, 12:56 am

Upgrading in September from my trusted HTC Tytn II to either the HTC Touch Diamond or this E71. Unless I missed it in the review, as usual, there is no mention of the internet browsing experience on the E71. Is it as good as the Opera on the Touch Diamond?


July 13, 2008, 5:17 am

SDHC slot? If so, up to what?


July 13, 2008, 1:47 pm

Bought the E71 last week in replacement of HTC TyTN.

T-Mobile being too slow to bring new phones to the market, and with contract up for renewal, I was offered a price rebate from &#16342 to &#16317.5 and therefore bought the E71 from (as refered to by trustedreviews).

First of all, I must admit that the experience with them was appaling, bad phone customer service, arrogant people and the 'next day delivery' took actually 3 days.

I didn't know what to expect of the E71 as it is my 1st Nokia. I chose it based on the back of the great review it got here and on other sites.

I wanted a phone with full keyboard (not sliding) and all the whistles and bells, gps, wifi, 3G, etc...

So far, after 3 days, I am totally converted to the E71.

Amazing phone in every respect!

Call quality is quite an improvement on the HTC, and I had forgotten that calls could be so clear.

Connecting to wifi is a breeze, so is 3G. I remember how I struggled with the HTC. As a matter of fact, I hardly ever used internet with it in the last months.

Browser is very good and very quick. Much much better than HTC was.

Nokia and Google maps are easy peasy to use too.

Keyboard, whilst small is very usable and one hardly makes a mistake.

My wife however prefers her Blackberry, because she types using her nails...

The E71 is packed with loads of great features: conversion software, dictionary etc..

Absolutely love the size and looks of it. Whole metal, light but not too light, and most importantly, extra thin!

No regrets on not getting the JesusPhone!


July 28, 2008, 8:23 am

I use Blackberry Connect on my E61i...wonder if it's available for the E71?


July 30, 2008, 2:43 pm

it's available to preoder in the UK on


August 12, 2008, 12:47 pm

If you are planning on buying the E71, do not do it from the nokia online shop. If there are any issues with delivery or the order, the staff are most un-helpfull. They are used to selling to bulk customers. You are better off getting it from a regular supplier


August 15, 2008, 3:41 am

Upgraded my contract to a better one for only &#1635 more than I was paying and a free E71. I haven't put the sim in yet as the contract don't start till Tuesday. But played with the phone connecting to my home wifi. I have to say, I'm disappointed. The phone is no where near as good as everyone is raving. Have never used Symbian before I realise why, it's shit. It's really not user friendly and I'm an IT engineer.

My wifi at home is hidden and has mac filtering. The problem is the hidden. Means I have to go into connections most times to connect to the wifi from there. In other applications they seem to be incapable of seeing the hidden wifi you've setup in connectivity.

Mail for exchange is a nightmare to setup. Has a big bug in it that makes your profile disappear. You have to exit it before it will reappear. Also the error today 'cause Mail For Exchange to totally disappear as if it wasn't installed.

I couldn't install most of the software at first, then found via connecting the phone to Nokia Suite, that I think it was 'cause Nokia Suite wasn't actually installed on the phone. Had to do that before Nokia Suite would work. Once I unplugged the phone and plugged it back in. Nokia Suite refused to detect it. I had to reinstall Nokia Suite about twice before it would detect the phone again.

GPS appears to be poor. I went in the garden and it picked me up within seconds. I've just walked to the post box and back and it didn't pick me up till I got back to the house.

Within certain applications that require network access. Some won't allow you to connect to the net via the wifi and insist on a sim card being installed into the phone.

When playing games or applications with sound there appears to be no quick easy way to turn the volume down. The volume controls that control the media player don't appear to work for games, which is odd.

Overall the phone is a big disappointment and doesn't deserve the praise it's getting. And the Symbian OS REALLY needs to be reworked.


August 16, 2008, 3:36 am

I was pulling my hair out today, this phone REALLY is getting on my nerves. I've asked 3 if I can send it back for a different phone, they'd said yes within the 14 days.

Mail for exchange wasn't preinstalled I had to do it myself. Worse than that, I thought the bugs were caused by it being mail for exchange 2.0.4 so updated to 2.0.5. Made no difference, still the same "System Error". Attempting a Full Sync constantly produces a "System Error". It's shocking how any of this got past Beta testing or any of the raring reviews I've read for this phone. Mail for exchange is far from easy to setup.

I was trying again with Mail for Exchange. The nasty "System Error" bug just kept kicking it. Once it does your profile disappears and if you go into communications, mail for exchange also disappears as if not on the phone and you have to go back to the mail for exchange setup. You'll find your profile but you have to set the sync options up all over again, only for it to them do the "System Error" again (it's pot luck if you get it, but it's more often than not).

Once it did connect it synced my calender to the exchange but totally ignored all my 100+ e-mails and didn't copy them to the phone.

Surfing the net. Now this is suppose to have WLAN IEEE 802.11b/g, but it doesn't act like it. The load speeds are terrible. Not only that but I set it up to use works Access Point. They only use simple WEP (crazy I know) and it connects fine. I setup a copy of bookmarks the other day at work, using the phone on their AP. Worked fine. Then today I try to connect to those same bookmarks and get a gateway errror, on the same AP. Surf to those links manually typing them in and it's fine.

Regarding my comment about the hidden wifi in my other comment. You'd think that the whole phone would have access to the wifi settings you'd setup and that connection manager would store these. It doesn't. Connection manager seems to be nothing to do with managing your connection setups. And when in another program that want net access and searches for APs. It's totally blind to the hidden WIFI you setup in connectivity. So you are unable to choose it from the options, so can't connect.

E-mails. Why the hell is the delete option in a sub menu a few scrolls away? It doesn't make sense.

I managed to get POP3 working ok, so maybe it's worth keeping for that and the long battery life. But I really don't know how other reviewers, who review mail for exchange, missed all these issues out. One reviewer stated "The Nokia Director said it's great for mail for exchange" and the reviewer believed him. Erm, that was a NOKIA Director that said that, so of course he's gonna big it up :o)

Anyway. Even if you don't use what I've stated above, I still don't believe the phone deserves the praise it's getting. The OS needs a lot more work before it gets any praise like this. It's made me think about just moving to a Windows Mobile platform phone or ditching smart phones altogether as they clearly don't agree with me :o)


August 25, 2008, 1:44 am

Just got this handset on Vodafone contract (moved from N95 on T-Mobile. Those guys are really looking to give offers away at the moment. Got unlimited data, lots of calls/texts for under &#16330 a month after bargaining (so I save over &#163270 vs. an iphone).

First impression are very favourable:

Amazing build quality and slim profile

Lightening fast download speeds on 3.5G network

Robust OS - no crashes so far!

On down side the icons seem a little dated - but can probably update cosmetics.

In summary would agree with 10s across the board!

comments powered by Disqus