Home / Mobile / Mobile Phone / Nokia E55 / Nokia E55

Nokia E55 - Nokia E55

Niall Magennis

By Niall Magennis

Reviewed:

Awards

  • Recommended by TR
Nokia E55

Summary

Our Score:

8

The E55 has onboard Assisted GPS plus a digital compass and as a result comes pre-loaded with Nokia's Maps navigation software. It's fast to get a lock on your position and while Nokia Maps isn't our favourite navigation app, it does work well. And because the maps are downloaded on-demand from the server they're as up-to-date as possible.

Of course, with its QWERTY keypad, this handset is aimed at those who frequently use email while on the go. Setting the phone up to work with our Gmail account was very fast and uncomplicated and once everything is configured you can quickly jump to the email client by just hitting the dedicated messaging button on the front of the phone from within any menu or application, which is neat.

The email app is very straightforward to use and makes it easy to search your mail box or quickly sort emails by a range of options including date, sender or subject. You can also have the phone read out messages in a synthesised voice, which may come in handy from time to time.

Manufacturers don't tend to go the whole hog with cameras on their business phones, but the shooter Nokia has used on the E55 is not too shabby. It's got a pretty standard 3.2-megapxel resolution, but it does have an LED flash and it actually takes quite decent shots. Unlike many recent smartphones, the E55 also has a front-facing camera for video calling if you feel the need.

As with most Nokias, the E55's call quality was hard to fault. The phone has good reception and is able to hold onto a decent signal even in weaker areas. The earpiece and mic both produce crisp and clean sound for the most part and the speakerphone also works well, picking up voices at a decent distance so you don't have to be standing over it to be able to hold a normal conversation.

Traditionally, battery life has been one of the strengths of the E-series and thankfully the E55 is no different in this regard. Nokia quotes a talk-time of eight hours and standby time of up to 23 days, but obviously these are maximum figures so if you hammer it with 3G downloads, Wi-Fi usage and by using the GPS chip you're likely to reduce this by a significant margin. However, during our time with the phone using a range of its core features we got around two and a half days from it before it needed a charge, which is pretty impressive by smartphone standards.

Verdict

Nokia's phones have been a bit hit and miss of late, but it has to be said that the E-series has remained consistently strong throughout this period and the E55 continues this trend. Its combination of large screen, very usable keyboard and impressive messaging capabilities make it a good choice for those who are happy to stick with a traditional candybar design.

Carrier pricing updates & information supplied by WhistleOut

sockatume

September 30, 2009, 4:26 am

I think the E52 deserves a mention, seeing as it's essentially the same handset with a standard keypad instead of the odd QWERTY thing. ;)

DrDark

September 30, 2009, 5:58 am

^what he said.


Also, they both feature 600MHz processors, so notes on zippiness would be appreciated.


Oh, and does anyone know when the gold E52 is due for release?

farki80

September 30, 2009, 11:32 am

I know that the camera isn't the most important feature of the E-series, but I've always thought that posting picture samples is something that TrustedReviews would do with a phone review.





Anyway this is a great phone. I have one on order and should arrive soon.

Jay Werfalli

September 30, 2009, 4:18 pm

A couple of photo samples have now been added.

timple

September 30, 2009, 5:49 pm

Video calling - "if you can be bothered" - why hasn't this service taken off? Answer it's too expensive for the marginal benefit it provides. If I was running a 3G network I'd look into providing large dollops of inclusive video minutes to the same network. That might encourage take up with the younger customers and therefore become more mainstream.

Ed

September 30, 2009, 6:54 pm

@timple: For me video calling is something I actively don't want to use the vast majority of the time. Just thought I'd throw that thought into the mix.

Nick 11

September 30, 2009, 8:44 pm

I find the Symbian OS horribly complicated - not straightforward at all. It is convoluted, awkward and annoying with seemingly endless nested menus. I want to like it from the E61 and now E71 I have owned, but I can't.

sockatume

September 30, 2009, 9:55 pm

Do any of the mobile Skype apps support video? It's the only circumstance I could picture myself using it.

farki80

September 30, 2009, 10:48 pm

I actually love the Series 60 UI. I initially hated it, but that was because the hardware was slow. These days the phones are speedy enough and more than capable of handling the UI. I used to be a Windows Mobile guy but ditched it and went fully Symbian a couple of years ago. I have tried modern phones with 'modern' UI like Android and can't get the grip of it.





Anyway that is just me. I do find it billiantly intuitive, with advanced menus cleverly hidden only when you need it. I hope Symbian Foundation won't stop developing the none-touchscreen S60v3 interface when they move to Symbian^2.

SpiderJacek

October 1, 2009, 1:14 am

I also like Symbian UI. It is fast and needs less processing power than other OSes. It is customisable and there are tons of 3rd party games and applications. Sat-nav, web browsing, Instant Messaging, e-mail - all you need is the right app for the job. I own S60v3 phone (Nokia 6120c), I have tested S60v5 phone (Nokia 5800XM) and I also hope, that Symbian Foundation won't ditch this OS in the near future.

DrDark

October 1, 2009, 4:35 am

3rd S60 supporter here -but then everyone knows that by now...


I can understand why newcomers may find it confusing at first, but I find the menu layout way more logical than say, SE phones. To me, they're the perfect, non-touchscreen interface. And I'm not a big fan of touchscreens in any case. Which is why I chose the E71. Anyway, I'm starting to sound like a commercial here... (what with s_p_i_d_e_r already almost saying "there's an app for that", we're straying way too close to Apple territory! Ugh :P).

PrimaryKey

October 1, 2009, 12:46 pm

Having made the mistake of a Sony P1 with a similar keyboard, I wouldn't go down this route again. The P1's keyboard was unusable. You might as well go for the e71 which is almost the same width and has independent keys.

DrDark

October 1, 2009, 4:25 pm

I'd probably advise waiting for the E72 in that case. It'll have the faster processor and should be out this year.


Otherwise I find the E52 more appealing than E55: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v... {FF to 0:45, bits featuring the phone finish around 2:25}

muffymeister

October 1, 2009, 5:35 pm

I've had various N series phones, all of them letting me down after a period of time and with battery life. I then went and got an E65 for which i had for 2.5 years, it crashed on me (mind it was only the application) and the battery life was initially fantastic, but time has taken its toll and after years of abuse i decided to replace it with the e55





I've had this for a little over 3 days now, and after heavy usage (mainly exchange(mail) and importing contacts and photos etc) the battery is looking like it will fail some time tonight, it hasnt crashed yet, and im thoroughly impressed with it so far, its amazing quick, even my n series friends where amazed at its speed





well done nokia, keep up the excellent work on the e series

joose

October 1, 2009, 8:29 pm

I think the photo's off this phone look really good, much better than the over hyped 'camera' phones with their silly pixel sizes we see on here normally.





I've been enjoying the camera on my nokia 6220, being out of the tech rat race can be nice sometimes ;)





www.artfrommymobile.blogspot.c...

farki80

October 1, 2009, 9:10 pm

PrimaryKey,





The keypad here is different than the P1. The P1's keypad is actually a full QWERTY keypad but with 15 pivot keys that requires you to press the left or right side of each button.





The E55's keypad works much like Blackberry's Pearl.

lukealexander

October 2, 2009, 12:07 am

As an aside, is there any good reason why TR doesn't have a mobile site? It is one of the slowest loading sites on every phone I've tried it on!

rav

October 2, 2009, 12:23 am

For all the coverage that the iphone, blackberry and android get the E71 must have far outsold them all. Nokia just quietly getting on with it. Haven't got an E71 myself but I've had a go with one and have to admit it was very nice.

Timek

October 2, 2009, 3:07 am

QWERTY is the monster that wouldn't die - a 150 year old kludge designed to make typing much slower - and it's dispiriting to see it colonising today's latest smartphones with nary a mention of superior alternatives such as Dvorak.





When can we expect to see technology that gets us away from QWERTY piggery? The 23rd century perhaps?

DrDark

October 2, 2009, 3:21 am

I'd just like to add I have big manly hands, but love the E71 KB. I also love the number layout being in the middle as it aggravated me a lot when trying some of the HTC smartphones which have them on the left (may be the same for blackberries, can't recall as haven't had a go on one in a while).





@lukealexander: Try with Opera Mobile/Mini, it loads up fairly quickly on the E71 with Mini.

comments powered by Disqus